What Am I Reading This Week – February 16, 2022? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading

I was afraid that The Trap by Evie Hunter might be a slow-burn thriller, but I don’t think it’s going to be. I’m about 20% in and things have already started rolling. I love the sound of the premise and am anxiously awaiting the setting of the trap.

  • Genre: Domestic Thriller
  • Pages: 265 pages
  • Publisher: Boldwood Books
  • Publication Date: February 22, 2022
Brand new from the bestselling author of The Fall. Callie Devereux has it all – a successful career, a beautiful home and an attentive, loving partner. Until one day, she wakes up to discover that the man she thought she loved has taken everything from her, leaving her penniless. Desperate to get answers, Callie goes after the man she once trusted and discovers a world built on secrets and lies… Jack Carlisle has never heard of the man Callie Devereaux claims to have once loved, but he has a good idea who it is – his business partner and old friend, Logan Armitage. Jack can’t believe Logan would steal, but as he helps Callie to find his old friend, Jack discovers money missing too… But with Logan missing without trace, there is only option left to catch this thief – to set a trap. A gripping revenge thriller, perfect for fans of Gemma Rogers!

I love the title – The Paradox Hotel – because it brings up so many possibilities as to what that means. And, the premise is very cool. Reading it, though, started off very immersive and compelling and then became a bit confusing with all the back and forth in the timeline, foreign concepts you have to wrap your head around, and a preponderance of characters. Overall, a very interesting read – I just have some things that I wish were different.

  • Genre: SciFy (Time Travel) and Mystery/Thriller plus LGBTQ+
  • Pages: 321 pages
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books (Random House)
  • Publication Date: February 22, 2022
An impossible crime. A detective on the edge of madness. The future of time travel at stake. From the author of The Warehouse . . . “An engrossing and thought-provoking sci-fi mystery that is also an achingly beautiful meditation on grief and the pain of lost love.”—S. A. Cosby, New York Times bestselling author of Razorblade Tears. ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2022—CrimeReads. January Cole’s job just got a whole lot harder. Not that running security at the Paradox was ever really easy. Nothing’s simple at a hotel where the ultra-wealthy tourists arrive costumed for a dozen different time periods, all eagerly waiting to catch their “flights” to the past. Or where proximity to the timeport makes the clocks run backward on occasion—and, rumor has it, allows ghosts to stroll the halls. None of that compares to the corpse in room 526. The one that seems to be both there and not there. The one that somehow only January can see. On top of that, some very important new guests have just checked in. Because the U.S. government is about to privatize time-travel technology—and the world’s most powerful people are on hand to stake their claims. January is sure the timing isn’t a coincidence. Neither are those “accidents” that start stalking their bidders. There’s a reason January can glimpse what others can’t. A reason why she’s the only one who can catch a killer who’s operating invisibly and in plain sight, all at once. But her ability is also destroying her grip on reality—and as her past, present, and future collide, she finds herself confronting not just the hotel’s dark secrets but her own. At once a dazzlingly time-twisting murder mystery and a story about grief, memory, and what it means to—literally—come face-to-face with our ghosts, The Paradox Hotel is another unforgettable speculative thrill ride from acclaimed author Rob Hart.

I have heard good things about Edgewood by Kristen Cicarelli. And, after 311 reviews on Goodreads, it still has over 4 stars in average ratings – so that is always a good sign. I will be starting it tomorrow and I can’t wait. Also, that cover – isn’t it absolutely gorgeous?!?

  • Genre: Dark Fantasy (YA)
  • Pages: 398 Pages
  • Publisher: Wednesdays Books (St. Martins Press)
  • Publication Date: March 1, 2022
“Edgewood has everything I love in a Kristen Ciccarelli book: lyrical prose, a romance that will hurt, and themes rooted in raw and intimate questions, making for a timeless tale.” – Joan He, New York Times bestselling author of The Ones We’re Meant to Find. Can love survive the dark? No matter how far she runs, the forest of Edgewood always comes for Emeline Lark. The scent of damp earth curls into her nose when she sings and moss creeps across the stage. It’s as if the woods of her childhood, shrouded in folklore and tall tales, are trying to reclaim her. But Emeline has no patience for silly superstitions. When her grandfather disappears, leaving only a mysterious orb in his wake, the stories Emeline has always scoffed at suddenly seem less foolish. She enters the forest she has spent years trying to escape, only to have Hawthorne Fell, a handsome and brooding tithe collector, try to dissuade her from searching. Refusing to be deterred, Emeline finds herself drawn to the court of the fabled Wood King himself. She makes a deal—her voice for her grandfather’s freedom. Little does she know, she’s stumbled into the middle of a curse much bigger than herself, one that threatens the existence of this eerie world she’s trapped in, along with the devastating boy who feels so familiar. With the help of Hawthorne—an enemy turned reluctant ally who she grows closer to each day—Emeline sets out to not only save her grandfather’s life, but to right past wrongs, and in the process, discover her true voice. Haunting and romantic, Kristen Ciccarelli’s Edgewood is an exciting novel from a bold, unforgettable voice in fantasy. “Darkly gorgeous and moving, Edgewood is full of curses and fae magic that will capture your heart and wrap it in thorns before setting you free again, forever changed. I devoured Edgewood whole and couldn’t put it down.” – Evelyn Skye, New York Times bestselling author of The Crown’s Game.

What are you reading? Do you love it?

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

32 Replies to “What Am I Reading This Week – February 16, 2022? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading”

    1. The Trap is moving along at a pretty good clip. I’m still waiting for the actual trap to be set. It sounds like a fun premise to me. ❤️

      Like

  1. I loved the ending for Paradox Hotel – seemed totally appropriate. I just started One for All, a gender-bent retelling of The Three Musketeers. It’s got a spunky MC, and I’m really liking it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmm. I’m intrigued by all three, especially The Paradox Hotel. I’ll be looking for your reviews on these. My TBR is overflowing and I have books on hold with my library plus requests with Net Galley, but hey—why not add more to the mountain, right? LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Edgewood sounds really good to me, also. I’ll be looking forward to your review!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Paradox Hotel looks interesting!! Have added to an already long list of books to check out!! 😉🙈

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The Trap is next up on my kindle to read, so I hope it definitely is a winner! And yes, the cover of Edgewood is stunning.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I went to an author meet and greet last night. Nicky Peacock, author of Little Bones, runs a writing group I go to. I have read her book and it is brilliant. The two other authors there were Jane Isaac and Sue Moorcroft. I have brought Jane Isaac’s latest story, and ordered Sue Moorcroft’s today. I had such a great time last night, and it was amazing to see authors who have made a success out of writing.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.