Sunday Post 77 | Happy Mother’s Day

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Happy Mother’s Day!

This weekend, I am in what’s called The Triangle Area of North Carolina: Raleigh (NC State), Durham (Duke), and Chapel Hill (UNC). I will literally be in all three cities/towns. We are going up and my mother-in-law is coming down so we can all be together for my youngest daughter’s graduation from UNC Chapel Hill, which just happens to be on Mother’s Day. We will spend Saturday in Durham, where both of my daughters live, and Sunday is the graduation in Chapel Hill and, before we head back home, we are having dinner in Raleigh to celebrate Graduation and Mother’s Day. The Triangle Area is a lovely area of North Carolina and if the weather cooperates, it will be a very nice weekend. Unfortunately the weather cooperating is a big if since rain is forecasted for Saturday and Sunday is supposed to be 30 degrees less than what it has been in the last few weeks. It’s all about the layers this weekend .☺️

How was your week?

Only two books this week, and I am debating on a third. Yay! Finally some slowdown.

Widgets From Publishers (for NetGalley)

  • Genre: Psychological Thriller
  • Publication Date: June 28, 2022
  • Publisher: Harlequin
When a cold-case serial killer returns, FBI special agent Fiona Kelly has one last chance to stop him before he claims the prize he’s always wanted—her. The sight of a goose feather at a murder scene modeled after a children’s poem is enough to make FBI special agent Fiona Kelly’s blood turn to ice. Almost two decades ago, a feather was left with her sister’s body—and with every subsequent victim of the Nursery Rhyme Killer. Now he’s back. Only this time, his latest gruesome murder is a message to the only one who ever got away: Fiona. Finding “Rhyme” is an obsession that’s fueled Fiona’s career—and destroyed her marriage to fellow FBI agent Asa Kodiak. Now Fiona and Asa have to put their past tensions aside and work together one last time. But Rhyme is watching, and catching this killer may force Fiona to reveal her biggest, darkest secret…the one only he knows. “Her Darkest Secret by Jessica R. Patch grabbed me in the first scene of this edge-of-your-seat suspense and didn’t let go until the end!”—Patricia Bradley, author of the Memphis Cold Case novels.
  • Genre: Murder Mystery
  • Publication Date: September 6, 2022
  • Publisher: Random House
A remote hotel. A murder mystery. A missing woman. Everyone has a role to play, but what’s real and what’s part of the game? A twisty and fiendishly clever novel perfect for fans of The Guest List and Knives Out . . . The weekend getaway at the gorgeous manor hotel should have been perfect. But Becca is freshly smarting from her husband Blake’s betrayal and knows this is just an expensive attempt at an apology. She may not be ready to forgive him, but the drinks are strong, the estate is stunning, and the weekend has an elaborate 1920s murder mystery theme. She decides to get into the spirit of things and enjoy their stay. What could go wrong? Before long, the game is afoot: famed speakeasy songstress Ida Crooner is found “murdered,” and it’s up to the guests to sniff out which of them might be the culprit. Playing the role of Miss Debbie Taunte, an ingenue with a dark past, Becca dives into the world of pun-heavy clues, hammy acting, and secret passages, hoping to at least take her mind off her marital troubles. Then, the morning after they arrive, the actress playing Ida’s maid fails to reappear for her role. The game’s organizer—that’s Miss Ann Thrope to you—assumes the young woman’s flakiness is to blame, but when snooping for clues as “Debbie,” Becca finds evidence she may not have left of her own free will. Told over a nail-biting forty-eight hours and interspersed with in-game clues, set pieces, and character histories from the campy flapper-filled mystery nested inside a modern one, All Dressed Up is a loving tribute to classic whodunits and a riveting exploration of the secrets we keep in order to sustain the act.

Did you get any good books this week?

The newest show in the Star Trek world, Strange New Worlds is going back to its roots. Every show will be self contained and not an implied “to be continued” like so many streaming shows are. I like that. It reminded me a lot of the original show actually just with 2020s filming and special effects.

Did you watch anything good?

