Sunday Post 39 | I Must Be Giving Off Magnetic Pulses

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Last week, I mentioned that my Instagram login broke and after 3 days of no Instagram, I took to Twitter to alert IG they needed to take a look at my account and fix it. Which, oddly enough, worked. (I made another account while mine was down and I’m amazed that I currently have 60 followers – only 1 of which I have on the other account. It’s one of those weird things that just fascinates me.)

This week, I woke up to a blue screen on my 8 month old desktop computer. What?!? How was that possible? When my digital devices and content start having issues, it always comes in bunches and I’ve chalked it up to – I must be giving off magnetic pulses that is causing all the issues. Why else would it happen it bunches? After a full day of making it worst not better, I finally contacted Dell’s customer service and they walked me though a number of things until we finally found a way for me to basically reinstall windows. Since all my stuff exists on numerous clouds floating around in the digital plane, I was fine doing that. I tried to do it on my own before contacting support but all I ended up doing was installing windows 6 separate times and the computer still immediately froze on startup. I still have 2 extra copies of Windows somewhere on my computer but I can’t find them. I designated which windows the computer should actually use, so hopefully the extra copies won’t cause any issues.

This week, I start a paid project for the non-profit I work with locally. It should be interesting. It’s definitely something that will help to take my mind off of the headlines that are wreaking havoc with my mood.

How was your week?

from NetGalley…

The Dating Game by Sandy Barker

The must-read romantic comedy for fans of Laura Jane Williams, Sophie Ranald and Sophie Kinsella. 

Hilarious and highly original’
Julie Houston, bestselling author of A Village Affair

Once upon a time, twelve women joined the hottest reality TV show looking for love. Except one had a secret identity . . .

Abby Jones is a serious writer. Or at least she will be, one day. Right now, she spends her time writing recaps of reality television under a secret identity.

When a recap for The Stag – the must-watch dating show – goes viral, her editor thinks she should be on set, writing the drama as it happens. The good news: the next season will be filmed in Sydney. Sun, sea and a glamorous trip abroad, this could be Abby’s big break.

The bad news: the producers don’t just want Abby to write the recaps, they want her to be on the show. Abby can’t think of anything worse than being undercover and followed around by cameras. But her career depends on it, and when she meets gorgeous producer Jack, Abby begins to wonder if this job might not be so bad after all . . .

The Violin Conspiracy by Brendan Slocumb

A riveting tale about a Black classical musician whose family heirloom violin is stolen on the eve of the most prestigious classical music competition in the world.

Ray McMillian loves playing the violin more than anything, and nothing will stop him from pursuing his dream of becoming a professional musician. Not his mother, who thinks he should get a real job, not the fact that he can’t afford a high-caliber violin, not the racism inherent in the classical music world. And when he makes the startling discovery that his great-grandfather’s fiddle is actually a priceless Stradivarius, his star begins to rise. Then with the international Tchaikovsky Competition—the Olympics of classical music—fast approaching, his prized family heirloom is stolen. Ray is determined to get it back. But now his family and the descendants of the man who once enslaved Ray’s great-grandfather are each claiming that the violin belongs to them. With the odds stacked against him and the pressure mounting, will Ray ever see his beloved violin again?

I’ve heard so much about Never Have I Ever that I thought I’d give it a try. It’s partly as light and fluffy as it seems but underlying all that teen fluffiness is a more serious story about a family dealing with the loss of their husband/father and also a cultural story about what it is like raising kids in America when you are from another culture and trying to maintain the the fundamental foundation of your own culture within the broader one (in this case Hindu & Indian). As an adult, of course, I found that I am more interested in the underlying story and it is worth watching for that. I easily binged through half of the first season this weekend.

After so much teen-ness from Never Have I Ever, I decided to counterbalance it with a movie that came highly recommended – Gunpowder Milkshake about a mother-daughter assassin team. Hmmm… how do I describe this movie… lots of dark humor, some laugh out loud humor, and much gruesomeness. It reminded us of the Kingsman movie but much less raunchy. I didn’t hate it, but I don’t know that saying I loved it is accurate either. It kept my attention even when I had to cover my eyes from the gruesomeness and I laughed more than a handful of times. There’s lots of meaning under the surface that I totally understood. It left me going “huh.”

