What Am I Reading This Week – February 23, 2022? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading

You notice that there are 6 books listed today – a little bit of everything – when normally there is 3 or 4. That is because I have gotten myself into a bit of a pickle stemming from taking on a book I knew I shouldn’t but figured out a way to make it happen and then I just found out I didn’t schedule a book that comes out soon – on an already heavy publication day. Not something I wanted to discover at all! So I will be reading fast and furiously this week and perhaps even listening when my eyes get tired.

I started The One True Me and You by Remi England last night. I’m not far enough in to form an opinion but the early buzz has been excellent.

I also started Undercover Princess by Connie Glenn and am reading it here and there but mostly on the weekends when I get in more focused reading time. It’s cute so far, as I would have expected.

  • Genre: YA Contemporary
  • Pages: 264 pages
  • Publisher: Wednesday Books (St. Martin’s Press)
  • Publication Date: March 1, 2022
One small fandom convention. One teen beauty pageant. One meet cute waiting to happen. Up and coming fanfic author Kaylee Beaumont is internally screaming at the chance to finally meet her fandom friends in real life and spend a weekend at GreatCon. She also has a side quest for the weekend: · Try out they/them pronouns to see how it feels · Wear more masculine-presenting cosplay · Kiss a girl for the first time It’s…a lot, and Kay mostly wants to lie face down on the hotel floor. Especially when her hometown bully, Miss North Carolina, shows up in the very same hotel. But there’s this con-sponsored publishing contest, and the chance to meet her fandom idols…and then, there’s Teagan. Pageant queen Teagan Miller (Miss Virginia) has her eye on the much-needed prize: the $25,000 scholarship awarded to the winner of the Miss Cosmic Teen USA pageant. She also has secrets: · She loves the dresses but hates the tiaras · She’s a giant nerd for everything GreatCon · She’s gay af If Teagan can just keep herself wrapped up tight for one more weekend, she can claim the scholarship and go off to college out and proud. If she’s caught, she could lose everything she’s worked for. If her rival, Miss North Carolina, has anything to do with it, that’s exactly how it’ll go down. When Teagan and Kay bump into one another the first night, sparks fly. Their connection is intense—as is their shared enemy. If they’re spotted, the safe space of the con will be shattered, and all their secrets will follow them home. The risks are great…but could the reward of embracing their true selves be worth it? A big-hearted, joyful romance and a love letter to all things geek, Remi K. England’s The One True Me and You is a *witness me* celebration of standing up for, and being, yourself.
  • Genre: MG Fantasy (Royal Adventure)
  • Pages: 453 pages
  • Publisher: Harper Collins
  • Publication Date: September 4, 2018
Lottie Pumpkin is an ordinary girl who has spent her life longing for the extraordinary. Ellie Wolf is the crown princess of Maradova, who wants nothing more than a chance at an ordinary life. When fate puts Lottie and Ellie in the same dorm room at the prestigious Rosewood Hall, there’s only one solution: for the girls to swap identities, and live the lives they’ve always dreamed of. But at Rosewood, a secret never stays secret for long. Someone in the school is on to them—and if the truth is revealed, the results may be more treacherous than they ever expected. Undercover Princess is the first book in the Rosewood Chronicles series.

I finished The Night Shift days ago and will be posting my review tomorrow. I absolutely loved this book. Such an incredibly well-constructed story. I definitely recommend it ❤️

I finished The Personal Shopper by Carmen Reid yesterday and really enjoyed it, too. It has a twist near the end that blew me away, moved me to tears, and reframed the whole story.

  • Genre: Mystery Thriller
  • Pages: 312 pages
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books (St. Martin’s Press)
  • Publication Date: March 1, 2022
The night was expected to bring tragedy.” So begins one of the most highly-anticipated thrillers in recent years. It’s New Year’s Eve 1999. Y2K is expected to end in chaos: planes falling from the sky, elevators plunging to earth, world markets collapsing. A digital apocalypse. None of that happens. But at a Blockbuster Video in New Jersey, four teenagers working late at the store are attacked. Only one inexplicably survives. Police quickly identify a suspect, the boyfriend of one of the victims, who flees and is never seen again. Fifteen years later, more teenage employees are attacked at an ice cream store in the same town, and again only one makes it out alive. In the aftermath of the latest crime, three lives intersect: the lone survivor of the Blockbuster massacre who’s forced to relive the horrors of her tragedy; the brother of the fugitive accused, who’s convinced the police have the wrong suspect; and FBI agent Sarah Keller who must delve into the secrets of both nights—stirring up memories of teen love and lies—to uncover the truth about murders on the night shift. Twisty, poignant, and redemptive, The Night Shift is a story about the legacy of trauma and how the broken can come out on the other side, and it solidifies Finlay as one of the new leading voices in the world of thrillers.
  • Genre: Rom Com / Women’s Fiction
  • Pages: 356 pages
  • Publisher: Boldwood Books
  • Publication Date: February 24, 2022
Meet Annie Valentine: stylish, savvy, multi-tasker extraordinaire. As a personal shopper in a swanky London store, Annie can be relied on to solve everyone’s problems . . . except her own. Because as a busy single mum to two kids, Annie’s realised there’s a gap in her life as well as her wardrobe. But with her heart still hurting from losing the love of her life, Annie’s discovered that finding the perfect partner is turning out to be so much trickier than finding the perfect pair of shoes! Can she source a genuine classic? A lifelong investment? Or will Annie realise that her perfect man is already sitting on the front row of her life… Fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Paige Toon will love this laugh-out-loud romantic comedy from bestselling author Carmen Reid.

