Books I Am Reading This Week and Weekly Book Haul- May 17, 2023 #wwwwednesday #ReadersCommunity #BookTwitter #BookLover

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words. Just answer the three questions below and leave a link to your post in the comments for others to look at. No blog? No problem! Just leave a comment with your responses. Please, take some time to visit the other participants and see what others are reading. So, let’s get to it!

  • What am I currently reading?
  • What did I just finish?
  • What am I reading next?

Savage Beasts by Rani Selvarajah looks like a fantasy I might like – as I have other greek mythology retellings though One More Chapter doesn’t do many fantasies so we will see. I’m going into it with eyes wide open.

  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Pages: 384 pages
  • Publisher: One More Chapter
  • Publication Date: May 25, 2023
propulsive retelling inspired by the Greek myth of Medea Calcutta, 1757. Bengal is on the brink of war. The East India Company, led by the fearsome Sir Peter Chilcott, are advancing and nobody is safe. Meena, the Nawab’s neglected and abused daughter, finds herself falling under the spell of James Chilcott, nephew of Sir Peter, who claims he wants to betray the company . . . for a price. Caught between friend and foe, Meena and James escape Calcutta, their hands stained in blood and pockets filled with gold. In Ceylon, they’re cleansed of their sins by Meena’s beloved aunt Kiran, before the young lovers set sail for the Dutch controlled Cape of Good Hope, with the promise of a new life. Yet past resentments and present betrayals begin to pile up as they struggle to overcome their differences. And as Meena yet again finds herself in a foreign land without anyone to turn to, she is forced to find out what she is willing to sacrifice when love turns to hate. The perfect read for fans of The Song of Achilles, Ariadne and Pandora

I just finished Identity by Nora Roberts and The Battle Drum by Saara El-Arifi. One is a romantic thriller (I didn’t even know that subgenre existed) and the other is epic fantasy. Very different books but both pretty good. Nora Roberts has been hot or miss with me lately and I would put this one in the hit column.

  • Genre: Romantic Thriller
  • Pages: 320 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
  • Publication Date: May 23, 2023
The #1 New York Times-bestselling author’s terrifying new thriller about one man’s ice-cold malice, and one woman’s fight to reclaim her life. Former Army brat Morgan Albright has finally planted roots in a friendly neighborhood near Baltimore. Her friend and roommate Nina helps her make the mortgage payments, as does Morgan’s job as a bartender. But after she and Nina host their first dinner party—attended by Luke, the flirtatious IT guy who’d been chatting her up at the bar—her carefully built world is shattered. The back door glass is broken, cash and jewelry are missing, her car is gone, and Nina lies dead on the floor. Soon, a horrific truth emerges: It was Morgan who let the monster in. “Luke” is actually a cold-hearted con artist named Gavin who targets a particular type of woman, steals her assets and identity, and then commits his ultimate goal: murder. What the FBI tells Morgan is beyond chilling. Nina wasn’t his type. Morgan is. Nina was simply in the wrong place at the wrong time. And Morgan’s nightmare is just beginning. Soon she has no choice but to flee to her mother’s home in Vermont. While she struggles to build something new, she meets another man, Miles Jameson. He isn’t flashy or flirtatious, and his family business has deep roots in town. But Gavin is still out there hunting new victims, and he hasn’t forgotten the one who got away.
  • Genre: Epic Fantasy
  • Pages: 608 pages
  • Publisher: Random House
  • Publication Date: May 23, 2023
“Murder. Secrets. Sacrifice: Three women seek the truth of the empire’s past. And the truth they find will have the power to ignite a war, in the sequel to The Final Strife, the continuation of a visionary fantasy trilogy inspired by the myths of Africa and Arabia. Anoor is the first blue-blooded ruler of the Wardens’ Empire. But when she is accused of a murder she didn’t commit, her reign is thrown into turmoil. She must solve the mystery and clear her name without the support of her beloved, Sylah. Sylah braves new lands to find a solution for the hurricane that threatens to destroy her home. But in finding answers, she must make a decision: Should she sacrifice her old life in order to raise up her sword once more? Hassa’s web of secrets grows ever thicker as she finds herself on the trail of crimes in the city. Her search uncovers the extent of the atrocities of the empire’s past and present. Now she must guard both her heart and her land. The three women find their answers, but not the answers they wanted. The drumbeat of change thrums throughout the world. And it sings a song of war. Ready we will be, when the Ending Fire comes, When the Child of Fire brings the Battle Drum, The Battle Drum, The Battle Drum. Ready we will be, for war will come. Book Two of The Ending Fire Trilogy

