What Am I Reading This Week – December 15, 2021? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading

I’m very curious about The House Fire. I’ll be starting it today and am looking forward to delving in. I’m a bit concerned that some people have found it too slow and we all know I don’t do well with slow stories. But we will see.

  • Genre: Domestic Thriller
  • Pages: 343 pgs.
  • Publisher: One More Chapter (Harper Collins)
  • Publication Date: January 6, 2022
Play with fire and you’ll get burned . . . Who can you trust in this brand new edge-of-your-seat thriller? A tired old seaside town hiding a series of unsolved arson attacks. A derelict mansion in the woods with a long-buried secret. A bundle of old love letters that mask a dark story. When Jamie’s documentary investigation gets too close to uncovering the truth behind a series of deadly arson attacks that tormented Abbeywick in the 1980s, her family might be the ones who pay the price. But for her younger sister Cleo, the secrets Jamie uncovers have the potential to get exactly what Cleo wants: to remove her mum’s toxic new husband from their lives, forever. All it takes is one spark to send everything up in smoke . . .

My life took an unexpected turn last Friday, so I took longer than usual to finish The Perfect Escape. That extra time needed is no reflection on the story, though, as I did enjoy it.

  • Genre: Psychological Thriller
  • Pages: 384 pgs
  • Publisher: Putnam (Penguin Group)
  • Publication Date: January 4, 2022
The perfect girls’ weekend turns deadly in this twisty unforgettable thriller that is perfect for fans of Shari Lapena and Riley Sager. A girls’ weekend to die for. New friends Sam, Margaret and Diana are thrilled to be getting out of the city for a girls’ weekend—they’ve bonded over their messy divorces, and every mile on the odometer feels like another step towards putting their exes in the past. But when car trouble halfway into their trip strands them in the most unlikely of mountain towns, they come face-to-face with the hurts and betrayals they were so desperate to leave behind. When Diana doesn’t return home after a night out, Sam and Margaret’s search for her reveals just how little they know about their friend. As eerie coincidences and secrets begin to pile up, and an ex-boyfriend arrives in the tiny town, the women realize that their detour may not have been a mistake…and that someone wants to guarantee that they never make it out.

I love the cover and the premise, so the only thing left to discover is whether or not I love the story of Reckless Girls. The reviews have been largely favorable so I am definitely hopeful.

  • Genre: Psychological Thriller
  • Pages: 284 pgs
  • Publisher: St. Martins Press
  • Publication Date: January 4, 2022
From Rachel Hawkins, the New York Times bestselling author of The Wife Upstairs, comes Reckless Girls, a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set on an isolated Pacific island with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware. ONE ISLAND Beautiful, wild, and strange—Meroe Island is a desolate spot in the middle of the Pacific Ocean with a mysterious history of shipwrecks, cannibalism, and even rumors of murder. It’s the perfect destination for the most adventurous traveler to escape everything… except the truth. SIX VISITORS Six stunning twentysomethings are about to embark on a blissful, free-spirited journey—one filled with sun-drenched days and intoxicating nights. But as it becomes clear that the group is even more cut off from civilization than they initially thought, it starts to feel like the island itself is closing in, sending them on a dangerous spiral of discovery. COUNTLESS SECRETS When one person goes missing and another turns up dead, the remaining friends wonder what dark currents lie beneath this impenetrable paradise—and who else will be swept under its secluded chaos. With its island gothic sensibility, sexy suspense, and spine-tingling reimagining of an Agatha Christie classic, Reckless Girls will wreck you.

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

29 Replies to “What Am I Reading This Week – December 15, 2021? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading”

  1. I’m so conflicted about reading Reckless Girls! It’s sounds so intriguing, but I think the cover is throwing me off a little and I keep expecting it to be fun, until murder is mentioned. I’ll be looking forward to your review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My father-in-law passed away unexpectedly and suddenly. It’s been tough on my husband and especially my mother-in-law but we are pulling together and processing through it. Thank you for asking, Hayley 🤗

      Like

  2. I really enjoyed Reckless Girls and can’t wait to see what you think of it.
    I’m also looking forward to your review for The Perfect Escape because that one is on my read list. And dang, if The House Fire doesn’t sound awesome too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooo…I’m glad you reminded me Mae. I forgot you had read it. I’m sure I’ll love it then. I’ve been very lucky with the thrillers this month.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. All thrillers, good for you Tessa. I will definitely get back into reading thrillers in the new year. I have Reckless Girls ready to go on my trip down to Florida as I got an ARC of the audiobook. I hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We were just talking about Reckless Girls at my book club Tuesday night. One member is a die-hard Hawkins fan and has had this book on preorder for months. Hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.