  • Monday (May 2, 2022): Mini Book Reviews – Breathless by Amy McCullough (Thriller) and The Wedding Season by Katy Birchall (RomCom)
  • Tuesday (May 3, 2022): Book Review – When Women Were Dragons by Kelly Barnhill (Fantasy)
  • Wednesday (May 4, 2022) WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (May 5, 2022) Book Review – Elektra by Jennifer Saint (General Fiction/Greek Mythology)
  • Friday (May 6, 2022) Book Blogger Hop
  • Monday (May 9, 2022): Book Review – My Wife Is Missing by D. J. Palmer (Psychological Thriller)
  • Tuesday (May 10, 2022): Book Review – Dark Circles by Caite Dolan-Leach (Psychological Thriller)
  • Wednesday (May 11, 2022) WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (May 12, 2022) Book Review – Kagen the Damned by Jonathan Maberry (Dark Epic Fantasy)
  • Friday (May 13, 2022) Book Blogger Hop
  • Friday (May 13, 2022) Blog Tour Book Review – Knave of Secrets by Alex Livingston (Supernatural Thriller)

43 Replies to “Sunday Post 77 | Happy Mother’s Day”

  1. It is nice to see a show with stand alone episodes, isn’t it? As much as I enjoyed the serialized storytelling we get these days, sometimes you just need something you don’t have to track from week to week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Mother’s Day – I hope the weather is holding out and it’s warm enough to shed a few of those layers. Enjoy your busy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🥰. And Sunday was so cold 🥶. It’ll be warm again today of course but Sunday was very brrrr.

      Like

  3. Hope you have had a lovely weekend and the weather held out. We had a rainy day yesterday but it is nice today. I love the look of Her Darkest Secret. Hope you have a lovely week 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Her Darkest Secret looks so good! Can’t wait to read it. And it was a lovely weekend but it was cold and wet the whole time. Mother Nature does enjoy a surprising twist, doesn’t she?

      Like

  4. Happy Mother’s Day, Tessa. Have a wonderful weekend and I hope the rain holds off. What a great weekend you have planned. I will have to check out your review for When Women Were Dragons by Kelly Barnhill as it was recommended for my horoscope and I try to read my horoscope during my birthday month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually am too (sshhh…🤫). I already had cats when I developed the allergy so what is one to do but take allergy meds and deal in that situation.

      Like

  5. Happy Mother’s Day. We celebrated ours in March. I did a car boot with my daughter today, and we didn’t do bad at all. All money goes towards our holiday next week. I’m not sure if I will post anything that week. It depends on the WIFI where we are going on holiday.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy Mother’s Day! It sounds as though you have a busy weekend and I hope the weather holds out for you! Have a wonderful week ahead.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Congratulations to your daughter and you! Graduation is such an accomplishment. Happy Mothers Day

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy Mother’s Day! Hope you’re enjoying your weekend. I’m also not one for cold weather, so hopefully it turns out okay:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🥰 You are very right. The weather did not deter our good time at all and our pride at seeing our baby walk across the stage. ❤️❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Have a wonderful Mother’s Day with your girls and your mom, Tessa. I hope the weather is glorious and you all have fun visiting and at the graduation. Nice haul! And thanks for letting me know about the latest Star Trek series. I’ll probably end up giving it a look. 🙂 Happy Mother’s Day and Happy Reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a wonderful weekend even though the weather was the opposite of glorious. It became just a minor inconvenience. Have a great week!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I hope the weather is cooperating today and that it’s nice and you and your family are enjoying your daughter’s graduation. I also watched Strange New Worlds this week and I really enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to seeing what this series brings to the table.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a compelling throw back to the original, wasn’t it? I was fascinated ❤️. The weather was awful but it didn’t ruin how wonderful the graduation was!

      Like

  11. Happy Mother’s Day and congratulations on your daughter’s graduation. i like the idea of going back to self-contained episodes of Star Trek (and other shows). Too many shows stuck on one theme.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🥰. It was a lovely weekend!

      I really liked going back to the self-contained episodes. I didn’t realize how extensively tv had gotten away from it until experiencing it again.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I sure hope the weather was good for you over the weekend, Tessa. Congratulations to your daughter! Another milestone checked off. I didn’t know about another Star Trek show, so thanks for the heads up.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The weather was horrible but that didn’t detract from the wonderful weekend. It’s such a proud moment when your child walks across the stage. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Zainab Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.