What Am I Reading This Week – March 2, 2022? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading

I ended up DNFing Sundial because there was just too much animal cruelty for me to handle, so that helped me get through my reading week last week a little easier. This week will be about the same and then things will start lightening up again.

I started Daughter yesterday and it is so incredibly compelling. Imagine finding out you’re the daughter of a serial killer and need to go see him so he will give up the locations of the bodies that weren’t found…whoa!

  • Genre: YA Thriller
  • Pages: 334 pages
  • Publisher: Wednesday Books (St. Martin’s Press)
  • Publication Date: March 8, 2022
Kate McLaughlin’s Daughter is a thrilling YA novel about trying to right deadly choices that were never yours to begin with. Scarlet’s life is pretty average. Overly protective mom. Great friends. Cute boy she’s interested in. And a father she’s never known—until she does. When the FBI show up at Scarlet’s door, she is shocked to learn her father is infamous serial killer Jeffrey Robert Lake. And now, he’s dying and will only give the names and locations of his remaining victims to the one person, the daughter he hasn’t seen since she was a baby. Scarlet’s mother has tried to protect her from Lake’s horrifying legacy, but there’s no way they can escape the media firestorm that erupts when they come out of hiding. Or the people who blame Scarlet for her father’s choices. When trying to do the right thing puts her life in danger, Scarlet is faced with a choice—go back into hiding or make the world see her as more than a monster’s daughter.

The Rumor Game was surprisingly serious. I liked it but it did bring out the high school counselor in me, which you will see in my review tomorrow.

  • Genre: YA Contemporary
  • Pages: 502pages
  • Publisher: Disney Hyperion
  • Publication Date: March 1, 2022
All it takes is one spark to start a blaze. At Foxham Prep, a posh private school for the children of DC’s elite, a single rumor has the power to ruin a life. Nobody knows that better than Bryn. She used to have it all—the perfect boyfriend, a bright future in politics, and even popularity thanks to her best friend, cheer captain Cora. Then one mistake sparked a scandal that burned it all to the ground. Now it’s the start of a new school year and the spotlight has shifted: It’s geeky Georgie, newly hot after a summer makeover, whose name is on everyone’s lips. When a rumor ignites, Georgie rockets up the school’s social hierarchy, pitting her and Cora against each other. It grants her Foxham stardom . . . but it also makes her a target. As the rumors grow and morph, blazing like wildfire through the school’s social media, all three girls’ lives begin to unravel. But one person close to the drama has the power to stop the gossip in its tracks. The question is—do they even want to? From Dhonielle Clayton and Sona Charaipotra, authors of the Tiny Pretty Things duology (now a Netflix series), comes another edge-of-your-seat social thriller perfect for fans of We Were Liars and Cruel Summer.

Quantum Girl Theory has such a marvelous premise but it fell a bit short in the execution of that premise for me.

  • Genre: Historical Mystery
  • Pages: 279 pages
  • Publisher: Random House
  • Publication Date: March 8, 2022
Mary Garrett has a gift for finding missing girls, a special kind of clairvoyance she calls “the sight.” Lured by a poster and the promise of a reward, she arrives at a small town in the Jim Crow South to discover that not one but three girls have vanished—two of whom are Black, and whose disappearances have gone uninvestigated outside their own community. She sets out to find them. As it turns out, Mary is herself a “missing girl.” In another life, she was a Bennington College sophomore named Paula Jean Welden, who disappeared one night in 1946. The case captivated the nation’s imagination, triggering front-page headlines, scores of dubious sightings, and a wave of speculation: Who was Paula Jean, really, and why had she disappeared? As Mary’s search for the three missing girls intensifies, so do the glimpses of Paula Jean’s other possible lives: She is a circus showgirl hiding from her past, a literary forger on the verge of being caught, a McCarthy-era informant in love with a woman she meets in a Communist cell. With the signals multiplying, the locals beginning to resent her presence, and threats coming from all sides, Mary wonders whether she can trust anyone—most of all herself. Both a captivating mystery and a powerful thought experiment, Quantum Girl Theory spins out a new way of seeing those who seem to disappear before our eyes.

Smile and Look Pretty and A Far Wilder Magic both sound like a books that I will love. I’m really looking forward to both of them. ❤️

  • Genre: Domestic Thriller (?)/Women’s Fiction
  • Pages: 349 Pages
  • Publisher: Park Row
  • Publication Date: March 8, 2022
What happens when four assistants risk everything to say enough is enough? Best friends Cate, Lauren, Olivia and Max are overworked and underpaid assistants to some of the most powerful people in the entertainment industries. Like the assistants who came before them, the women know they have to pay their dues and abide the demeaning tasks and verbal abuse from their bosses in order to climb the ladders to their dream jobs. But as they are passed over for promotions and the toxic office environments reach a breaking point, the women secretly start an anonymous blog detailing their experiences, which snowballs into hundreds of others coming forward with stories of their own. Confronted with newfound viral fame and the possibility of their identities being revealed, the assistants have to contend with the life-changing consequences of speaking out against those who refuse to share the power.
  • Genre: YA Fantasy
  • Pages: 378 Pages
  • Publisher: Wednesday Books
  • Publication Date: March 8, 2022
When Margaret Welty spots the legendary hala, the last living mythical creature, she knows the Halfmoon Hunt will soon follow. Whoever is able to kill the hala will earn fame and riches, and unlock an ancient magical secret. While Margaret is the best sharpshooter in town, only teams of two can register, and she needs an alchemist. Weston Winters isn’t an alchemist—yet. He’s been fired from every apprenticeship he’s landed, and his last chance hinges on Master Welty taking him in. But when Wes arrives at Welty Manor, he finds only Margaret. She begrudgingly allows him to stay, but on one condition: he must join the hunt with her. Although they make an unlikely team, they soon find themselves drawn to each other. As the hunt looms closer and tensions rise, Margaret and Wes uncover dark magic that could be the key to winning the hunt—if they survive that long. In A Far Wilder Magic, Allison Saft has written an achingly tender love story set against a deadly hunt in an atmospheric, rich fantasy world that will sweep you away.

What are you reading? Do you love it?

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

33 Replies to “What Am I Reading This Week – March 2, 2022? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading”

  1. Thank you for the warning about Sundial.. that was on my reading list. Daughter is one I’m pretty interested in, too, so I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts on it.
    Happy reading, Tessa!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think I recall potentially being interested in Sundial. The title rings a bell. I’ll def be skipping now!
    You’ve got a lot of reading on your plate, but they all look like books you’ll enjoy. I just finished The Club from NetGalley. Mostly good if a little wordy.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Release day was yesterday. I got it at the last minute on a read now option. Good book, but def a bit too wordy. And it’s odd if I say that, LOL!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I found I could only skim past so much and at the 50% mark decided to put it down and write a note to the publisher. I wish I had known before I took it but the description doesn’t give any indication.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I hate animal cruelty and just can’t stand it. Looks like you have some great reads ahead of you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can usually find 3-4 hours each day to read, so that usually translates to 1/2 a book. And I took on too many books. Lol.

      Like

  4. I really feel like they should include a content warning in the description with Sundial. Even with how much I enjoyed the author’s previous book, I wouldn’t have requested Sundial.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too. It is such a big part that there should have been some kind of something so a prospective reader would know. I even heard her talk about it and it didn’t come up then either.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.