Sunday Post 85: Moving Out and Moving On

The Sunday Post is a blog news meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on your blog for the week ahead. Join in weekly, bi-weekly or for a monthly wrap up. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

As I type this up, I can barely keep my eyes open. We spent the entire Saturday- from very early until the evening moving our daughters out of their apartment and into their separate destinations.

My oldest daughter got a new apartment closer to work. We got all her stuff moved in there. And my younger daughter is back home as she figures out what’s next. Right now that’s looking like grad school with the intent of working in law enforcement on the federal level, which I think she is well suited for.

Otherwise, my week leading up to yesterday was fairly quiet. The person I share an office with caught Covid from her son who had been visiting a friend on the west coast, so she was out for almost two weeks. Which meant work was quiet. And I am back to the normal number of cats, which is a relief, and a lot more doable as the the two female cats did not get along at all.

And, now it’s time to go get some sleep. 😴

How was your week?

Only 1 book this week, and I’m patting myself on the back. What I would like to do is stop requesting on NetGalley and just take advantage of widgets offered to me then fill in the gaps with the many many books that I have bought and never find time to read. 🤞

Perfect for fans of A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder, Ripley Jones’s Missing Clarissa is a gripping novel about two friends who start a true crime podcast—with dangerous consequences. In August of 1999, dazzlingly popular cheerleader Clarissa Campbell disappears from a party in the woods outside the rural town of Oreville, Washington and is never seen again. The police question her friends, teachers, and the adults who knew her—who all have something to hide. And thanks to Clarissa’s beauty, the mystery captures the attention of the nation. But with no leads and no body, the case soon grows cold. Despite the efforts of internet sleuths and true-crime aficionados, Clarissa is never found—dead or alive. Over twenty years later, Oreville high-school juniors and best friends Blair and Cameron start a true crime podcast, determined to unravel the story of what—or who—happened to this rural urban legend. In the process they uncover a nest of dirty small-town secrets, the sordid truth of Clarissa’s relationship with her charismatic boyfriend, and a high school art teacher turned small-town figurehead who had a very good reason for wanting Clarissa dead. Such a good reason, in fact, that they might have to make him the highlight of their next episode… But does an ugly history with a missing girl make him guilty of murder? Or are two teenage girls about to destroy the life of an innocent man—and help the true killer walk free?

The only show that I’ve been streaming that I haven’t mentioned yet is Ms. Marvel on Disney+. We have been enjoying it a lot. I love how much we are learning about India and Pakistan and the history of those two countries.

  • Monday (July 4, 2022): Mini Book Reviews – Paradise Girls by (Women’s Fiction) and The Charmed List by (YA RomCom)
  • Tuesday (July 5, 2022): Book Review – Cold Cold Bones by Kathy Reichs (Thriller)
  • Wednesday (July 6, 2022) WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (July 7, 2022) Book Review – Look Closer by (Thriller)
  • Friday (July 8, 2022) Book Blogger Hop
  • Monday (July 11, 2022): Mini Book Reviews – The It Girl by Ruth Ware (mystery) and Upgrade by Blake Crouch (scify thriller)
  • Tuesday (July 12, 2022): Book Review – The Binding Room by Nadine Matheson (crime thriller)
  • Wednesday (July 13, 2022) WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (July 14, 2022) Book Review – Out of Her Depth by Lizzy Barber
  • Friday (July 15, 2022) Book Blogger Hop

46 Replies to “Sunday Post 85: Moving Out and Moving On”

  1. Moving is never fun. I feel for you. Hope you get some rest on Sunday to make up for all the work today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow.. you’ve been busy! Hopefully you’re able to get some rest and recover, moving is hard work.
    Not sure this book is for me right now, I think I have half a dozen already that sound remarkably similar to it. Was it a good read?
    Thanks for sharing, Tessa! Have a wonderful (but more relaxing) week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I went shopping with my daughter yesterday, supposedly to get a present for my husband (little presents). His main present, an oven, is being put in today. He doesn’t know about it yet. My daughter’s boyfriend is putting it in for us. We ended up getting more stuff for my granddaughter and daughter, so Amazon it was for my husband. I’ve been watching series 4 of Stranger Things. It is really weird, but good at the same time.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Stranger Things is very weird. I agree. I still enjoy it, though 🙂 I bet it’s hard to resist buying things for your daughter and granddaughter. I know it would be for me too.

      Like

  4. Sounds like you’ve had a busy and tiring week, Tessa! I’m also watching Ms Marvel and enjoying it too so far. I hope you have a great week ahead! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. Marvel is so much fun and I just adore the girl who is playing her. I saw an interview with her and became an instant fan.

      Like

  5. That’s been a must have been a busy week – how are both your daughters settling in their new environments? I’ve been loving Ms Marvel too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The younger one is loving be back home and the older one has successfully transitioned to adulting – good job, nice apartment, lots of friends – she is in a good place ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Congratulations on getting both your daughters moved. No wonder you are tired!

    I would love to watch Ms. Marvel. I’m going to have to subscribe to Disney+ at some point; they have so many shows I want to watch.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Disney+ has done a great job providing interesting things to watch. It’s one streaming app that is totally worth the money to me.

      Like

  7. Moving is always such a hassle and then when it’s not even you doing the packing/moving, it’s almost worse! The benefit is definitely less. But I’ve helped my kids move too – it’s exhausting. Some good books here and I’m off to check a couple of your reviews. Hope you have a most excellent week.
    Here’s me: https://www.bookshelfjourneys.com/post/sunday-post-6

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I wish you daughters all the best with whatever is next for them and I hope you are able to get a good rest after all that moving and all those cats! 😊 My week was a busy, blur of a week! I did particularly enjoy our classes trip to a local farm and the glorious sunshine we have been blessed with, although the forecast for next week is maybe a bit too hot!

    Take care and happy reading in the coming week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Moving is so hard! I bet you’re exhausted but glad you were there to help your girls. I slowed down on my NetGalley requests and it’s been nice to have a slightly slower pace.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s more investigation driven, and I think that’s what she likes about it. She has always been my morally black and white girl which is why law enforcement seems like a good fit for her.

      Like

  10. Wow, sounds like a busy weekend! Such an important next step for your daughters, I wish them the best as they head further into their careers and personal development!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And yes, it was a very busy weekend. My oldest daughter talked about moving to another apartment at the end of her lease next year and I just groaned at the thought. 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Oh wow.. That is a bit. Guess we’ll just have to catch up on our TBRs in the mean time. 😆
    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I was thinking that. I’m from Delaware originally, so I am very familiar with DC – the good, the bad, and the dangerous. I’ll need to do a lot of research if that’s where she ends up going.

          Liked by 1 person

  12. Moving – ugh. Hubby and I have extensive experience, as you know, and we’ll be moving Son #2 into his apartment in a few weeks. Let those sore muscles rest, Tessa!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. My husband and I moved over the weekend too. I’m still exhausted from it and we still need to unpack. We’ve done some, but we’re still a long way off from being settled. I can’t imagine having to move both your daughters. I hope you’ve gotten some rest.

    Like

  14. Wow, you had a busy week, Tessa. My daughter came home three different times until she got things figured out. Covid is still out there, so I am glad she was off and didn’t give it to you. That Disney series sounds interesting. I also like when I learn things from watching something. I will have to see if we get it in Canada, as I have the Disney channel for the grandkids. I hope you have recovered from all that work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.