What Am I Reading This Week – December 8, 2021? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading

I’ve been looking forward to The Sorority Murder for months. and finally I’m starting it today. I love Allison Brennan stories so I expect to love this one as well.

  • Genre: Domestic Thriller
  • Pages: 407 pgs.
  • Publisher: MIRA (Harlequin Trade)
  • Publication Date: January 4, 2022
A popular sorority girl. An unsolved murder. A campus podcast with chilling repercussions. Lucas Vega is obsessed with the death of Candace Swain, who left a sorority party one night and never came back. Her body was found after two weeks, but the case has grown cold. Three years later while interning at the medical examiner’s, Lucas discovers new information, but the police are not interested. Lucas knows he has several credible pieces of the puzzle. He just isn’t sure how they fit together. So he creates a podcast to revisit Candace’s last hours. Then he encourages listeners to crowdsource what they remember and invites guest lecturer Regan Merritt, a former US marshal, to come on and share her expertise. New tips come in that convince Lucas and Regan they are onto something. Then shockingly one of the podcast callers turns up dead. Another hints at Candace’s secret life, a much darker picture than Lucas imagined—and one that implicates other sorority sisters. Regan uses her own resources to bolster their theory and learns that Lucas is hiding his own secret. The pressure is on to solve the murder, but first Lucas must come clean about his real motives in pursuing this podcast—before the killer silences him forever.

I just finished When I Get the Chance yesterday, and I must say, I was unexpectedly touched and impressed by this story. It stands so many conventions on their ear and I like that 🙂

  • Genre: YA RomCom
  • Pages: 320 pgs
  • Publisher: Wednesday Books (St. Martins Press)
  • Publication Date: January 4, 2022
A bighearted novel about falling in love, making a mess, and learning to let go, When You Get the Chance is the next effervescent novel from Emma Lord, New York Times bestselling author of the Reese Witherspoon YA Book Club pick You Have a Match. Nothing will get in the way of Millie Price’s dream of becoming a Broadway star. Not her lovable but super introverted dad, who raised Millie alone since she was a baby. Not her drama club rival, Oliver, who is the very definition of Simmering Romantic Tension. And not her “Millie Moods,” the feelings of intense emotion that threaten to overwhelm. Millie needs an ally. And when an accidentally left-open browser brings Millie to her dad’s embarrassingly moody LiveJournal from 2003, Millie knows just what to do—find her mom. But how can you find a new part of your life and expect it to fit into your old one without leaving any marks? And why is it that when you go looking for the past, it somehow keeps bringing you back to what you’ve had all along? “Chock-full of musical theater references and humor, the novel includes high-stakes emotional drama that is balanced by supportive friendships and strong, deep family connections…An entertaining personal journey with plot twists galore.” – Kirkus Reviews

I’ve loved The Perfect Escape’s cover ever since I first saw it and this is another thriller I’ve been itching to sink my teeth into.

  • Genre: Psychological Thriller
  • Pages: 384 pgs
  • Publisher: Putnam (Penguin Group)
  • Publication Date: January 4, 2022
The perfect girls’ weekend turns deadly in this twisty unforgettable thriller that is perfect for fans of Shari Lapena and Riley Sager. A girls’ weekend to die for. New friends Sam, Margaret and Diana are thrilled to be getting out of the city for a girls’ weekend—they’ve bonded over their messy divorces, and every mile on the odometer feels like another step towards putting their exes in the past. But when car trouble halfway into their trip strands them in the most unlikely of mountain towns, they come face-to-face with the hurts and betrayals they were so desperate to leave behind. When Diana doesn’t return home after a night out, Sam and Margaret’s search for her reveals just how little they know about their friend. As eerie coincidences and secrets begin to pile up, and an ex-boyfriend arrives in the tiny town, the women realize that their detour may not have been a mistake…and that someone wants to guarantee that they never make it out.

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

16 Replies to “What Am I Reading This Week – December 8, 2021? #WWWWednesday #amreading #CurrentlyReading”

    1. It is really good. At first I wasn’t so sure but as it went along I found that the main character had charmed me like she does the characters in the story. Excellent choice for your 2022 TBR. ❤️

      Like

  1. When You Get the Chance sounds really good! I haven’t read a book by that author before but you have definitely added this one to my tbr 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the sound of The Sorority Murder and especially The Perfect Escape. I’ve had that one on my NG request list, but I don’t think it’s going to come through. I’m sure I’ll be buying it when it’s released!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A little trick to sort of push approvals is my putting a review in for another book. I don’t know this for certain, but it seems like WP contacts the person in charge of the books you have waiting starting with your most recent request when you do that. 🤷‍♀️

      Like

  3. I also have The Sorority Murder to read Tessa, so I will watch for you review. I hope you are enjoying it.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.