Books I Am Reading This Week – January 4, 2023 #wwwwednesday #ReadersCommunity #BookTwitter #BookLover

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words. Just answer the three questions below and leave a link to your post in the comments for others to look at. No blog? No problem! Just leave a comment with your responses. Please, take some time to visit the other participants and see what others are reading. So, let’s get to it!

  • What am I currently reading?
  • What did I just finish?
  • What am I reading next?

The Hunter by Jennifer Herrera is very compelling so far. There are so many secrets in this small town. I am only a little ways in and I’m anxious to read more.

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Pages: 352 pages

Publisher: Putnam & Sons

Publication Date: January 10, 2023

After reckless behavior costs NYPD detective Leigh O’Donnell her job and her marriage, she returns with her four-year-old daughter to her beautiful hometown of Copper Falls, Ohio. Leigh had stayed away for more than a decade—even though her brother and a trio of loving uncles still call it home—because, while the town may seem idyllic, something rotten lies at its core. Three men in town have drowned in what Leigh suspects to be a triple homicide. She hopes that by finding out who killed them, she just might get her life back on course. Headstrong and intuitive, Leigh isn’t afraid to face a killer, but she has to do more than that to discover the truth about what happened to those men. She must unravel a web of secrets going back generations, and, in doing so, plumb the darkness within herself. Perfect for fans of Mare of Easttown, this taut debut is a haunting look at how the search for truth often leads back to the most unlikely of places.

Son of the Poison Rose by Jonathan Maberry is the second book of the trilogy that began with Kagen the Damned. This part of the story is significantly better than the first one and I feel like it explains the more challenging aspects of the first book. It’s a lot of pages but I enjoyed it.

  • Genre: Epic Fantasy
  • Pages: 704 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
  • Publication Date: January 10, 2023
Son of the Poison Rose marks the second installment of New York Times bestselling author Jonathan Maberry’s epic, swashbuckling Kagen the Damned series. The Silver Empire is in ruins. War is in the wind. Kagen and his allies are on the run from the Witch-king. Wild magic is running rampant everywhere. Spies and secret cabals plot from the shadows of golden thrones. Kagen Vale is the most wanted man in the world, with a death sentence on his head and a reward for him—dead or alive—that would tempt a saint. The Witch-king has new allies who bring a terrible weapon—a cursed disease that drives people into a murderous rage. If the disease is allowed to spread, the whole of the West will tear itself apart. In order to build an army of resistance fighters and unearth magical weapons of his own, Kagen and his friends have to survive attacks and storms at sea, brave the haunted wastelands of the snowy north, fight their way across the deadly Cathedral Mountains, and rediscover a lost city filled with cannibal warriors, old ghosts, and monsters from other worlds. Along with his reckless adventurer brothers, Kagen races against time to save more than the old empire… if he fails the world will be drenched in a tsunami of bloodshed and horror. Son of the Poison Rose weaves politics and espionage, sorcery and swordplay, treachery and heroism as the damned outcast Kagen fights against the forces of ultimate darkness.

After a heavy epic fantasy and a psychological thriller, it feels like just the right time to read A Guide to Being Just Friends by Sophie Sullivan. I’m definitely in the mood for something light and fluffy.

  • Genre: Romantic Comedy
  • Pages: 336 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
  • Publication Date: January 17, 2023
A playful and emotional romantic comedy from the author of Ten Rules for Faking It. Hailey Sharp has a one-track mind. Get By the Cup salad shop off the ground. Do literally everything possible to make it a success. Repeat. With a head full of entrepreneurial ideas and a bad ex in her rearview, her one and only focus is living life the way she wants to. No distractions. Wes Jansen never did understand the fuss about relationships. With a string of lackluster first dates and the pain from his parents’ angry divorce following him around, he’d much rather find someone who he likes, but won’t love. Companionship, not passion, is the name of the game. When Hailey and Wes find each other in a disastrous meet cute that wasn’t even intended for them, they embarrassingly go their separate ways. But when Wes finds Hailey to apologize for his behavior, they strike a friendship. Because that’s all this can be. Hailey doesn’t want any distractions. Wes doesn’t want to fall in love. What could possibly go wrong?

What are you reading? Do you love it?


30 Replies to “Books I Am Reading This Week – January 4, 2023 #wwwwednesday #ReadersCommunity #BookTwitter #BookLover”

  1. I am reading Dead Man’s Daughter. It is about the murder of a heart transplant person, and his daughter, second wife. There is a mystery about her daughter, falling from a window. His daughter, only ten years old, is the only witness, but she isn’t saying anything.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A nice variety this week, Tessa. Son of the Poison Rose sounds good to me, but 700 pages is such a commitment! I’m glad you’re enjoying it and that it’s better than the first in the series. Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t blame you for looking for a fluffy read next after those two quite serious reads! I m interested in reading “A Guide to being…” so look forward to reading your review.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s an eclectic mix! Looking forward to your thoughts on the thriller. I’m currently reading The Last Drive (a supernatural mystery) and just finished Unnatural Mayhem (also a supernatural mystery, though very different from The Last Drive). All positives so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Talk about a diverse mix of books, LOL! I love the way you mix up your reading.
    Both The Hunter and Son of the Poison Rose sound intriguing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maberry writes very long fantasies but they are excellent and I’m really enjoying The Hunter. So many creepy supernatural vibes.

      Like

  6. I really enjoyed A Guide to Being Just Friends, it was light and cute. I hope you enjoy it Tessa!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ohhh, I’m curious about Guide to Being Just Friends!! I’ve seen it a couple of times but haven’t seen much about it. Can’t wait to see what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.