Books I Am Reading This Week and Weekly Book Haul- May 3, 2023 #wwwwednesday #ReadersCommunity #BookTwitter #BookLover

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words. Just answer the three questions below and leave a link to your post in the comments for others to look at. No blog? No problem! Just leave a comment with your responses. Please, take some time to visit the other participants and see what others are reading. So, let’s get to it!

  • What am I currently reading?
  • What did I just finish?
  • What am I reading next?

This is the Way the World Ends by Jen Wilde sounds like my kind of teen thriller but I’m a bit concerned about two things: the long list of trigger warnings and the lackluster ratings so far. I start This is the Way the World Ends today, so I’ll be finding out soon whether I like it or not.

  • Genre: Thriller (YA)
  • Pages: 269 pages
  • Publisher: Wednesday Books (St. Martin’s Press)
  • Publication Date: May 9, 2023
Fans of One of Us Is Lying and The Hazel Wood are cordially invited to spend one fateful night surviving an elite private school’s epic masquerade ball in Jen Wilde’s debut thriller, This Is the Way the World Ends. As an autistic scholarship student at the prestigious Webber Academy in New York City, Waverly is used to masking to fit in—in more ways than one. While her classmates are the children of the one percent, Waverly is getting by on tutoring gigs and the generosity of the school’s charming and enigmatic dean. So when her tutoring student and resident “it girl” asks Waverly to attend the school’s annual fundraising Masquerade disguised as her, Waverly jumps at the chance—especially once she finds out that Ash, the dean’s daughter and her secret ex-girlfriend, will be there. The Masquerade is everything Waverly dreamed of, complete with extravagant gowns, wealthy parents writing checks, and flowing champagne. Most importantly, there’s Ash. All Waverly wants to do is shed her mask and be with her, but the evening takes a sinister turn when Waverly stumbles into a secret meeting between the dean and the school’s top donors—and witnesses a brutal murder. This gala is harboring far more malevolent plots than just opening parents’ pocketbooks. Before she can escape or contact the authorities, a mysterious global blackout puts the entire party on lockdown. Waverly’s fairy tale has turned into a nightmare, and she, Ash, and her friends must navigate through a dizzying maze of freight elevators, secret passageways, and back rooms if they’re going to survive the night. And even if they manage to escape the Masquerade, with technology wiped out all over the planet, what kind of world will they find waiting for them beyond the doors?

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book like The House on Prytania by Karen White. It scared the bejesus out of me and it’s not even a horror story. And, The Boyfirend Candidate by Ashley Winstead couldn’t have been anymore different from The House on Prytania. I loved it except for one aspect, but I will explain more in my review next week.

  • Genre: Ghost Mystery
  • Pages: 396 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley
  • Publication Date: May 9, 2023
A woman is haunted—both literally and figuratively—by ghosts of the past in this second novel of the Royal Street series by New York Times bestselling author Karen White. Nola Trenholm may not be psychic herself, but she’s spent enough time around people who are to know when ghosts are present, and there are definitely a few lingering spirits in her recently purchased Creole cottage in New Orleans. Something, or someone, is keeping them tethered to this world. And not all of them are benign. But with the sudden return of Sunny Ryan, Beau Ryan’s long-lost sister, Nola has plenty to distract her from her ghostly housemates. Especially when the tempting—yet firmly unavailable—Beau, wanting to mete out justice to those he blames for Sunny’s kidnapping, asks Nola for a favor that threatens to derail her hard-won recovery and send her hurtling backward. He asks her to welcome Michael Hebert back into her life, even though Michael is the reason for Nola’s bruised heart. Beau is convinced that Michael’s powerful family was behind Sunny’s disappearance and that Michael is the key to getting information the police won’t be able to ignore—if Nola is willing to risk everything for which she’s worked so hard. Torn between helping Beau and protecting herself, Nola doesn’t realize until it’s almost too late why the ghosts are haunting her house—a startling revelation that will throw her and Beau together to fight a common enemy. Assuming Nola can get Beau to listen to what the spirits are trying to tell him, because ignoring them could prove to be a fatal mistake…
  • Genre: Romantic Comedy
  • Pages: 365 pages
  • Publisher: Grayson House (Harlequin Trade Publishers)
  • Publication Date: May 9, 2023
A laugh-out-loud rom-com about learning to embrace living outside your comfort zone. As a shy school librarian, Alexis Stone is comfortable keeping out of the spotlight. But when she’s dumped for being too meek—in bed!—she decides she needs to change. And what better way to kick-start her new more adventurous life than with her first one-night stand? Enter Logan, the gorgeous, foul-mouthed stranger she meets at a hotel bar. Audacious and filterless, Logan is Alexis’s opposite—and boy, do opposites attract! Just as she’s about to fulfill her hookup wish, the hotel catches fire in a freak lightning storm. In their rush to escape, Logan is discovered carrying her into the street, where people are waiting with cameras. Cameras Logan promptly—and shockingly—flees. Alexis is bewildered until suddenly pictures of her and Logan escaping the fire are all over the internet. Turns out Logan is none other than Logan Arthur, the hotshot candidate challenging the Texas governor’s seat. The salacious scandal is poised to sink his career—and jeopardize Alexis’s job—until a solution is proposed: he and Alexis could pretend to be in a relationship until election day…in two months. What could possibly go wrong?

