Sunday Post 79 | Beach Time!

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

My week was so busy with preparations for the beach. But now I’m here and enjoying my wonderful view. I can’t believe this will be my view for the whole week!

How was your week?

My email was so quiet this week. I don’t have any requests pending on NetGalley and no widgets came my way, so the only thing I got in my book haul were two books that I purchased – and both are signed ❤️.

Bought

(And brought to the beach 😊)

  • Genre: RomCom
  • Publication Date: May 3, 2022
  • Publisher: Berkley
One summer. Two rivals. A plot twist they didn’t see coming… Nora Stephens’ life is books—she’s read them all—and she is not that type of heroine. Not the plucky one, not the laidback dream girl, and especially not the sweetheart. In fact, the only people Nora is a heroine for are her clients, for whom she lands enormous deals as a cutthroat literary agent, and her beloved little sister Libby. Which is why she agrees to go to Sunshine Falls, North Carolina for the month of August when Libby begs her for a sisters’ trip away—with visions of a small town transformation for Nora, who she’s convinced needs to become the heroine in her own story. But instead of picnics in meadows, or run-ins with a handsome country doctor or bulging-forearmed bartender, Nora keeps bumping into Charlie Lastra, a bookish brooding editor from back in the city. It would be a meet-cute if not for the fact that they’ve met many times and it’s never been cute. If Nora knows she’s not an ideal heroine, Charlie knows he’s nobody’s hero, but as they are thrown together again and again—in a series of coincidences no editor worth their salt would allow—what they discover might just unravel the carefully crafted stories they’ve written about themselves.
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Publication Date: May 3, 2022
  • Publisher: Tor
#1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of betrayals, secret societies, and a dissolute thief of shadows, in the vein of Neil Gaiman and Erin Morgenstern. Charlie Hall has never found a lock she couldn’t pick, a book she couldn’t steal, or a bad decision she wouldn’t make. She’s spent half her life working for gloamists, magicians who manipulate shadows to peer into locked rooms, strangle people in their beds, or worse. Gloamists guard their secrets greedily, creating an underground economy of grimoires. And to rob their fellow magicians, they need Charlie Hall. Now, she’s trying to distance herself from past mistakes, but getting out isn’t easy. Bartending at a dive, she’s still entirely too close to the corrupt underbelly of the Berkshires. Not to mention that her sister Posey is desperate for magic, and that Charlie’s shadowless, and possibly soulless, boyfriend has been hiding things from her. When a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie descends into a maelstrom of murder and lies. Determined to survive, she’s up against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, gloamists, and the people she loves best in the world―all trying to steal a secret that will give them vast and terrible power.

Did you get any good books this week?

I think I saw the movie, The Time Traveler’s Wife, in 2009 and the new show intrigues me just as much as the movie did. I enjoyed the actors, and I love the whole concept of time travel. So I will enjoy each new episode that comes out on HBO Max.

Did you watch anything good?

  • Monday (May 16, 2022): Book Review – Hidden Pictures by Jason Rekulak (Psychological Thriller – 5 stars)
  • Tuesday (May 17, 2022): Book Review – Every Cloak Rolled in Blood by James Lee Burke (Supernatural Mystery – 4.5 stars)
  • Wednesday (May 18, 2022) WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (May 19, 2022) Book Review – The Colony Series by Teri Polen (YA SciFy/Dystopian)
  • Friday (May 20, 2022) Book Blogger Hop
  • Monday (May 23, 2022): Book Review – Never Coming Home by Hannah Mary McKinnon ( 5 stars – Psychological Thriller)
  • Tuesday (May 24, 2022): Book Review – Two Nights in Lisbon by Chris Pavone (Domestic Thriller)
  • Wednesday (May 25, 2022) WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (May 26, 2022) Book Review – Together We Burn by Isabel Ibanez
  • Friday (May 27, 2022) Book Blogger Hop

53 Replies to “Sunday Post 79 | Beach Time!”

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.