Sunday Post 81 | Summer Days

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Summer days are in full swing. We had a slight break in the heat for the most of the week, so I was able to enjoy my deck this week. If you remember, we replaced the floor of the deck in the fall. My husband did it himself and did such a wonderful job. I learned that the composite boards look nice but they get very hot in the sun. And, we get morning and afternoon sun on our deck. It is literally burn your feet hot. So, I went ahead and got new cushions for the sectional and outdoor rugs to save my feet pain, plus some pretty flowers. Here’s a peak at where I’ve been spending my evenings this week:

I’ve finally started a podcast that I link to my blog posts. I’ve been thinking about it forever but I needed a better mic, which I was given for Mother’s Day. That way those who prefer to listen to audio have that option. My first episode was Friday with the Book Blogger Hop question. To start, I will do podcasts for my reviews and the Friday question post with the plan to add in this weekly post and WWW Wednesday later as I figure out the format I want to take for a podcast.

Daughter #2 comes home today for the foreseeable future. I am always happy to have my girls home but I think this time we have some work to do to get the “What now” plans finalized and have her moving forward again.

How was your week?

From NetGalley

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Fable, this South Asian-inspired fantasy is a gripping debut about the power of the elite, the price of glory, and one girl’s chance to change it all.

Sixteen-year-old Koral and her older brother Emrik risk their lives each day to capture the monstrous maristags that live in the black seas around their island. They have to, or else their family will starve.

In an oceanic world swarming with vicious beasts, the Landers―the ruling elite, have indentured Koral’s family to provide the maristags for the Glory Race, a deadly chariot tournament reserved for the upper class. The winning contender receives gold and glory. The others―if they’re lucky―survive.

When the last maristag of the year escapes and Koral has no new maristag to sell, her family’s financial situation takes a turn for the worse and they can’t afford medicine for her chronically ill little sister. Koral’s only choice is to do what no one in the world has ever dared: cheat her way into the Glory Race.

But every step of the way is unpredictable as Koral races against contenders―including her ex-boyfriend―who have trained for this their whole lives and who have no intention of letting a low-caste girl steal their glory. When a rebellion rises and rogues attack Koral to try and force her to drop out, she must choose―her life or her sister’s―before the whole island burns.

From a sale at the book store:

Did you get any good books this week?

We finished the fourth season of Stranger Things. I predicted about halfway through who or what I thought the big bad is and its origins and I was oh, so close in my prediction. Just a teeny tiny bit off. Now, I can’t wait for part two of the season coming soon.

We watched The Secrets of Dumbledore last night on HBO Max in spite of the bad reviews. It was okay. A bit of a yawn, but ok.

Did you watch anything good?

  • Monday (June 6, 2022): Book Feature and Excerpt – The Fae Keeper by H. E. Edgmon
  • Tuesday (June 7, 2022): Book Review – Ordinary Monsters by J.M. Miro
  • Wednesday (June 8, 2022) WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (June 9, 2022) Book Review – A Rip Through Time by Kelley Armstrong
  • Friday (June 10, 2022) Book Blogger Hop
  • Monday (June 13, 2022): Book Review – The Gatekeeper by James Byrne (Thriller)
  • Tuesday (June 14 2022): Book Review – It All Comes Down to This by Theresa Fowler (Women’s Fiction)
  • Wednesday (June 15 2022) WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (June 16, 2022) Book Review – Can’t Look Away by Carola Lovering (Domestic Thriller)
  • Friday (June 17, 2022) Book Blogger Hop

44 Replies to “Sunday Post 81 | Summer Days”

  1. I can barely keep up with my blog. I can’t imagine trying to turn it into a podcast as well. My hat is off to you for taking that on.

    And I have burned my feet on my sidewalks here in the summer, so I get what you are saying about your patio. Sounds like you’ve got that issue covered now (pun always intended), so you can enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I thought ”Secrets of Dumbledore” was okay, but the first movie was better. At least they attempted to change the fact that Dumbledore never had a brother. We were talking about that type of decking being hot in the sun. Mine needs doing desperately, but I’m thinking of paving slabs instead.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We have decking made from old car tyres and it gets so hot! We need to get a rug or something.

    I wanted to watch Dumbledore but with a 3 year old any sort of TV watching is limited! I spend my evenings reading all my books so no TV time there either!

    Have a great week next week.

    Emily @ Budget Tales Book Blog
    My post:

    Sunday Post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I enjoy our deck ❤️. That book cover is so pretty. That might me why I took it which makes me a little nervous. 😂

      Like

    1. One of the things I enjoy about my girls being young adults now is the fact that I can actually decorate with no worry about toys. That wasn’t the case for very many years. ❤️. (FYI, I tried to comment on your post and it posted as anonymous in spite of my best attempt at using the non-anonymous options 😌)

      Like

  4. Your deck and flowers are so inviting, it must be wonderful to sit out there and relax and read. I love your cat too!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks, Tessa, for the note on how hot composite decks can get. We’ve been thinking about it, and that’s great to know! Your deck looks wonderful. What a great place to relax and read. And best of luck with the podcasts; expanding your reach is awesome. Thanks, too, for the glimpse into Monsters Born and Made. Sounds like it may be a good one! Enjoy having your daughter home and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the decking! The cats get bored with no knot holes to stick their paws through but I love how it looks and not having to worry about upkeep and rot.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Your deck looks so beautiful, what a wonderful place to sit and read. Nice to have one of your daughters home again, though it’s always a worry when they are at a turning point in life.
    The only physical books I’ve bought in the last few years have been gifts for others. Yours look so pretty – especially with those lovely props.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I do enjoy it ❤️. And yes daughter #2 will get there. She’s always had a way of doing things in her own time while everyone else is busy buzzing around her.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Your deck looks nice and I love your bookstagram photos. 🙂 Monsters Born and Made sounds really interesting. I hope you enjoy it and I hope you enjoy having your daughter home.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It looks like Kitty appreciates the lovely new rug as well!

    It took me a few episodes but I finally got into the current season of Stranger Things, enjoyed it (especially Dustin and Steve constantly bickering) and look forward to the next batch of episodes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Theo loves the new rug! His poor little paws no longer get burnt and apparently it’s perfect for sinking his claws into 😔. I love Dustin and Steve’s bickering too. They crack me up.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Your deck looks like the perfect place to curl up and read, Tessa. I have one more episode of Stranger Things, and I’ve loved this season. Might be my second favorite. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.