I’ll be reading Secrets of the Italian Island by Barbara Josselsohn for a Bookouture blog tour. I’m kind of worried about the pacing, but the story sounds very interesting, and I’ve enjoyed other Josselsohn books in the past.

  • Genre: Women’s Fiction
  • Pages: 363 pages
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publication Date: May 11, 2023
Italy, 1943. A castle once full of love and laughter is left in ruins by the Nazis, as three sisters are torn apart by one terrible mistake… New York, present day. Broken by the loss of her beloved grandmother Annalisa, who raised her all alone, Mia is shocked when she finds an old letter sent from Italy in her belongings. Annalisa never told Mia about the magnificent, vine-covered castle on Isola di Parissi where she spent one long summer under the Italian stars. Or that she was accused of something terrible in the darkest days of World War Two… Arriving on the stunning Italian coast just a boat ride away from Parissi, Mia is devastated to find the island closed to visitors. Desperate to find out what her grandmother was hiding, she finds dark and brooding local guide Leo, who promises to help her sneak in. As they explore the crumbling castle surrounded by lush olive groves, Mia begins to fall in love with passionate Leo and the beautiful country he calls home. And soon they find handwritten notes hidden in the walls, which confirm her grandmother’s heartbreaking story. Annalisa arrived on the island with her two sisters but was forced to abandon them when the Nazis invaded. Mia soon realizes that the accusation against Annalisa might be true, and that Leo has his own reasons for wanting to dig up her family’s past. The terrible mistake Annalisa made tore apart the island community. Will it force Mia to leave Leo, and Italy, forever? An epic, heart-wrenching tale based on the incredible true story of an island at war. Fans of Lucinda Riley, Fiona Valpy and Victoria Hislop will be utterly gripped.

I received 6 mystery/thrillers this week! And I’m looking forward to all of them, particularly The Traitor (the second book in the Alias Emma series) and the new Kate Mosse book, The Ghost Ship. I also picked up two romcoms, and a fantasy, with that beautiful cover 😍

What are you reading? Do you love it?


26 Replies to “Books I Am Reading This Week and Weekly Book Haul- May 3, 2023 #wwwwednesday #ReadersCommunity #BookTwitter #BookLover”

  1. Your lead-in comments to The House on Prytania, have me really curious about it. And from your new book haul, I see three I’m jazzed about based on the covers alone!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had a widget for This Is The Way the World Ends, but I didn’t download it. Seems like I’d just read a couple of academy stories that were just meh, so I passed on it. But I sure am curious about The House on Prytania.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It ended up having a SciFy twist which surprised me. It was okay – not bad but not great. And The House on Prytania stills give me goosebumps when I think about it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Look at your haul! Lots to love, including The Revenge List and In a Quiet Town. Enjoy them all, Tessa💜

    I’m coming off my Christina Lauren love hangover and listening to The Family Game. Already hooked!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Okay, The House of Prytania sounds completely different from what it looks like!! I was not expecting that and I’m so intrigued by your thoughts! haha. I hope the teen thriller surprises you.. I would be nervous about those two things too!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. These look like a good mix of books, I hope you enjoy them all Tessa. I just started reading The Seaside Library by Brenda Novak. Not very far into it, so I’m not sure yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hi Tessa, what a wonderfully eclectic mix of books you have been reading! 😃 Currently, I am re-reading Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban in my beautiful new illustrated edition 🧙‍♂️ Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.