The New Mother by Nora Murphy looks like a good psyc thriller and I’m eager to read it!

  • Genre: Psychological Thriller
  • Pages: 304 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
  • Publication Date: May 30, 2023
“ From Nora Murphy, author of The Favor, The New Mother is both relatable and nerve-wracking, sympathetic and bone-chilling— a fresh new twist on motherhood and murder in suburbia. Isolated. Lonely. Tired. It’s hard being The New Mother. Sometimes it’s murder. Nothing is simple about being a new mom alone in a new house, especially when your baby is collicky. Natalie Fanning loves her son unconditionally, but being a mother was not all she wanted to be. Enter Paul, the neighbor. Paul provides the lifeline she needs in what feels like the most desperate of times. When Paul is helping with Oliver, calmed by his reassuring, steady presence, Nat feels like she can finally rest. But Paul wants something in return. It’s no coincidence that he has befriended Nat—she is the perfect pawn for his own plan. Will Nat wake up in time to see it?

SMP had a bunch of romcoms on “Read Now” – can’t you tell? 😂 Also, Berkley’s influencer widgets came out. There really weren’t very many and even less good ones, but I did find three and I had already been approved for the Christmas book, Unleashed Holiday (also Berkley). It’s kind of a weird mix this week for me.

What are you reading? Do you love it?

Indie Authors!!!

BBNYA is still accepting submissions until May 20, 2023

https://www.bbnya.com/about-bbnya

The Third Annual Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award!

in association with

The Folio Society & The Write Reads

BBNYA, the Book Bloggers Novel of the Year Award, is a competition for indie authors (both self-published and published by small indie presses).

The contest will be judged by a large and diverse panel of book bloggers from all around the world. The panel will put the books through several rounds of judging based on a wide set of criteria. As each round goes by, we will announce the results – until finally, we arrive at our finalists. After further intensive reviewing, we will choose our favorite and declare it the ‘’Book Bloggers Novel of the Year’’!

Our goal is to give underappreciated, lesser-known authors a chance to gain some recognition without being overshadowed by the big names, but also show the world the power of book bloggers!

The winning author will receive a whole bunch of prizes, as well as the honour, recognition, and vindication of being our winner and the endorsement of book bloggers. You can read all about the prizes for the winning author and top finalists here:


13 Replies to “Books I Am Reading This Week and Weekly Book Haul- May 17, 2023 #wwwwednesday #ReadersCommunity #BookTwitter #BookLover”

  1. Great news that Identity was a hit! I love her romantic suspense standalones and am looking forward to this one, I got the widget for the new Firkins book and hadn’t decided yet but think I’ll take the plunge. Nice haul, Tessa💜

    Like

  2. Nice selection Tessa. I have Identity and The New Mother to read/listen to and hope they are good ones. I will watch for your reviews. I hope you love all your new additions for this week.

    Like

  3. Nice haul, Tessa! I always love a good Christmas cover, and Unleashed Holiday is adorable. I’ve got The Battle Drum coming up, but you know me – I’m still behind.

    Like

  4. Tessa, my reading has slowed down again this week, after I ripped through the gripping historical-fiction, The Queen’s Lady by Joanna Hickson. I am now just leisurely finishing off my re-read of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. 🧙‍♂️
    I hope you will enjoy your eclectic mix of new books! 📚

    Like

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.