What Am I Reading This Week – January 5, 2022? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading

I can’t wait to start How to Love Your Neighbor today. I’ve been looking for a romcom, so hopefully this one will scratch that itch. I enjoyed the author’s first book Ten Rules for Faking it, so I kind of expect to at least like this one too.

  • Genre: Rom Com
  • Pages: 352 pages
  • Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
  • Publication Date: January 18, 2022
Enemies-to-lovers meets HGTV in this frothy, effervescent romantic comedy from Sophie Sullivan, author of Ten Rules for Faking It. Interior Design School? Check. Cute house to fix up? Check. Sexy, grumpy neighbor who is going to get in the way of your plans? Check. Unfortunately. Grace Travis has it all figured out. In between finishing school and working a million odd jobs, she’ll get her degree and her dream job. Most importantly, she’ll have a place to belong, something her harsh mother could never make. When an opportunity to fix up—and live in—a little house on the beach comes along, Grace is all in. Until her biggest roadblock moves in next door. Noah Jansen knows how to make a deal. As a real estate developer, he knows when he’s found something special. Something he could even call home. Provided he can expand by taking over the house next door–the house with the combative and beautiful woman living in it. With the rules for being neighborly going out the window, Grace and Noah are in an all-out feud. But sometimes, your nemesis can show you that home is always where the heart is.

Wow, I really loved the writing of Anatomy: a love story. It is intriguing, fascinating, and many other similar words. The mystery doesn’t pick up steam until about the 50% mark but the first half is mostly a story about a woman trying to make a place in the medical world for women in the early 1800’s. And there is lots fascinating about that – trust me.

  • Genre: Gothic Mystery (YA)
  • Pages: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Wednesday Books (St. Martin’s Press)
  • Publication Date: January 18, 2022
Dana Schwartz’s Anatomy: A Love Story is a gothic tale full of mystery and romance. Hazel Sinnett is a lady who wants to be a surgeon more than she wants to marry. Jack Currer is a resurrection man who’s just trying to survive in a city where it’s too easy to die. When the two of them have a chance encounter outside the Edinburgh Anatomist’s Society, Hazel thinks nothing of it at first. But after she gets kicked out of renowned surgeon Dr. Beecham’s lectures for being the wrong gender, she realizes that her new acquaintance might be more helpful than she first thought. Because Hazel has made a deal with Dr. Beecham: if she can pass the medical examination on her own, Beecham will allow her to continue her medical career. Without official lessons, though, Hazel will need more than just her books—she’ll need corpses to study. Lucky that she’s made the acquaintance of someone who digs them up for a living. But Jack has his own problems: strange men have been seen skulking around cemeteries, his friends are disappearing off the streets, and the dreaded Roman Fever, which wiped out thousands a few years ago, is back with a vengeance. Nobody important cares—until Hazel. Now, Hazel and Jack must work together to uncover the secrets buried not just in unmarked graves, but in the very heart of Edinburgh society.

I think The Appeal sounds like it has a great deal of potential. I love the authors the blurb references. Early reviews are many and largely 4s and 5s, so I definitely have high hopes.

  • Genre: Mystery/Thriller
  • Pages: 432 Pages
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publication Date: January 25, 2022
Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this “dazzlingly clever” (The Sunday Times) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child—but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect. The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play’s star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their fellow castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival. But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment’s efficacy—nor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material—emails, messages, letters—with a growing suspicion that a killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered. A wholly modern take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a “daring…clever, and funny” (The Times) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley.

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

19 Replies to “What Am I Reading This Week – January 5, 2022? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading”

  1. Teri Polen’s review of Anatomy posted yesterday, and she really liked it, too. Between these two recommendations and that compelling cover, I’m definitely intrigued. Thanks, Tessa.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a wonderful story packed full of fascinating aspects of Victorian England that, even without the mystery, were extremely compelling.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Although I don’t usually read YA, Anatomy really appeals to me. When I saw Teri Polen’s review yesterday I didn’t realize it was YA, until I looked it up on Amazon. A candidate for my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Lady Tessa Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.