Sunday Post 102322 | Peaceful and Productive Week

The Sunday Post is a blog news meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on your blog for the week ahead. Join in weekly, bi-weekly or for a monthly wrap up. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

This week was nicely peaceful and productive. At work, I finally switched over from my half-table work area to a real desk. My office which I used to share with two other people is just me for now, so it seemed silly to stay at my small work area with two desks available.

My daughter is finally starting her job as an emergency dispatcher/ 911 operator this week. Her orientations and training will be during normal work hours, so she has to get up really early and will be gone all day. It’s going to be weird to have so much quiet again during the day. When she gets through training and works actually dispatching, her hours could be anytime, even the middle of the night. It’s good that she’s finally going to be out in the work world. She’s also gotten into the first college she applied to for her Master’s in Criminal Justice. She has other schools to apply to but things are going somewhere for her, which as her mom, I love to see.

The weather has been beautiful so far this weekend after a cold start to the week. It’s inspired us to head down to the lake again and enjoy long walks along the shore. Now, to get the kayaks back down to our kayak slip.

People who aren’t us (😂) kayaking on a small inlet of the lake

So, that was my week – how was yours?

I was sent very interesting eBooks this week. I linked the covers to their NetGalley pages in case you are as intrigued as I am.

April 4th, 2023
A twisty, domestic suspense debut about a clique of mothers that shatters when one of their own is murdered, bringing chaos to their curated lives. She was the perfect wife, with the perfect life. You would kill to have it. Ciara Dunphy has it all—a loving husband, well-behaved children, and a beautiful home. Her circle of friends in their small Irish village go to her for tips about mothering, style, and influencer success—a picture-perfect life is easy money on Instagram. But behind the filters, reality is less polished. Enter Mishti Guha: Ciara’s best friend. Ciara welcomed Mishti into her inner circle for being . . . unlike the other mothers in the group. Discontent in a marriage arranged for her by her parents back in Calcutta, Mishti now raises her young daughter in a country that is too cold, among children who look nothing like her. She wants what Ciara has—the ease with which she moves through the world—and, in that sense, Mishti might be exactly like the other mothers. And there’s earth mother Lauren Doyle: born, bred, and the butt of jokes in their village. With her disheveled partner and children who run naked in the yard, they’re mostly a happy lot, though ostracized for being the singular dysfunction in Ciara’s immaculate world. When Lauren finds an unlikely ally in Mishti, she decides that her days of ridicule are over. Then Ciara is found murdered in her own pristine home, and the house of cards she’d worked so hard to build comes crumbling down. Everyone seems to have something to gain from Ciara’s death, so if they don’t want the blame, it may be the perfect time to air their enemies’ dirty laundry. In this dazzling debut novel, Disha Bose revolutionizes age-old ideas of love and deceit. What ensues is the delicious unspooling of a group of women desperate to preserve themselves.
February 14th, 2023
A beguiling blend of noir detective story and science fiction perfect for fans of Michael Chabon and Emily St. John Mandel, this unputdownable debut imagines a world where emotions have been weaponized, and a small-town law enforcement agent uncovers a conspiracy to take down what’s left of American democracy. In an alternate 2009, the United States has been a second-rate power for a quarter of a century, ever since Argentina’s victory in the Falkland’s War thanks to their development of “psychopigments.” Created as weapons, these colorful chemicals can produce almost any human emotion upon contact, and they have been embraced in the US as both pharmaceutical cure-alls and popular recreational drugs. Black market traders illegally sell everything from Blackberry Purple (which causes terror) to Sunshine Yellow (which delivers happiness). Psychopigment Enforcement Agent Kay Curtida works a beat in Daly City, just outside the ruins of San Francisco, chasing down smalltime crooks. But when an old friend shows up with a tantalizing lead on a career-making case, Curtida’s humdrum existence suddenly gets a boost. Little does she know that this case will send her down a tangled path of conspiracy and lead to an overdue reckoning with her family and with the truth of her own emotions. Told in the voice of a funny, brooding, Latinx Sam Spade, The Shamshine Blind is “a rip-roaring beautifully crafted mash-up of cop noir, sci-fi, and alt-history that left me dazzled by its prescience and literary zing” (Leah Hampton, author of F*ckface).

