#WWWWednesday – July 21st | What Are You Reading This Week?

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I’ve never read a book by Sandie Jones but The Guilt Trip sure did catch my eye. I’ll have just started it this morning, and hopefully by the time you see this I’ll be so engrossed I won’t be able to look up from my iPad 🙂

The Guilt Trip by Sandie Jones

  • Genre: Psychological Thriller
  • Print Length: 300 pgs
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books (St. Martin’s Press)
  • Publication Date: August 3, 2021
They went away as friends. They came back as suspects. Rachel and Jack. Paige and Noah. Will and Ali. Five friends who’ve known each other for years. And Ali, Will’s new fiancée. The three couples travel to Portugal for Ali and Will’s destination wedding. Arriving at the gorgeous clifftop villa, the weekend away is a chance to relax and get to know Ali a little better. A newcomer to their group, she seems perfectly nice and Will seems happy after years of bad choices. But when Rachel discovers a shocking secret about Ali, everything changes. As the wedding weekend unfolds, the secrets each of them holds begin to spill, and friendships and marriages threaten to unravel. In Sandie Jones’s explosive new suspense novel, jumping to conclusions can become the difference between life and death.

Ghosts (title is referring to when someone ghosts you) by Dolly Alderton is an unusual romantic comedy. It kind of reminds me of When Harry Met Sally because it covers how hard adulting is. It goes through the gamut of possibilities too – aging parents, friends who find themselves in different life phases, dating through an app, etc… It is NOT cute and sappy. It is smart and insightful and to me it seemed a bit sad at times because it reminds the reader how many ways people can suck, especially single guys. Ghosts came out in the UK last fall but it is coming out in the US next month.

Ghosts by Dolly Alderton

  • Genre: Romantic Comedy (?) / Chick Lit
  • Print Length: 320 pgs
  • Publisher: Knopf
  • Publication: August 3, 2021
Nina Dean is not especially bothered that she’s single. She owns her own apartment, she’s about to publish her second book, she has a great relationship with her ex-boyfriend, and enough friends to keep her social calendar full and her hangovers plentiful. And when she downloads a dating app, she does the seemingly impossible: She meets a great guy on her first date. Max is handsome and built like a lumberjack; he has floppy blond hair and a stable job. But more surprising than anything else, Nina and Max have chemistry. Their conversations are witty and ironic, they both hate sports, they dance together like fools, they happily dig deep into the nuances of crappy music, and they create an entire universe of private jokes and chemical bliss. But when Max ghosts her, Nina is forced to deal with everything she’s been trying so hard to ignore: her father’s Alzheimer’s is getting worse, and so is her mother’s denial of it; her editor hates her new book idea; and her best friend from childhood is icing her out. Funny, tender, and eminently, movingly relatable, Ghosts is a whip-smart tale of relationships and modern life.

Another Thriller that caught my eye. Where the Truth Lies sounds absolutely riveting. I can’t wait to see how this story unfolds.

Where the Truth Lies by Anna Bailey

  • Genre: Mystery/Thriller
  • Print Length: 384 pgs
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publication Date: August 3, 2021
When a teenaged girl disappears from an insular small town, all of the community’s most devastating secrets come to light in this stunningly atmospheric and slow-burning suspense novel—perfect for fans of Megan Miranda and Celeste Ng. The town of Whistling Ridge guards its secrets. When seventeen-year-old Abigail goes missing, her best friend Emma, compelled by the guilt of leaving her alone at a party in the woods, sets out to discover the truth about what happened. The police initially believe Abi ran away, but Emma doesn’t believe that her friend would leave without her, and when officers find disturbing evidence in the nearby woods, the festering secrets and longstanding resentment of both Abigail’s family and the people of Whistling Ridge, Colorado begin to surface with devastating consequences. Among those secrets: Abi’s older brother Noah’s passionate, dangerous love for the handsome Rat, a recently arrived Romanian immigrant who has recently made his home in the trailer park in town; her younger brother Jude’s feeling that he knows information he should tell the police, if only he could put it into words; Abi’s father’s mercurial, unpredictable rages and her mother’s silence. Then there is the rest of Whistling Ridge, where a charismatic preacher advocates for God’s love in language that mirrors violence, under the sway of the powerful businessman who rules the town, insular and wary of outsiders. But Abi had secrets, too, and the closer Emma grows to unraveling the past, the farther she feels from her friend. And in a tinder box of small-town rage, and all it will take is just one spark—the truth of what really happened that night—to change their community forever.

What are you reading this week? Anything that you’re particularly excited about?

20 Replies to “#WWWWednesday – July 21st | What Are You Reading This Week?”

  1. You have some great reads Tessa! I’ve been so curious about Ghosts. Can’t wait to see your review!💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ghosts was surprising – I was expecting light and fluffy but it’s a very smart, very deep reflection-type of romcom – and very good. The insightfulness is off the charts.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooh! I’m so glad to hear that Tessa! I will definitely be adding this one to my list!🤩📚💖

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m definitely interested in The Guilt Trip. Sounds like my kind of read, and that cover is amazing. I can’t wait to see your review!

    I’m just shy of the 70% mark with Missing Molly, a mystery/suspense by Natalie Barrelli. Definitely a good read. I think I have the ending figured out, but still waiting to see if I’ll be proven right 😉

    Happy reading, Tessa!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve grown okay with figuring out the ending ahead of time because finding out whether I’m right or not is equally compelling and maybe even more fun ❤️ And, oh that cover of The Guilt Trip – makes me want to leave today for a seaside villa in Portugal- so beautiful 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been sick. I’m behind in my work and I haven’t been visiting blogs. I’m not reading for pleasure as I try to catch up. Hopefully I can add “reading for pleasure” to next week’s list.

    The two thrillers on your list sound good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, no. I hope you feel better soon. Take care of yourself first and the rest will work itself out. Sending positive thoughts your way ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I would like to say I’m reading something different but I’m still reading Sweet Entanglement. It’s nothing to do with the book. I’m enjoying the story. It is more to do with my concentration levels.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I can’t remember if I saw The Guilt Trip here or another blog first, but it sure grabbed my attention. I’ll be looking forward to your review. Happy Reading, Tessa!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Guilt Trip and Where The Truth Lies look like my kind of books, can’t wait to find out your full thoughts on them!! Happy Reading!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I have not heard of Ghosts, but it sure looks good. I’m looking forward to your reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.