Menu Home

Book Review | The House Party by Mary Grand

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on this blog tour.

Book Summary

Someone is about to die… Someone is about to lie…

At the intimate house-warming party for her glorious ‘grand design’, Kathleen confides in her best friend Beth that she is terrified of one of their close friends, but daren’t reveal which one. The guests are a tight-knit group, but Kathleen is convinced one of them is dangerous.

The next day Kathleen’s body is found at the foot of a cliff and Beth must face the sickening truth that she may have been killed by one of their trusted friends. With little help from the police, Beth’s decides to seek answers.

All the friends have secrets they are desperate to hide, but only one of them is ready to kill to keep theirs safe…

The House Party is set on the Isle of Wight – insular,claustrophobic, and with nowhere to run. Mary Grand has written a heart-stopping novel of secretsbetrayal and desire, perfect for fans of Louise Candlish and Lucy Foley.

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/35kKciQ (UK) ▪️ Amazon US

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Mysteries are notoriously hard to review without giving away spoilers, so I am going to keep this one a bit light – more of a mini review than my normal discussion.

The House Party by Mary Grand is full of lies, red herrings, and false leads that satisfied my puzzle-loving soul. To further add to the mystery, the story contains a cast of characters full of secrets just waiting to be revealed in their own time and place, while the ebb and flow of suspense creates a jaunty pace to the story.

I wish the characters had been a bit more developed to allow me to care about the impact of the murder on them as well as their secrets, and that the style of writing had been more fluid and natural. However, the conclusion is satisfying with an excellent wrap-up, and all of the secrets revealed, allowing the characters to pick up the pieces and move forward.

About the Author

Mary Grand is the author of five novels and writes gripping, page-turning suspense, with a dark and often murderous underside. She grew up in Wales, was for many years a teacher of deaf children and now lives on the Isle of Wight where her new novel, The House Party, which will be published by Boldwood in July 2020, is set.

Social Media Links –

Twitter Profile:   https://twitter.com/authormaryg

Facebook Profile: https://www.facebook.com/authormarygrand/

Instagram Profile: https://www.instagram.com/maryandpepper/?hl=en

Bookbub Profile: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/mary-grand?list=about

Blog / website URL: https://marygrand.net/

Categories: Book Reviews Books mystery

Tessa

See my “About me” on my site.

10 replies

  1. Oooh, I am intrigued. This is one of my favorite themes….a group of characters, a party, an isolated location and murder. Yes, I think I will be delving into this one. Even if the characters weren’t fully developed, it sounds like it hits all the right notes for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so sorry. I turned them off in draft and forgot to reopen.
      The writing style is difficult I think. Especially at first. It definitely was for me but I wasn’t sure if it was my mindset or something. It’s a bit better towards the end.

      Like

      1. You could let Rachel know you are struggling with it – see if she has any options available. Or just keep at it. I felt like it became easier to read as I got further into it.

        Like

%d bloggers like this: