#WWWWednesday – July 28th | What Are You Reading This Week?

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

The publisher asked me if I would be interested in reading and reviewing The Long-Lost Jules, and I almost gave it a pass, but then I saw that Kirkus reviewed it. I was intrigued since Kirkus only does a few books by small presses. And even better than that, the reviewer really liked it. So, I said yes and they sent me a physical book. I’m halfway done and so surprised by how much I really like this book. The whole possible descendent of Henry VIII’s last wife is intriguing enough, but I’ve already come to a twist that totally surprised me and let me know that this is definitely my kind of book.

The Long-Lost Jules by Jane Elizabeth Hughes

  • Genre: Thriller
  • Print Length: 352 pgs
  • Publisher: Spark
  • Publication Date: August 3, 2021
She thinks he’s either a stalker, a nutcase, or a harmlessly eccentric Oxford professor. He thinks she’s the long-lost descendant of Henry VIII’s last Queen, Katherine Parr. Amy is living a cautious life as a London private banker to wealthy oil sheikhs, but her quiet solitude is upended by the sudden appearance of two people: a half-sister who is virtually a stranger to her, and Oxford don Leo. Both need something from Amy, who has been emotionally frozen for years and isn’t sure she has anything left to give. She also harbors deep secrets—as does Leo. Even so, the two join forces to investigate the mystery of Queen Katherine’s lost baby, and soon long-suppressed emotions start to surface—and enemies start to close in. As they crisscross Europe in a quest for answers, Amy and Leo find themselves in danger of losing control of their secrets, their hearts—and maybe even their lives.

Woah! This was all sorts of creepy scary. I read Wicked Little Deeds for a The Write Reads blog tour and it was almost too scary for me. It definitely has a lingering creep factor.

Wicked Little Deeds / Burden Falls by Kat Ellis

  • Genre: YA Horror/Thriler
  • Print Length: 368 pgs
  • Publisher: Penguin / Dial Books
  • Publication: August 5, 2021 (UK) / August 24, 2021 (US)
From its creepy town mascot to the story of its cursed waterfall, Burden Falls is a small town dripping with superstition. Ava Thorn knows this well – since the horrific accident she witnessed a year ago, she’s been plagued by nightmares. But when someone close to her is brutally murdered and Ava is the primary suspect, she starts to wonder if the legends surrounding the town are more fact than fiction. Whatever secrets Burden Falls is hiding, there’s a killer on the loose, and they have a vendetta against the Thorns…

Every single time I see Stolen by Tess Stimson in my virtual stash I go, “Where did this come from?” I don’t know why it’s not a very memorable book title, cover, or description for me but it sounds absolutely like a book I am going to love. I’m reading this for a Rachel’s Random Resources book tour.

Stolen by Tess Stimson

  • Genre: Mystery/Thriller
  • Print Length: 438 pgs
  • Publisher: Avon Books
  • Publication Date: August 5, 2021
A twisting and emotional thriller that demands to be read in one sitting. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Jackie Kabler. You thought she was safe. You were wrong… Alex knows her daughter would never wander off in a strange place. So when her three-year-old vanishes from an idyllic beach wedding, Alex immediately believes the worast. The hunt for Lottie quickly becomes a world-wide search, but it’s not long before suspicion falls on her mother. Why wasn’t she watching Lottie? Alex knows she’s not perfect, but she loves her child. And with all eyes on her, Alex fears they’ll never uncover the truth unless she takes matters into her own hands. Who took Lottie Martini? And will she ever come home?

What are you reading this week? Anything that you’re particularly excited about?

23 Replies to “#WWWWednesday – July 28th | What Are You Reading This Week?”

  1. Oh my gosh Stolen sounds like my cup of tea! I read the Girl Missing Trilogy and it’s all about going missing so I’m definitely adding this to my TBR! I’m currently reading Trouble by Non Pratt – it’s a great teen drama novel!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure Stolen will be very good. I’m looking forward to reading it. My brain’s just crazy. And Wicked Little Deeds or Burden Falls in the US is very good.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You have taken me by surprise. I completely expected you to zero in on Wicked Little Deeds. But, I agree. Anything Tudor is totally going to capture my attention every time. And the fact that it’s an action/thriller on top of that. Well, is just the cherry on top.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m waiting for Emma’s Tapestry in the post. I’m looking forward to reading that. Not sure what I’ll read next. Feeling a bit punch drunk at the moment. Had a tooth removed, so my mouth feels like I have marbles in it. Still reading this book will take my mind off it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It definitely will. Dental work is not fun. I’ve had a string of root canals in the last year or so and it is getting old. Happy reading!

      Like

  3. An intriguing line-up, Tessa. “Too scary to read” ??? That makes me want to read Wicked Little Deeds even more, though I know I’ll get freaked out! Lol. Happy Reading.

    Like

  4. The Long-Lost Jules looks very good. I don’t know if I could read Wicked Little Deeds, if it’s almost too scary for you…It’ll be way too scary for me.

    Like

    1. I think that’s one of the good things about blog tours – that it brings awareness to books you may not have seen before. The first two are wonderful and I just started my next read (Stolen). It’s very intriguing so far ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.