Menu Home

WWW Wednesday | Books to Start off July

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading


Genre: Mystery (Psychological Thriller) At the intimate house-warming party for her glorious ‘grand design’, Kathleen confides in her best friend Beth that she is terrified of one of their close friends, but daren’t reveal which one. The guests are a tight-knit group, but Kathleen is convinced one of them is dangerous. The next day Kathleen’s body is found at the foot of a cliff and Beth must face the sickening truth that she may have been killed by one of their trusted friends. With little help from the police, Beth’s decides to seek answers. All the friends have secrets they are desperate to hide, but only one of them is ready to kill to keep theirs safe… The House Party is set on the Isle of Wight – insular,claustrophobic, and with nowhere to run. Mary Grand has written a heart-stopping novel of secretsbetrayal and desire, perfect for fans of Louise Candlish and Lucy Foley.

My Thoughts

I’m just starting this book today, and I am very intrigued. For some reason, in my mind, the title and description of the book just don’t mesh. When I saw it on my schedule, I didn’t think the title sounded like a psychological thriller, but the description sounds like a compelling read, so I’m excited to give it a go.


Just Finished


Genre: Fantasy (Young Adult)Gravedigger Volke Savan wants nothing more than to be like his hero, the legendary magical swashbuckler, Gregory Ruma. First he needs to become an arcanist, someone capable of wielding magic, which requires bonding with a mythical creature. And he’ll take anything—a pegasus, a griffin, a ravenous hydra—maybe even a leviathan, like Ruma. So when Volke stumbles across a knightmare, a creature made of shadow and terror, he has no reservations. But the knightmare knows a terrible secret: Ruma is a murderer out to spread corrupted magic throughout their island nation. He’s already killed a population of phoenixes and he intends to kill even more. In order to protect his home, his adopted sister, and the girl he admires from afar, Volke will need to confront his hero, the Master Arcanist Gregory Ruma.

My Thoughts

I love this book. It is so much fun. Loads of mythical creatures and impressive magical abilities kept me entertained from page 1 until the end. And of course, there is a big mystery that has to be solved. I loved it so much I downloaded book 2 through kindle unlimited and am stealing time each day to read it. I wasn’t ready for my journey in this fun world to end 🙂


Reading Next


Genre: Mystery (Psychological Thriller)She wrote the book on escaping a predator… Now one is coming for her. Faith Finley has it all: she’s a talented psychologist with a flourishing career, a bestselling author and the host of a popular local radio program, Someone’s Listening, with Dr. Faith Finley. She’s married to the perfect man, Liam Finley, a respected food critic. Until the night everything goes horribly wrong, and Faith’s life is shattered forever. Liam is missing—gone without a trace—and the police are suspicious of everything Faith says. They either think she has something to hide, or that she’s lost her mind. And then the notes begin to arrive. Notes that are ripped from Faith’s own book, the one that helps victims leave their abusers. Notes like “Lock your windows. Consider investing in a steel door.” As the threats escalate, the mystery behind Liam’s disappearance intensifies. And Faith’s very life will depend on finding answers

My Thoughts

Someone’s Listening sounds like it is going to be full of thrills and chills – the perfect summer read. I can’t wait to find out!

Also reading…

I already mentioned that I picked up Book 2 of the Knightmare Arcanist series, Dread Pirate Arcanist. I’m stealing small chunks of time here and there to enjoy it. The other two books that I’m utilizing are inspiring me to write the last ten scenes in my WIP (fantasy novel), edit it, and send out those queries. Self-doubt has been my worst enemy, but I need to get it done. The Save the Cat book is a very practical look at different aspects and then poses questions at the end of each chapter to answer for your WIP. Reading Like a Writer is written by an English professor, and I can tell that. I’m enjoying the more scholarly discussion, though.

I mentioned to another blogger who reads books on writing that I was looking for a book to inspire me to finish, and she recommended a For Dummies book. I quickly discovered what a snob I am when it comes to books on writing because my BA-in-English mind couldn’t wrap itself around the usefulness of a Writing for Dummies book for me. There was even a small part of me that was insulted, which I realized was just silly. I’m sure the For Dummies books on writing are quite helpful, but I still decided on the books above (because, as I said, I am a writing book snob). I just thought that was a funny thing to realize about myself.

What are you reading this week?

Categories: WWW Wednesdays

Tessa Pulyer

See my “About me” on my site.

27 replies

  1. I’m a big fan of James Scott Bell’s writing series. Larry Brooks is good, too. (I understand how you feel about the Dummy series. Both my undergrad and graduate degrees are in writing, and I know I’d resist picking up that book.) But for what it’s worth, Randy Ingermanson is one of the authors of the book in question, and I know his method is lauded in writing circles, though I’ve never tried it.

    I love the sound of the psychological thrillers you’re reading. Interesting that the first cover doesn’t match the content. I’m interested to hear more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s funny because I’ve never been the grammar police type of person or feel I need to read and discuss more high brow type works (just the opposite) but that hit a nerve I didn’t even know I had.
      I will start The House Party this afternoon and I’m so curious!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I try not to obsess over grammar and never tell people (except my editing clients) if something is wrong, even if I’m cringing when I see an error. If I start doing that, I KNOW I’ll make a bone-headed error (publicly) and someone will call me on it.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll be starting Knightmare Arcanist next week, and I’m really looking forward to it! I’m super excited to see that you loved it so much! The book sounds perfect for me, and I didn’t even know the sequel was out, but Dread Pirate Arcanist? Um, yes, that sounds like the title of a book I also NEED to read. Happy reading!

    Here’s my WWW post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: