Book Review | Is Lake Silence the Vacation Spot of your Dreams?

  Dear Reader, Lake Silence would not be my choice of fictional vacation spots, but Anne Bishop creates a world so full of detail that it is easy to determine if it would be your choice to rest, relax, and explore. If you haven't read Anne Bishop's last 5-book series, You The Others, (which I… Continue reading Book Review | Is Lake Silence the Vacation Spot of your Dreams?

The Top 5 Anticipated Novels coming out in April

Always on the lookout for new reads, the following five novels are my most anticipated new releases this month (April 2019): The Scribbly Man (Book 1 of 4 in the A Children of D'Hara Novella Series) - April 4 2019  A Spy is Born by Emily Kimelman - April 4, 2019 Someone Knows by Lisa Scottoline -… Continue reading The Top 5 Anticipated Novels coming out in April

Book Review | Endearingly Frustrating Characters are Kinsella’s Specialty

Dear Reader, If you have ever read a Sophie Kinsella novel then you know how character driven they are. From her use of first person limited voice to her theme of personal growth, the novels are the main character. I usually limit my book reviews to mystery and fantasy genre but I have enjoyed Kinsella… Continue reading Book Review | Endearingly Frustrating Characters are Kinsella’s Specialty

Book Review | A Classic Fantasy Series by a New, Up-and-coming Author

Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho Dear reader, I’ve discovered a talented new author for my bookshelves! Zen Cho’s first novel, Sorcerer to the Crown is a magical trip back in time to a Victorian England that is full of magic and mystery. On the novel's darker side, Cho explorers racism and sexism in… Continue reading Book Review | A Classic Fantasy Series by a New, Up-and-coming Author

Book review |Dao gives us Snow White reimagined

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie Dao Dear Reader, In the conclusion to Forest of a Thousand Lanterns, we experience the story of Snow White, minus the seven dwarves but with an Asian flare. Gone is the rosy cheeked songstress who forest animals flock around. Instead, meet Jade, the monk-raised beauty born the Dragon… Continue reading Book review |Dao gives us Snow White reimagined

Book review | The Sky People: A short story that packs a big punch

A book review of The Sky People by Terry Goodkind Dear Reader, The best gift often comes in the smallest package, and this new novella by Terry Goodkind stays true to that adage. In a little over one hundred pages, he explains humanity - it's motivators, traditions, and downfalls. In doing so, he reminds us… Continue reading Book review | The Sky People: A short story that packs a big punch

Book Review | Harkness explores various sides of patriarchy with Time’s Convert

Dear reader, From the author of the best selling All Souls trilogy comes another novel with the same cast of characters. Unfortunately, Time’s Convert is just too much exposition and too little action. A story about the different aspects of raising a vampire, Harkness explores converting an adult human into a vampire in the 18th… Continue reading Book Review | Harkness explores various sides of patriarchy with Time’s Convert

Book Review | Siege of Stone holds back the conclusion of The Nicci Chronicles

A review of Siege of Stone by Terry Goodkind Update: Book 4 Heart of Black Ice is scheduled to be released in January 2020 Dear Reader, The story of Nicci and Nathan in the Old World forges on, and now the stone army has awakened. Siege of Stone is not the anticipated conclusion to the… Continue reading Book Review | Siege of Stone holds back the conclusion of The Nicci Chronicles

Movie review | Orm’s hatred is puzzling

A review of Aquaman, the movie produced by Warner Bros. Dear fans of fantasy, My initial reaction to Aquaman, starring Jason Momoa, was confusion. I loved the special effects and the underwater world but I couldn't tell you what the movie was about. The main conflict of the story was between Aquaman (Arthur) and his… Continue reading Movie review | Orm’s hatred is puzzling

Book review | Nora Roberts Brings Light to the 2nd book in the Chronicles of the One series

  Dear Fantasy Reader, This week I enjoyed Of Blood and Bone by Nora Roberts, one of the most prolific writers of romance and fantasy fiction. After the disturbing yet compelling first novel in Nora Robert's Chronicles of the One trilogy, this second installment is a much lighter, more fast-paced part of the story. In… Continue reading Book review | Nora Roberts Brings Light to the 2nd book in the Chronicles of the One series

Book review | Novik Spins Words into Fairy Tale Gold

  Dear Fans of Fantasy, I recently had the pleasure of reading Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik, a fairytale reminiscent of Beauty and the Beast and Rumpelstiltskin for the young adult and adult reader. Character Novik’s work of fantasy fiction takes you on a journey to snowy lands full of flawed humans and fey alike.… Continue reading Book review | Novik Spins Words into Fairy Tale Gold

Book review | Destined to be remembered for its complexities

Dear fantasy fiction fans, I forget how much I like Asian-inspired fantasy with its richness and color that amaze my senses and creates a feeling of wonder. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie Dao captured me as I raced to find out what happens next and reveled in the beauty of Feng Nu along… Continue reading Book review | Destined to be remembered for its complexities