Sunday Post 52 | The Holidays Are Coming Up So Fast

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

My week started with my sweet Theo giving me the winky eye, which of course, meant a trip to the vet. And ended with us waiting and waiting for the deck boards that never came. So much for marveling at the speedy delivery time when compared to the washing machine. Theo is doing great, though. He just had a touch of viral conjunctivitis that was quickly taken care of with an ointment.

I’m starting to realize how fast the holidays are approaching, and I’ve got so much to do to get ready. Delivery times are supposed to be longer than average, and prices are rapidly rising. Even regular groceries are significantly higher than usual. I just keep reminding myself to take deep breaths.

How did I get 5 books from NetGalley when my request shelf is empty? That’s a puzzle I live with daily.

from NetGalley

A breakneck procedural that is beautifully written and masterfully crafted, Erin Young’s The Fields is a dynamite debut—crime fiction at its very finest. Some things don’t stay buried. It starts with a body—a young woman found dead in an Iowa cornfield, on one of the few family farms still managing to compete with the giants of Big Agriculture. When Sergeant Riley Fisher, newly promoted to head of investigations for the Black Hawk County Sheriff’s Office, arrives on the scene, an already horrific crime becomes personal when she discovers the victim was a childhood friend, connected to a dark past she thought she’d left behind. The investigation grows complicated as more victims are found. Drawn deeper in, Riley soon discovers implications far beyond her Midwest town.
Bridgerton meets Gossip Girl with a dash of Jane Austen, in Reputation, a Regency-era historical romantic comedy with a deliciously feminist twist, from a hilarious new British voice, Lex Croucher. Abandoned by her parents, bookish and sheltered Georgiana Ellers is spending the summer with her stodgy aunt and uncle at their home in the English countryside. At a particularly dull party, she meets the enigmatic Frances Campbell, a wealthy member of the in-crowd who delights Georgiana with her disregard for so-called “polite society.” Lonely and vulnerable, Georgiana quickly falls in with Frances and her wealthy, wild, and deeply improper friends, who introduce her to the upper echelons of Regency aristocracy, and a world of drunken debauchery, frivolous spending, and mysterious young men. One, in particular, stands out from the rest: Thomas Hawksley, who has a tendency to cross paths with Georgiana in her most embarrassing moments. Sparks fly, but Thomas seems unimpressed with the company she is keeping. And soon, Georgiana begins to wonder whether she’ll ever feel like she fits in––or if the price of entry into Frances’s gilded world will ultimately be higher than she is willing to pay. Set against a backdrop of lavish parties, handsome men on horseback––and in a time when one’s reputation was everything––this edgy, hilarious romantic comedy explores sex, consent, belonging, and status through the eyes of an unforgettable heroine that Austen herself would have cheered for.
From Anne Griffin, the bestselling author of When All is Said, comes Listening Still, a refreshing new novel about a young woman who can hear the dead—a talent which is both a gift and a curse. Jeanie Masterson has a gift: she can hear the recently dead and give voice to their final wishes and revelations. Inherited from her father, this gift has enabled the family undertakers to flourish in their small Irish town. Yet she has always been uneasy about censoring some of the dead’s last messages to the living. Unsure, too, about the choice she made when she left school seventeen years ago: to stay or leave for a new life in London with her charismatic teenage sweetheart. So when Jeanie’s parents unexpectedly announce their plan to retire, she is jolted out of her limbo. In this captivating successor to her much-lauded debut, When All Is Said, Anne Griffin portrays a young woman who is torn between duty, a comfortable marriage, a calling she both loves and hates and her last chance to break free. Listening Still is a heartachingly honest look at what we give up and what we gain when we choose to follow our heart.
Sandy Gingras’s Paradise Girls features a broken engagement. A ruined vacation in paradise. One adorable little girl. The perfect recipe for the chance of a lifetime…
A delight for readers of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, this blockbuster debut set in 1960s California features the singular voice of Elizabeth Zott, a scientist whose career takes a detour when she becomes the star of a beloved TV cooking show. Chemist Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact, Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing as an average woman. But it’s the early 1960s and her all-male team at Hastings Research Institute takes a very unscientific view of equality. Except for one: Calvin Evans; the lonely, brilliant, Nobel–prize nominated grudge-holder who falls in love with—of all things—her mind. True chemistry results. But like science, life is unpredictable. Which is why a few years later Elizabeth Zott finds herself not only a single mother, but the reluctant star of America’s most beloved cooking show Supper at Six. Elizabeth’s unusual approach to cooking (“combine one tablespoon acetic acid with a pinch of sodium chloride”) proves revolutionary. But as her following grows, not everyone is happy. Because as it turns out, Elizabeth Zott isn’t just teaching women to cook. She’s daring them to change the status quo. Laugh-out-loud funny, shrewdly observant, and studded with a dazzling cast of supporting characters, Lessons in Chemistry is as original and vibrant as its protagonist.