Listening Still by Anne Griffin is the book that somehow slipped past my organizational system. I’m not sure how that happened but I really love the premise. Early reviews have been a mix of 3, 4, and 5’s – so it’s at least ok and at best wonderful.

Sundial by Catriona Ward is one that I had to think long and hard before I accepted the widget. Though I thought her first book, House on Needless Street, was nothing short of brilliant, it was so intense that it took a great deal out of me. I ultimately decided to give Sundial a try.

  • Genre: Women’s Fiction
  • Pages: 349 Pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
  • Publication Date: March 1, 2022
From Anne Griffin, the bestselling author of When All is Said, comes Listening Still, a refreshing new novel about a young woman who can hear the dead—a talent which is both a gift and a curse. Jeanie Masterson has a gift: she can hear the recently dead and give voice to their final wishes and revelations. Inherited from her father, this gift has enabled the family undertakers to flourish in their small Irish town. Yet she has always been uneasy about censoring some of the dead’s last messages to the living. Unsure, too, about the choice she made when she left school seventeen years ago: to stay or leave for a new life in London with her charismatic teenage sweetheart. So when Jeanie’s parents unexpectedly announce their plan to retire, she is jolted out of her limbo. In this captivating successor to her much-lauded debut, When All Is Said, Anne Griffin portrays a young woman who is torn between duty, a comfortable marriage, a calling she both loves and hates and her last chance to break free. Listening Still is a heartachingly honest look at what we give up and what we gain when we choose to follow our heart.
  • Genre: Psychological Thriller / Psychological Horror
  • Pages: 279 Pages
  • Publisher: Tor
  • Publication Date: March 1, 2022
Sundial is a new, twisty psychological horror novel from Catriona Ward, internationally bestselling author of The Last House on Needless Street. You can’t escape what’s in your blood… All Rob wanted was a normal life. She almost got it, too: a husband, two kids, a nice house in the suburbs. But Rob fears for her oldest daughter, Callie, who collects tiny bones and whispers to imaginary friends. Rob sees a darkness in Callie, one that reminds her too much of the family she left behind. She decides to take Callie back to her childhood home, to Sundial, deep in the Mojave Desert. And there she will have to make a terrible choice. Callie is worried about her mother. Rob has begun to look at her strangely, and speaks of past secrets. And Callie fears that only one of them will leave Sundial alive… The mother and daughter embark on a dark, desert journey to the past in the hopes of redeeming their future.

What are you reading? Do you love it?

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

24 Replies to “What Am I Reading This Week – February 23, 2022? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading”

  1. Look forward to finding out your thoughts on Undercover Princess!! Just finished scheduling my post for it!! Hope you managed to get everything read, I too have over committed myself for the next few weeks😂📚!! I’m sure we’ll both get through it! Happy reading!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a lot of reading. I hope the hours are kind to you and you manage to work it all in.
    I’m intrigued by the sound of The Night Shift. I’ve seen Sundial about, but I’m not sure about that one. I’ll be looking forward to your reviews for both!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m using a new app (to me) for NetGalley books that has the ability to read the book to you. I might have to take advantage of that. The Night Shift is excellent! And, I’m not to sure about Sundial either but I guess I will see.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Best of luck to you and your fast and furious reading! I know you can do it. Personal Shopper sure looks good, I like Carmen Reid’s writing. And Undercover Princess just sounds adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will be posting a review soon. The Write Reads is doing a blog tour with the 1st and 5th books in that series. ❤️

      Like

  4. I’ve overstretched myself in the past – and for me it destroys my reading mojo. I hope you get through all of these in time!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I discovered there was a book I missed on my NG shelf that was released early in January and archived in February. It wasn’t on my schedule at all, even though I counted more than once and checked the list on NG several times. I’d think it was one they’d changed the pub date on, but it wasn’t on my list for any months at all. Guess it will remain a mystery. Looks like it’s crunch time for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great list, I am reading Evil Intent by Jane Isaacs, and I am enjoying reading this book on her female detective Helen Lavery. Old characters and new, and I still don’t know who to trust in the story.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.