  • Tuesday, August 10th: Book Review of Such a Good Wife by Seraphina Nova Glass ☀☀☀☀
  • Wednesday, August 11th: WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday, August 12th: Book Review of Stolen by Tess Stimson☀☀☀☀☀
  • Friday, August 13th: Book Blogger Hop
  • Tuesday, August 17th: Book Review of Ashfall Legacy by Pittacus Lore☀☀☀☀ (scify)
  • Wednesday, August 18th: WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday, August 19th: Book Reviews of Gone for Good by Joanna Schaffhausen ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ ☀️ and The Perfect Family by Robyn Harding ☀☀☀☀ (Thrillers for Thriller Thursday)
  • Friday, August 20th: Book Blogger Hop

How was your week – bookish or otherwise?

33 Replies to “Sunday Post 39 | I Must Be Giving Off Magnetic Pulses”

  1. ‘The Violin Conspiracy’ looks amazing! Also, you are a lot more proactive with your devices than I am xD If I get a blue screen of death I very much just sit back in confusion! I’m also really eager to watch Gunpowder Milkshake, it sounds like just the right kind of film for me! I hope you have a lovely week 🙂
    Juli @ A Universe in Words

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m definitely not scared to try to fix them but I figure that makes me an IT persons worst nightmare – the person who knows just enough to make everything worse. Lol.

      Like

  2. I’ve not been on Twitter, Facebook and the rest because I’m concentrating on my blog. I get paid this week, so I’m going to buy another book. Computers are like washing machines, have lost the way to live without them. I love the book about the violin, sounds like there are lots of twists and turns. Tomorrow is my first job interview on Teams. I’ve never done an interview like this, but at least I won’t be as nervous.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I might check out Gunpowder Milkshake. I did not care for the raunchy of Kingsman, and I love Karen Gillan. Good luck with the computer and tech-hopefully nothing else goes wonky this week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t either and this one is nothing like that side of it. As a matter of fact, they go so far to be mindful that they have a little girl among them that they even say crazy words instead of cuss words which is really funny considering.

      Like

  4. Glad you got your Windows problem sorted and I couldn’t help chuckling at your theory about sending out magnetic pulses. Who knows? 😆 The Violin Conspiracy sounds good, hope you will enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes I agree I like the underlying themes of Never Have I Ever as well. I hope things go really well w/the non profit project. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She would drive me crazy if she was my daughter but trying to process grief is so unique to every individual especially when younger.

      Like

  6. Oh no, I am sorry you have had more computer woes this week! Hopefully that is the end of it! 🤞 With all the gruesomeness it sounds like Gunpowder Milkshake is definitely not for me. I have instead been losing myself in the romantic-drama Virgin River. While my reading has been up, with me finishing two books in quick succession this week. 😊 Take care and happy reading in the coming week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope so too! That kind of stuff seems to take up most of my time when I need to be doing other things. I’ll have to take a peek at Virgin River. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. So glad you were able to get your computer up and running again! Never Have I Ever looks good, I might check it out.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh I loved Never Have I Ever. I’ve considered watching it again on occasion and only watched it a month or two ago! Hope the magnetic pulses wear off. xD

    Like

    1. Technology issues are the worst! And I hope we both enjoy The Dating Game. Sandy Barker usually tells a lovely story.

      Like

  9. I think your magnetic issue is from the magnets in the vaccine, Tessa. Are spoons sticking to your neck too? I’m sorry to hear about your trouble with technology, but glad its working again. And thanks for the book previews and watching recommendations!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ROFL! You are too funny. I really did laugh out loud when I first read your comment. So unexpected. Lol. I’ll have to test the spoon. You never know 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. You don’t want to be around me when I’m having tech problems – I’m not a nice person. Sure hope yours are over, Tessa – especially with such a new laptop. Hubby and I tried watching the first episode of Outer Banks since it’s so popular – it was a thumbs down for both of us.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So far, so good. I just get totally focused when I have a tech issue. It’s like, “I can’t talk to you right now” or a “did you say something?” kind of thing. Maybe a little snippy frustration too. Lol. I’ve been eying Outer Banks because …well… NC but I hadn’t gone beyond that. Sorry it was a no-go.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m interested in Gunpowder Milkshake! I love movies in which women kick everyone. Doesn’t that sound terrible? The thing is, there are women who can totally defeat loads of people in real life, but we don’t see that so much in movies. I really enjoyed Atomic Blond, for instance.

    The Violin Conspiracy sounds fantastic. I played violin for years and can confirm that the quality of violin makes a massive difference in how you sound. I thought I hear that they’re actually replicating the famous Stradivarius violins because they discovered that while he was a skilled craftsman, it also had to do with these special trees from which he would get the wood.

    Like

  12. When it rains it pours, as they say. I have a terrible time with technology and have often said it is me and my old school frequencies that cause it to act up in my presence, haha. I hope things prove smoother for you now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to Grab the Lapels Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.