The Meeting Point by Olivia Lara #UltimateBlogTour #BookReview #RomCom

Thank you to The Write Reads for my spot on this blog tour.
Publisher: Aria Fiction
Length: 368 Pages
Publishing: 2nd September 2021

What if the Lift driver who finds your cheating boyfriend’s phone holds the directions to true love?

‘Who are you and why do you have my boyfriend’s phone?’

‘He left it in my car. You must be the blonde in the red dress? I’m the Lift driver who dropped you two off earlier.’

And with these words, the life of the brunette and t-shirt wearing Maya Maas is turned upside down. Having planned to surprise her boyfriend, she finds herself single and stranded in an unknown city on her birthday.

So when the mystery driver rescues Maya with the suggestion that she cheers herself up at a nearby beach town, she jumps at the chance to get things back on track. She wasn’t expecting a personalised itinerary or the easy companionship that comes from opening up to a stranger via text, let alone the possibility it might grow into something more…

Come on this 5* journey to love, laughter and back again, perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Josie Silver and Sally Thorne.

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Meeting-Point-Olivia-Lara-ebook/dp/B08YP3H4MZ/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/57602134-the-meeting-point

What I Loved

The story’s premise completely intrigued me, just as the telling of the tale thoroughly captivated me from page 1 until the end. I can imagine touring a beach town through text from a stranger and am happy to suspend disbelief that this wouldn’t be a dangerous thing to do. It sounds like it could be a great deal of fun, actually.

Whether I loved them or didn’t care for them, all the characters are well-developed and intricately layered, with their defining struggles standing out and shaping their current choices. This added a richness to the story and an intensity that went deep below the humor, popping up when relevant. With the feeling like you know each character you’re introduced to, the town comes to life in a way that places the reader on a charming book vacation.

I loved that the ending is so predictable. Yes, you read that correctly but hear me out. Just as Maya likes to write happily ever after’s for strangers she observes through the course of her day, I found myself invested in Maya finding her happily ever after, whatever that might be. The Meeting Point made me happy for all that is right in a world full of wrong, and that is a priceless quality in a book.

What I Wish

My only wish is that Maya didn’t drive me crazy with her over-the-top focus on finding Max, which almost causes her to lose everything.

The Characters

Maya is the main character. She travels to California to join her amazingly horrible boyfriend, David, only to discover that he left his phone on a Lift and can’t be reached. The Lift driver, who finds the phone, ends up in a text conversation with Maya that enlightens her and makes her take a chance on a day in Carmel being guided on tour via texts by a stranger. I loved her adventurous spirit, but she drove me crazy at times with her inability to make hard decisions and to see what is right in front of her face.

Ethan is a romance writer whose next novel is Maya’s story of that fateful day in Carmel. A friend told him about the story, and he is so inspired, he turns it into a novel. By far, he is my favorite character, as he remains cool-headed even when everything and everyone around him is in tumult. Not to mention that he is generous to a fault, always trying to find people to help other people in need. He is a solid character and steadfast in his devotion.

Reminds Me Of

It vaguely reminds me of my all-time favorite RomCom movie, How to Lose a Guy in Ten Days, in that it involves a game of deception and the hot and cold interactions between the main characters.

My Rating:

Rating: 5 out of 5.

To Read or Not to Read

If you are looking for that one story that will make you look at the world in a new and improved way, The Meeting Point is where you want to be.

(from https://www.olivialara-author.com/about-olivialara)

As a child, Olivia not-so-quietly ‘observed’ (AKA bothered with countless questions) her grandfather — who worked for the biggest publishing house in Romania — edit hundreds of books. And when he wasn’t editing, he read. Everything, all the time. Just like her father, who wrote short sci-fi stories, and was set on building the largest library she’d ever seen and her mother who’s never found without a book…wherever she goes. Her love for words came naturally, and after studying marketing, communications & photography, Olivia worked as a journalist for a newspaper and news television network in Romania.

An unapologetic citizen of the world, she spent a few years in Greece, Sweden, France, before settling in sunny California with her photographer husband and young daughter, where she works in marketing and writes. Oh, and let’s not forget the ever-growing menagerie that completes the family: Pumpkin, the Maine Coon mix, three black cats and a Siamese kitten.

When she’s not writing or thinking about writing, she reads (across genres), watches old movies and collects vintage books, vinyl records, and eerie paintings. She loves traveling (and can’t wait until she can do it again, safely), swimming, biking, hiking and of course, photography.

SOMEDAY IN PARIS, her debut, published by Aria Fiction/Head of Zeus in May 2020 became a B&N, Apple, Kobo and Amazon Top 100 Bestseller and was shortlisted for the Romantic Novel Awards 2021. Her second novel, THE MEETING POINT, a contemporary romcom set in Northern California, is set to be published as an e-book on September 2, 2021 and in paperback in December 2021 in the UK and March, 2022 in the US. Keep up with Olivia: twitter || instagram || facebook

19 Replies to “The Meeting Point by Olivia Lara #UltimateBlogTour #BookReview #RomCom”

  1. I love your review, you put into words how wonderful this book is. I enjoyed it so much too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wait, wait, wait. You’re saying this is a metafiction rom-com? As in, the story of the lady whose boyfriend is cheating on her is being written within the book? I LOVE METAFICTION. I think it’s so clever and fun when done right, and the author really gives us a chance to see what he/she was thinking while writing, assuming that the metafiction aspect is the author inserting him/herself instead of creating another character, like Ethan here.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Beautiful review Tessa. I just finished reading Eight Perfect Hours and I think another sweet, happily ever after is just what I need. I like the sound of this one and the characters sound wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, they are! Some people thought the premise was ridiculously but many, like me, were more than willing to make that leap. Hopefully you will too ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.