WWW Wednesday | A YA Fantasy Sandwiched Between Two Mysteries – What A Reading Week!

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


This is one of those reading weeks when I think every day about how lucky I am to be a bookblogger and have access to such wonderful reads. Not all weeks are like that, so I’m reveling in that feeling for this week. ❤️

I began the week with Wrong Alibi and after a rocky start with a first chapter that had some pre-publishing issues, I couldn’t put it down. I literally finished it in a day, and that is so rare. It’s about a girl (18 years old) who is set up by a con man to take the rap for two murders and what happens after. Wow! Very compelling!

Now, I have moved on to Lore. I had already read the first six chapters and loved it. I was so happy to get the approval for the whole ARC. It’s a YA fantasy that is based on Greek mythology which I find very interesting. I even liked Xanadu, that’s how much I like Greek mythology (well, any mythology really. I’m not picky.). So needless to say I am happily enjoying this book – all 576 pages 😳

Next, I am enjoying a new mystery by T.A. Willberg called Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder. This is another Harlequin Trade blog tour book (Wrong Alibi is one, too) so I’m expecting good things. I have had such great experiences with these tour books that I always eagerly anticipate reading them.

So, that’s my reading week. What does yours look like?


Currently Reading


Lore by Alexandra Bracken

  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Publication Date : January 5, 2021
  • Print Length: 576 pages
  • Publisher : Disney Hyperion

From the #1 New York Times best-selling author of The Darkest Minds comes a sweepingly ambitious, high-octane tale of power, destiny, love, and redemption.

Every seven years, the Agon begins. As punishment for a past rebellion, nine Greek gods are forced to walk the earth as mortals. They are hunted by the descendants of ancient bloodlines, all eager to kill a god and seize their divine power and immortality.

Long ago, Lore Perseous fled that brutal world, turning her back on the hunt’s promises of eternal glory after her family was murdered by a rival line. For years she’s pushed away any thought of revenge against the man—now a god—responsible for their deaths.

Yet as the next hunt dawns over New York City, two participants seek her out: Castor, a childhood friend Lore believed to be dead, and Athena, one of the last of the original gods, now gravely wounded.

The goddess offers an alliance against their mutual enemy and a way to leave the Agon behind forever. But Lore’s decision to rejoin the hunt, binding her fate to Athena’s, will come at a deadly cost—and it may not be enough to stop the rise of a new god with the power to bring humanity to its knees.


Just Finished


Wrong Alibi byChristina Dodd

  • Genre: Mystery.
  • Print Length: 400 pages
  • Publisher: HQN Books
  • Publication Date: December 29, 2020

From New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd comes an all-new thriller featuring a bold and brash female protagonist, a brutal and twisty murder that will have readers turning the pages and a villain that will have them keeping the lights on at night. WRONG ALIBI is perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Karin Slaughter, and Sandra Brown.

WRONG JOB
Eighteen-year-old Evelyn Jones lands a job in small-town Alaska, working for a man in his isolated mountain home. But her bright hopes for the future are shattered when Donald White disappears, leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement—and a brutal double murder. Her protestations of innocence count for nothing. Convicted, she faces life in prison…until fate sends her on the run.

WRONG NAME
Evie’s escape leaves her scarred and in hiding, isolated from her family, working under an alias at a wilderness camp. Bent on justice, intent on recovering her life, she searches for the killer who slaughters without remorse.

WRONG ALIBI
At last, the day comes. Donald White has returned. Evie emerges from hiding; the fugitive becomes the hunter. But in her mind, she hears the whisper of other forces at work. Now Evelyn must untangle the threads of evidence before she’s once again found with blood on her hands: the blood of her own family…


Reading Next


Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder by T.A. Willberg

  • Genre: Mystery
  • Print Length: 276 pages
  • Publisher: Park Row
  • Publication Date: December 29, 2020

“This is the most fun I’ve had with a book this year. Every page is a delight and the mystery got its hooks into me from the first chapter.” – Stuart Turton, bestselling author of The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

The letter was short. A name, a time, a place.

Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder plunges readers into the heart of London, to the secret tunnels that exist far beneath the city streets. There, a mysterious group of detectives recruited for Miss Brickett’s Investigations & Inquiries use their cunning and gadgets to solve crimes that have stumped Scotland Yard.

Late one night in April 1958, a filing assistant at Miss Brickett’s receives a letter of warning, detailing a name, a time, and a place. She goes to investigate but finds the room empty. At the stroke of midnight, she is murdered by a killer she can’t see—her death the only sign she wasn’t alone. It becomes chillingly clear that the person responsible must also work for Miss Brickett’s, making everyone a suspect.

Marion Lane, a first-year Inquirer-in-training, finds herself drawn ever deeper into the investigation. When her friend and colleague is framed for the crime, to clear his name she must sort through the hidden alliances at Miss Brickett’s and secrets dating back to WWII. Masterful, clever and deliciously suspenseful, Marion Lane and the Midnight Murder is a fresh take on the Agatha Christie-style locked-room murder mystery, with an exciting new heroine detective.


Don’t forget to tell to me about the book(s) you are reading this week (in the comments). I love hearing about them. ❤️

17 Replies to “WWW Wednesday | A YA Fantasy Sandwiched Between Two Mysteries – What A Reading Week!”

    1. Did you decide on anything? I usually go practical by choosing the next review I’ve scheduled but sometimes I’d like to be able to mood choose.

      Like

  1. I’m a Greek mythology fan, but the sampler chapters of Lore didn’t grab me like I’d hoped. Glad you were approved for the whole ARC. Xanadu – haven’t thought about that movie in years, lol!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. I didn’t even notice it. Sorry, I usually fix things like that since I have the all powerful edit button and I know when I make typos it bugs me. And just like that, it disappeared. Now anyone who reads this will wonder where that extra S was. 🤣

        Like

    1. Lol. Was not the big hit that Grease was for Olivia Newton-John but I did love the whole Greek mythology aspect and I think I was the only kid who could recite the poem about Xanadu (Kubla Khan by Coleridge) It’s the little things 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Ooo Tessa, I love Greek Mythology too, so I really like the idea of Lore by Alexandra Bracken. As for myself, I just finished reading the Victorian classic, Mary Barton by Elizabeth Gaskell last night and I am looking forward to starting the nostalgic murder-mystery, O, Jerusalem by Laurie R. King tonight. Happy reading! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wrong Alibi looks really interesting! I have only read YA mystery/thrillers but I definitely would like to pick up adult ones eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oohh, you definitely should give adult mystery/thrillers a chance. I enjoy both YA and adult. Wrong Alibi is very good ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.