It was Disney+’s 2nd anniversary on Friday, and they filled up with lots of new stuff to watch. So I did just that. I watched Shang-Chi for the second time and also tried the newest Home Alone movie and Jungle Cruise. It was funny that they used the same dumb jokes in Jungle Cruise the movie as they do on the ride.

  • Tuesday, November 9: Dreams Lie Beneath by Rebecca Ross ☀️ ☀️ ☀️☀️ ☀️ (YA Fantasy) – Book Review
  • Wednesday, November 10: WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday, November 11: Return of the Pharaoh by Nicholas Meyer ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ (Mystery/Thriller)
  • Friday, November 12: Book Blogger Hop
  • Monday, November 15: Cranberry Inn by Barbara Josselsohn ☀️ ☀️ ☀️☀️ ☀️ (Holiday Fiction) – Book Review
  • Tuesday, November 16: You’ve Reached Sam by Dustin Thao ☀️ ☀️ ☀️.5 (YA Contemporary) – Book Review
  • Wednesday, November 17: WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday, November 18: A Cornish Christmas Murder by Fiona Leitch ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ (Holiday Mystery)
  • Friday, November 19: Book Blogger Hop

How was your week – bookish or otherwise?

26 Replies to “Sunday Post 52 | The Holidays Are Coming Up So Fast”

  1. The Fields does look amazing! And I get nervous every time my cat gets something in his eye, but so far he’s always been able to deal with it himself! I can’t even fathom how close the holidays are, there is always so much planning involved! Dingers crossed it all goes off smoothly and that you have a great week ahead 🙂
    Juli @ A Universe in Words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait to delve into The Fields. It is not a book that I could pass up. Hope your week is a good one too!

      Like

  2. Bummer about those deck boards.

    Love your book selection this week! I have The Fields, too, and really like the descriptions for all of the rest!!! You done good😏

    I’m going to begin the second season of The Morning Show today. I’ve put it off until I had time to devote to it because I ended up binging the first season over a year ago.

    Have a great week, Tessa💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought they all had a unique twist that definitely caught my attention. I hope we both enjoy The Fields. I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to read it. ❤️

      Like

    1. I’m mostly worried about the things I have to order to come to me and then send back out to family. That timing is always challenging. Have a great week!

      Like

  3. Every time I turn around I seem to have another arc book on my kindle, Netgalley really is the best and worst site to visit. Glad to hear Theo is on the mend. Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Haha, that is why I’ve never signed up to Netgalley. I’m afraid it’s like a big black hole, which you’ll never get out of! 😆 The Fields does sound good though. How did it go with your washing machine btw, did you manage to replace the old one? Amazing how much we have come to rely on these conveniences.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have my new washer and I’m very happy with it. The only funny thing is that my dryer is black and if I wanted a black washer I’d have to wait until spring 😳 So, I went with a stainless steel washer with a black lid. I didn’t like the matching dryer though. I like the one I have. Which means I have a mismatched set now. Which is unusual but really – who sees your washer and dryer to notice?

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The Fields sounds like a good one, Tessa. My kindle is absolutely bulging though! And you’re right about the holidays fast approaching. I always feel like I’m facing a tsunami at this time of year. I pretend it’s not roaring my way and then doggie-paddle like crazy. Ha ha. Take deep breaths!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It has such a unique setting – at least for me. I’ve never read a rom-com set in that era. Hope we both enjoy it too ❤️

      Like

  6. Sorry about the deck boards, but sure glad Theo is okayl I just found out over the weekend that Shang-Chi and Jungle Cruise are on Disney+. We’ll probably watch Jungle Cruise tonight, but Shang-Chi will be on my own. Hubby isn’t a big Marvel nerd like I am, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Teri Polen Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.