We finished Ring of Power, She-Hulk, and Big Shot all last weekend, so we needed something new to stream this week. We settled on The Peripheral on Amazon Prime, which looked very wild. Definitely worth a try.

  • Monday (October 17, 2022) Sunday Post on Monday
  • Tuesday (October 18, 2022)Book Review – The Raven Spell by Luanne G. Smith (Historical Paranormal Thriller)
  • Wednesday (October 19, 2022) WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (October 20, 2022) Book Review – The Family Game by Catherine Steadman (Psychological Thriller)
  • Friday (October 21, 2022) Book Blogger Hop
  • Monday (October 24, 2022) Book ReviewNight of the Raven Dawn of the Dove by Rati Mehrotra (YA Epic Fantasy)
  • Tuesday (October 25, 2022) Book Review – Marlowe Banks, Redesigned by Jacqueline Firkins (Romantic Comedy)
  • Wednesday (October 26, 2022) WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (October 27, 2022) Book Review – A White Christmas on Winter Street by Sue Moorcroft (Holiday RomCom)
  • Friday (October 28, 2022) Book Blogger Hop

45 Replies to “Sunday Post 102322 | Peaceful and Productive Week”

  1. I’m glad your daughter is enjoying her new job so far. And that’s exciting that she got into a master’s program. The lake picture is so relaxing and beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The lake really is ❤️. We’re so excited for our daughter. Hopefully she’ll find that law enforcement is a good fit for her.

      Like

  2. I’m glad you have managed to sort out your working area & so please for your daughter she seems to be doing very well 😊 Hope you have a great week 💕

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Congrats to your daughter on getting into her the first MA program she applied to! 😃 It’s always great to have a smooth and productive week and I hope your week ahead will be the same!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I bet the Netherlands is beautiful! We’re hopeful that our daughter has found a good fit for herself in law enforcement. We are definitely hopeful!

      Like

  4. Congrats to your daughter on choosing a path! If she’s interested in criminal justice, her experience as a dispatcher will give her views from every aspect of the system. Hope it works out for her.

    I haven’t heard of Dirty Laundry and it is tugging at me! Can’t wait to see what you think.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. my week was so overwhelming, and i am glad its over, but i rested well on the weekend!

    p.s. i just posted my first blog post, it would mean a world to me if you check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My husband loved picking on my small work station but I’m only there for like 5 hours per week, so I was okay with it. But once the other two people in my particular office left, it didn’t make sense to stick with the smaller area.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Your photo caption made me laugh 😂 Congrats to your daughter on her job and getting into the first school she applied for! That’s great news 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We are so hopeful for our daughter. It’s so hard when they come out of college with a degree in psychology and no desire to do clinical work. The possibilities become endless.

      Like

  7. Peaceful weeks are always welcome, and so is that beautiful autumn sunshine. Congrats to your daughter, Tessa, on her fascinating job, and on her acceptance into college. Enjoy the quiet and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Glad you have a regular desk now! That’s exciting

    Also exciting is the thought of being a 911 dispatcher…being the comforting presence on the other end of the line while someone is in a major panic situation, terrified for their life.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Congratulations to your daughter, and a job she should be really proud of. I’ve been babysitting this week, during my school holidays. I don’t get paid for this job though. She has certainly kept me busy, and I thoroughly enjoyed baking cookies with her on Friday. Although they were more like shortbread by the time I had finished. My daughter works as a lunchtime helper in a school, and my son had his second week working in a warehouse. Super proud of both of them.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Congrats to your daughter! I hope she enjoys her new job, and that’s fantastic that she got into her first choice school. And yay for your own office & desk! I hope you have a great week! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Kayaking sounds lovely.
    It’s an exciting time for your daughter. I hope that she enjoys her new position and that the application process goes smoothly.
    Take care, and have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I hope your daughter settles into her new job quickly. If mine gets on the Paramedic Science degree course she wants to take that will involve night shift working – it seems you stop worrying about one thing and have to start worrying about another with children 😂

    The lake looks absolutely stunning, enjoy the mild weather and extra kayaking opportunities.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. How wonderful for your daughter! Seems like things are falling into place for her, Tessa. We started Big Shot, I’m just a few episodes into Ring of Power, and I’ve been wondering about The Peripheral since Amazon keeps sending me emails about it. I’ve been watching The Midnight Club and The Haunting of Bly Manor (again) on Netflix.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.