Sunday Post 68 | Hello Spring

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

You know that spring has sprung when the daffodils come out to play!

Monday, I was spoiled rotten for my birthday. I had so much good food that I ended up with a bit of a tummy ache. Lol. I can count on one hand the number of times that has happened to me. My big gift was a large (34”) curved screen for my computer. It’s really big and definitely has that “oh, wow” factor.

The rest of the week was quiet with beautiful weather perfect for walks along the lake ❤️

Bought on Apple Books

St. Martin’s Press offered me a copy of Last Tango in Cyberspace along with book 2, The Devil’s Dictionary, but I decided to buy a copy. That way I can read it quickly before starting book 2 without having to worry about getting enough detail for a review.

It was a new skill… One that might change the world. What could a person do who could track empathy? His friends call him Lion, he is the first of his kind. Some describe it as emotional foresight, but really, he can see cultural trends before they emerge. What he didn’t expect was for Big Pharma to come calling. In 2025, technology has made massive leaps forward. Not every group wants to use it for good. Artic Pharmaceuticals has a new drug and a bad idea. They call on Lion, because he is the key to getting the formula they need. But when he starts to sense their hidden agenda, will they take drastic action? Then Lion discovers a decapitated human head… Is he being hunted? Can he stop a global disaster? You’ll love this edge-of-your seat cyberpunk thriller, because it will keep you turning the pages late into the night.

from NetGalley

Thanks to St. Martin’s Press

New York Times bestselling author Steven Kotler’s follow up to Last Tango in Cyberspace, a near-future thriller about the evolution of empathy in the tradition of William Gibson and Neal Stephenson. Hard to say exactly when the human species fractured. Harder to say when this new talent arrived. But Lion Zorn, protagonist of Last Tango in Cyberspace, is the first of his kind—an empathy tracker, an emotional forecaster, with a felt sense for how culture evolves and the future arrives. It’s also a useful skill in today’s competitive business market. In The Devil’s Dictionary, when a routine em-tracking job goes sideways and em-trackers themselves start disappearing, Lion finds himself not knowing who to trust in a life and death race to uncover the truth. And when the trail leads to the world’s first mega-linkage, a continent-wide national park advertised as the best way to stave off environmental collapse, and exotic animals unlike any on Earth start showing up—Lion’s quest for truth becomes a fight for the survival of the species. Packed with intrigue and heart-pounding action, marked by unforgettable characters and vivid storytelling, filled with science-based brilliance and cult comic touches, The Devil’s Dictionary is Steven Kotler at his thrilling science fiction best.

Thanks to Random House

An epic fantasy ode to martial arts and magic—the story of a spoiled hero, an exacting grandmaster, and an immortal god-king from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lives of Tao It has been foretold: A child will rise to defeat the Eternal Khan, a cruel immortal god-king, and save the kingdom. The hero: Jian, raised since birth in luxury and splendor, celebrated before he has won a single battle. But the prophecy was wrong. Because when Taishi, the greatest war artist of her generation, arrives to evaluate the prophesied hero, she finds a spoiled brat unprepared to face his destiny. But the only force more powerful than fate is Taishi herself. Possessed of an iron will and a sharp tongue—and an unexpectedly soft heart—Taishi will find a way to forge Jian into the weapon and leader he must be in order to fulfill his legend. What follows is a journey more wondrous than any prophecy can foresee: a story of master and student, assassin and revolutionary; of fallen gods and broken prophecies; and of a war between kingdoms, and love and friendship between deadly rivals.
.

All I have to say about the first episode of the 2nd season of Picard is “Wow!” What an incredible beginning. I can’t wait to see where it goes.

And I watched the Duke vs. UNC basketball game last night. Duke’s coach, Coach K, retired last night after 47 years of being the head coach. But, of course, my youngest daughter is a UNC undergrad, so I was cheering for Chapel Hill. Those two teams have a fun rivalry as they both are usually in the NCAA tournament at the end of the season, and the campuses are only 10 miles apart. Each team has a special tradition all the students take part in if they win. For UNC, all the students run to Franklin Street where they create bonfires with old furniture in the blocked off street and continue to celebrate. Duke students burn benches in the main quad that the students make specifically for burning if they beat UNC.

Carolina won 94-81, but I kind of felt bad for Coach K not getting a win for his last game that was attended by Dr. Ken Jeong (who is an alum of both Duke and Carolina) and Jerry Seinfeld (whose children attend Duke). My daughter got to “run on Franklin” though for her last UNC – Duke game as a student. ❤️

  • Monday, February 28: Mini Book Reviews of Listening Still by Anne Griffin (Contemporary) and The One True Me and You by Remi K. England (YA Contemporary) – both 4-stars.
  • Tuesday, March 1: Blog Tour Book Review of The Personal Shopper by Carmen Reid (RomCom/Women’s Fiction – 4.5-stars)
  • Wednesday, March 2: WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday, March 3: Book Review of The Rumor Game by by Dhonielle Claytonand Sona Charaipotra (YA Contemporary)
  • Friday, March 4: Book Blogger Hop
  • Monday, March 7: Mini Book Reviews of Daughter by Kate McLaughlin and Quantum Girl Theory by Erin Kate Ryan (Thrillers)
  • Tuesday, March 8: Blog Tour Book Review of Smile and Look Pretty by Amanda Pelligrino (Contemporary/Domestic Thrillerish)
  • Wednesday, March 9: WWW Wednesday
  • Wednesday, March 9: Blog Tour Book Review of Undercover Princess by Connie Glynn (MG Princess Adventure)
  • Thursday, March 10: Book Review of A Fa Wilder Magic by Allison Saft (YA Fantasy)
  • Friday, March 11: Book Blogger Hop

How was your week – bookish or otherwise?

37 Replies to “Sunday Post 68 | Hello Spring”

  1. So glad you had a great birthday, the food was clearly too good to leave and we all know that dilemma! Those daffodils look gorgeous, spring is definitely here.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Daffodils are the sign that spring is on its way, although they are getting confused with the cold weather in the UK. I’ve run out of episodes of Greys Anatomy, and sky only go up to episode 8 of series 18. I read Evil Intent, and loved it. I don’t get much time to read when I’m at work, so I am using my holidays to catch up.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love seeing the spring flowers, those daffodils are gorgeous. I’ll have to check out Picard, as it looks like a show both me and my husband would enjoy. Have a great week, Tessa

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad you had an awesome birthday, Tessa! It’s crazy that spring is here already. I feel like winter flew. Enjoy your books and Star Trek. My husband is a big Trekkie, but I haven’t watched anything Star Trek in over a decade. Enjoy! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That first episode of the second season of Picard was amazing!!! I’m so excited for this season. It’s going to be so good, I think. I’m glad your birthday was a good one and congrats on the birthday present. It sounds awesome! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Happy Birthday Tessa!! Sorry about the tummy ache, but at least then you know you had a really good time! Wow for the computer screen yes…

    Love all the excitement for spring, here in SA there is a definite bite in the air for autumn around the corner.

    Have a good week and happy reading your new books!

    Elza Reads

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So pleased you were spoilt rotten for your birthday, Tessa 😊 As for my week it was super busy and left me with little to no time to read! Hoping next week is quieter. Take care and happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll be posting that tomorrow. But I’ll just say, I am glad I read it ❤️. Totally get avoiding NetGalley overload. It’s not fun.

      Like

  8. I got my undergrad degree at WVU and we also had a tradition of furniture bonfires after a win, lol. Good times. Glad you had such a wonderful birthday, Tessa!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. If you’ve got to get sick on something, let it be cake! So glad you were spoiled on your b-day💜

    My hubby is a UNC Chapel Hill grad so he was happy with the game outcome, too. I’m a fan of the late Dean Smith so I was rooting for Carolina too.

    Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.