What Are You Reading This Week – October 27, 2021? #WWWWednesday #CurrentlyReading

I’m starting Flora’s Traveling Christmas Shop later today. I’m hoping for a light and fluffy Christmas spirit-filled story after the book I just finished. The last few books I read covered some pretty tough subjects, so 🤞that I get to break up the heaviness with a little fluffy goodness.

  • Genre: Holiday Fiction
  • Pages: 320 pgs
  • Publisher: HQ (Harper Collins)
  • Publication Date: October 28, 2022
Tis the season for mulled wine, mince pies, and magic under the mistletoe… Flora loves Christmas more than anything else in the world, so she’s gutted when her Scrooge-alike boss fires her from Deck the Halls Christmas emporium. But now she finally has a chance to follow her dreams – and what better place to start than the home of Christmas? Before she can say ‘sleigh bells’, Flora’s on her way to Lapland in a campervan-cum-Christmas-shop. She can’t wait to spend her days drinking hot chocolate and taking reindeer-drawn carriage rides, but something Flora didn’t expect was meeting Connor, a Norse god of a man who makes her heart flutter and snowflakes swirl in her stomach. There’s just one problem: Connor hates Christmas. Can Flora convince Connor of the joys of Christmas – and will she find a festive romance along the way?

Under the Mistletoe was a surprisingly deep and serious story covering everything from Agoraphobia to sexual assault to bullying and potential child abuse. I don’t think the cover screams a deeply serious story but that’s what it is.

  • Genre: Holiday Fiction
  • Pages: 370 pgs.
  • Publisher: Avon
  • Publication Date: October 28, 2021
Christmas. A time for family, friends – and rekindling old flames… When Laurel returns to the village of Middledip, she’s looking for a quiet life. Adjusting to her recent divorce, she’s ready to spend some time getting back on her feet amidst the glorious snow-dusted countryside. Yet, life in Middledip is far from straightforward. Coming to the aid of her sister, Rea, as she navigates her own troubles, Laurel barely has a moment to think about where her own life is going. However, time stands still when she sees her old flame, Grady Cassidy – and it’s soon as if they’ve never been apart. But through her happiness, Laurel remembers why she left the village all those years ago, as she recalls a dark night and Grady’s once-wayward brother, Mac… Can Laurel learn to forgive and forget? Or will her chances of Christmas under the mistletoe with Grady remain a dream?

I’m looking forward to Dreams Lie Beneath. I’ve been trying to remember how I came about having it, but I have no idea. Still, I think it looks like a really good fantasy story.

  • Genre: YA Fantasy
  • Pages: 492 pgs
  • Publisher: Quill TreeBooks (Harper Collins)
  • Publication Date: November 2, 2021
From Rebecca Ross, acclaimed author of The Queen’s Rising duology, comes a story about magic, vengeance, and the captivating power of dreams. A must-read for fans of The Hazel Wood and The Night Circus. The realm of Azenor has spent years plagued by a curse. Every new moon, magic flows from the nearby mountain and brings nightmares to life. Only magicians—who serve as territory wardens—stand between people and their worst dreams. Clementine Madigan is ready to take over as the warden of her small town, but when two magicians arrive to challenge her, she is unknowingly drawn into a century-old conflict. She seeks revenge, but as she gets closer to Phelan, one of the handsome young magicians, secrets—as well as romance—begins to rise. To fight the realm’s curse, which seems to be haunting her every turn, Clementine must unite with her rival. But will their efforts be enough to save Azenor from the nightmares that lurk around every corner?

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

34 Replies to “What Are You Reading This Week – October 27, 2021? #WWWWednesday #CurrentlyReading”

    1. I definitely needed some Christmas stories this year. With everything still going on, I find that my attitude has been getting very Scroogish. Hopefully, being reminded of the Christmas spirit will counteract that 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I never really read christmas books, but I should definitely add some light ones to my tbr! Dreams Lie Beneath sounds really intriguing, hope you enjoy! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You jumped from scary to snowy, which makes me wonder: are there many Thanksgiving-themed books out there? I always wonder if there are any Thanksgiving movies, and my first thought is, “Of course! Son in Law!” but that’s the only one I can think of.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve seen cozie mysteries that are Thanksgiving themed but I think that’s it. Some books and movies cover both holidays but I can’t think of any that are just Thanksgiving. So, I looked it up and Good Housekeeping just published an article listing movies, https://www.goodhousekeeping.com/holidays/thanksgiving-ideas/g2917/thanksgiving-movies/#:~:text=30%20Best%20Thanksgiving%20Movies%20to%20Watch%20After%20Your,34th%20Street%20%281947%29%205%20Babes%20in%20Toyland%20%281934%29

      Like

  3. I’m like you. After so many heavy reads in a row, it’s nice to take a break with something light and fluffy, I still have the last Christmas book you read waiting on my Kindle and am looking forward to it.

    Right now I’m reading Murder in the Haunted Chamber. It’s a mystery set in the early 20th Century, a time period I love!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I felt the same way about Under the Mistletoe. It was anything but light and fluffy! But, a good book, just not what you think you’re going to get by the title and cover.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the cover of Dreams Lie Beneath. I hope it turns out to be a good one. And I agree about the cover of Under the Mistletoe – it looks like the cover of a rom-com, not something with serious themes. Happy Reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I wouldn’t mind a light-hearted Christmas read right now. You’re right – that cover sure doesn’t scream such serious topics inside.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.