The Post Box at the North Pole by Jaimie Admans #BlogTour #BookReview #HolidayFiction

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on this blog tour.

Dear Santa, I wish I could believe in magic again. From, Sasha.

Sasha Hansley hates Christmas. As a child, it was her favourite time of year, but ever since the tragic death of her mother, it has completely lost its magic.

But when she gets an unexpected phone call from her eccentric estranged father, she’s forced to dust off her snow boots.

He has been running a Lapland-style Christmas village in Norway and after suffering a heart attack, he is on strict doctor’s orders to slow down. Eager to reconnect with her dad, Sasha books the next flight out there. Only she has never actually been on a plane before, let alone to the Arctic Circle.

 Met at the runway by drop-dead-gorgeous Taavi Salvesen, they sleigh ride through the snow with the Northern Lights guiding their way.

 When Sasha uncovers sacks of unopened Santa mail – letters that children and adults from all over the world write to Santa every year – she realises that she can send a little bit of magic out into the world by replying to some of them.

 With Taavi on hand to help, will Sasha rediscover her own excitement for Christmas and find love among the letters?

The Post Box at the North Pole is like one big romantic mug of hot chocolate with extra whipped cream and a splash of Christmas magic! Fans of Holly Martin, Sarah Morgan and Heidi Swain will love this novel!

Purchase Links

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

What I Loved

There is so much to love about this meaty Christmas story – from the setting to the theme and everything in between.

The setting is an idyllic winter wonderland called North Pole Forest.  It has a village with Christmas-themed cabins and igloos, a post office to receive letters to Santa, the main building that looks like it could be Santa’s home and workshop, and lots and lots of snow.  I want to live and work there, and I’m not too fond of frigid weather.  I’d be perfect for answering letters to Santa.

The central theme of the story is rediscovering the magic of Christmas.  It’s such a loss when you stop waking up Christmas morning to the wonder and beauty of the Christmas Tree with its lights and all the colorful packages underneath.  That time when you can feel the magic with every part of your being.  Once you become an adult, the magic and wonder that goes with the spirit of giving can be hard to hold onto, but it’s just as important at age 48 as it is at age 8.  The Post Box at the North Pole I about a woman who has long since lost that magic, and her father’s one wish is to help her rediscover it. 

This village also has a reindeer rescue, and those reindeer steal the story from time to time, as do the letters to Santa that begin each chapter.  Both things set the atmosphere and tone to perfection. 

Is there a romance?  What would an adult Christmas story be without a romance?  But the romance in The Post Box at the North Pole is a long building relationship derived from an equally slow building of trust.  This trust-building hits snags as it will, and the two must overcome those challenges.  It’s a very organic and natural relationship, not a troped one.

What I Wish

I wish that everyone who celebrates Christmas has as magical of a holiday as this book has inspired me.

Characters

Sasha is the main character.  She lives in England and walks dogs for a living even though she has let her father think she’s a big hotel manager.  When Sasha loses her dog-walking job, followed by her dad calling and asking for help, she decides to leave everything behind and go to the very northern tip of Norway.  She expects to sell the resort and bring her father back to England with her for his health, but she could have never guessed what she would be walking into.

Sasha is a very complex character with many issues and flaws.  She is so well-developed that it is easy to follow her along on her journey and even enjoy the self-discovery journey.

Taavi is a man with deep scars inside and out.  The North Pole Forest is his refuge.  Learning to trust is not easy for him, and I loved the way the layers of his characters were slowly peeled one by one until the reader gets the full scope of this man and why/how he is where he is.

Reminds Me Of

This story reminds me more of a Netflix or Disney family Christmas movie than a Hallmark Movie due to the theme and family scope of the story.

To Read or Not to Read

If you want to rediscover the magic and meaning of Christmas as it was when you were a child, The Post Box at the North Pole should be your first destination in that journey.

Jaimie is a 36-year-old English-sounding Welsh girl with an awkward-to-spell name. She lives in South Wales and enjoys writing, gardening, watching horror movies, and drinking tea, although she’s seriously considering marrying her coffee machine. She loves autumn and winter, and singing songs from musicals despite the fact she’s got the voice of a dying hyena. She hates spiders, hot weather, and cheese & onion crisps. She spends far too much time on Twitter and owns too many pairs of boots.
She will never have time to read all the books she wants to read.

She is the author of several romantic comedies for HarperCollins – The Chateau of Happily Ever Afters, The Little Wedding Island, It’s a Wonderful Night, The Little Vintage Carousel by the Sea, Snowflakes at the Little Christmas Tree Farm, The Little Bookshop of Love Stories, The Wishing Tree Beside the Shore, The Little Christmas Shop on Nutcracker Lane, and The Post Box at the North Pole.

Social Media Links –

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/be_the_spark

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jaimieadmansbooks

25 Replies to “The Post Box at the North Pole by Jaimie Admans #BlogTour #BookReview #HolidayFiction”

  1. I was already on a lookout for some cozy christmas romance. This sounds really cute. I like how you describe that the building of the relationship is rather organic. That sounds good to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m delighted to hear the character development elevates this beyond a Hallmark moment to something with more substance. Sounds like a wonderful story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This book enticed me the first time I saw it on your blog. It sounds positively delightful. I love books about the spirit and magic of Christmas, and the setting sounds fantastic! I’m off to Amazon to check it out.

    BTW, I finished the Mother Next Door and thought it was fantastic. A five star read for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Just when I saw this book on Twitter and began crushing on it’s cover, I came across a review of it BY MY FAVORITE BLOGGER!!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ Sooo glad to read your posts again, Tessa! Loved this review too, AS ALWAYS! DUH! xD 😉 ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad to see you back again. It’s been way too long, my friend 🤗 And doesn’t that cover look like a gorgeous Christmas card. 😍😍😍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. YESS!! IT DOES! I wonder if I should try my hand at painting it for Christmas!! OKIE I AM SOO GONNA DO IT NOW!! 😍😍😍😍🥳🥳🥳🎄

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Aw this does sound very sweet and heartwarming. I read The Christmas Escape by Sarah Morgan, and that is also set in Lapland.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wonderful review Tessa. I have this one coming up and am getting antsy to get to it. I like the sounds of the depth to the characters.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.