Sunday Post 49 | Fall Break

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

It’s been a nice week. My youngest daughter has Fall Break, so she’s been home since Wednesday. You all know that I’m always happiest when my girls are home – one or both. I’m not picky. ❤️. Her cat, Ollie, came with her. Theo is happy to have a playmate but Josie is not amused. Lots of hissing and grumbling from her direction. 🙀

I noticed that the leaves are just beginning to change colors. I always love when they are at peak, so I’m looking forward to that happening very soon. And we brought the fig and lemon trees inside until spring. My poor lemon on the lemon tree still is not yellow. Apparently it takes a while before it ripens. I feel like it’s been all summer.

Fingers-crossed that my new washing machine is delivered Monday and all goes well with that.

A smaller book haul this week but that’s good. I was offered the audio book of one I already had the ebook ARC for – The Woman on the Pier – so I decided to take it and try listening while I read it – sort of like having the book read to me while I follow along. I might not lose focus on the audio that way!

from NetGalley

Thriller
When a woman disappears with her two children, one husband will do anything to find them–even confront the secrets of his own past–in D. J. Palmer’s My Wife Is Missing, a twisty thriller from the author of The New Husband…
Fantasy
Sworn by Oath Kagen Vale is the trusted and feared captain of the place guard, charged with protection the royal children of the Silver Empire. But one night, Kagen is drugged and the entire imperial family is killed, leaving the empire in ruins. Abandoned by the Gods Haunted and broken, Kagen is abandoned by his gods and damned forever. He becomes a wanderer, trying to take down as many of this enemies as possible while plotting to assassinate the usurper–the deadly Witch-king of Hakkia. While all around him magic–long banished from the world—returns in strange and terrifying ways. Fueled by Rage To find the royal children and exact his vengeance, Kagen must venture into strange lands, battle bizarre and terrifying creatures, and gather allies for a suicide mission into the heart of the Witch-king’s empire. Kings and gods will fear him. Kagen the Damned
Audio Thriller
Two strangers meet on the pierOnly one walks away… Screenwriter Caroline Byrne is desperate to know why her daughter Jessica died, murdered in Stratford when she was supposed to be at a friend’s in Somerset. When Caroline discovers the messages Jessica had been sending a boy named Michael, she realises it’s because of him. Because he failed to meet her that day. He’s the reason why her daughter is dead. And so she makes a choice. He’s the one who’s going to pay. That is her promise. Her price. Set between Essex, Kent, and Australia, The Woman on the Pier is a dark suspense thriller brimming with secrets and lies seeping across three generations – a must-read for fans of Lucy Foley and Rosamund Lupton.

My daughter, husband, and I watched Dune at home for a family movie night. It’s streaming on HBO Max concurrently with its theater release.

  • Monday, October 18th: The Post Box at the North Pole by Jaimie Admans ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ☀️☀️ (Holiday Fiction) – Book Review
  • Tuesday, October 19th: Child of Light by Terry Brooks ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ( Fantasy) – Book Review
  • Wednesday, October 20th: WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday, October 21st: Lies My Memory Told Me by Sacha Wunsch ☀️ ☀️ ☀️☀️ (YA SciFy Thriller)
  • Friday, October 22nd: Book Blogger Hop: Bookish costumes
  • Monday, October 25: Trashlands by Alison Stine ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ☀️☀️ (Dystopian Fiction) – Book Review
  • Tuesday, October 26: You Can Go Your Own Way by Eric Smith ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ☀️(YA Contemporary) – Book Review
  • Wednesday, October 27: WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday, October 28: Fan Club by Erin Mayer (Psychological Thriller)
  • Friday, October 29: The Book of Uriel by Elyse Hoffman (Historical Fantasy)
  • Friday, October 29: Book Blogger Hop

How was your week – bookish or otherwise?

28 Replies to “Sunday Post 49 | Fall Break”

  1. I am pleased you have enjoyed having one of your daughters home and her cat! I pray your new washing machine arrives tomorrow and that your lemon will soon turn yellow! 🙏 As for my week, it has been a tough one and I very much need my week break.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How nice to have your daughter home, even if all is not heaven with the cats, LOL.
    I really want to see Dune but have no idea when that will happen. I’m tempted to get HBO Max for one month solely for that reason!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Best of luck with the new washing machine, I hope it arrived on time. I’m happy for you that your daughter came for a visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I cannot believe there are people out there who still complain that movies are both streaming and in theater. From what I’ve read, every movie that comes out both ways makes more money than ever expected. And I’ve heard amazing things about Dune, Tessa! I never read the book, have been told I must, and wonder if I can get away with just watching the movie…

    Also, going to shout out once again that for me, streaming a movie is about accessibility, not about my desire to rip off a movie studio.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m totally with you. I think a piece of something is much better than a piece of nothing. And we all have had to learn to roll with the punches, so must the movie industry. And I’m glad you get to enjoy them in a way that is more accessible.
      Ummm…Dune…well, my husband and my daughter both have not read the book. Only I have. I liked the movie but then I knew all the stuff that was to come and felt like the movie stayed pretty close to the book. At least as I remember it. My husband and daughter felt like it was slow moving and nothing much happened. Saying that though, it did make my daughter want to read the book/series herself. I’m always all for that ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oooh I’m planning on watching Dune soon! What did you think of it?

    I recently got back in the swing of things when it comes to my blog so feel free to check out my Sunday Post at exclusorystyle.com/2021/10/24/week-in-review-7/ whenever you get the time (:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I did like it but having read the book does help in that regard. People who didn’t read it felt like nothing really happened in the movie. I think it sticks pretty close to the novel.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Keeping my fingers crossed for your washing machine to arrive. Just found out yesterday we’ll have both boys home for Thanksgiving – one of them for a week! We’ll also have the oldest here this weekend with his cat – and Bond is also not amused.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol. Cats just don’t seem to get it ☺️ Aounds like we will both have a wonderful Thanksgiving ❤️

      The washing machine arrived bright and early this morning. Yay!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. YIppee to your daughter being home for a few days! I tend to mentally tune out background noise from the radio, so I do wonder if I would do the same with an audiobook – if I could find one where the accent/voices don’t distract me from the story.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Aww, so great to have one of your girls home. I know what that feels like when my daughter was away at school. I hope your washing machine arrived today too. I often do read/listens Tessa. I don’t always do them at the same time though. I read when I can sit and relax, but listen when I have to do something like dishes, laundry, cutting grass or going for a walk. I will be interested to hear how it works for you. Enjoy your new books. I also got the Palmer book and hope we both enjoy it. Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have a terrible time with audio, even though I so desperately want to enjoy it. I can’t help but keep trying. And the washing machine did arrive first thing. We’ve never been so happy to do laundry ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.