#WWWWednesday – July 14th | What Are You Reading This Week?

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

This is the series I’ve been reviewing which has a female Jason Bourne lead character. I’m starting it today and, since I loved the other two books in the series, I am expecting to enjoy this one very much!

Kill A Spy by Samantha Lee Howe

  • Genre: Thriller
  • Print Length: ??? pgs (I couldn’t find that information but it should be between 300-400pages)
  • Publisher: One More Chapter / Harper Collins
  • Publication Date: July 23, 2021
Killing Eve meets Jason Bourne in the third thrilling addition to your new favourite spy series… The house of killers always had one objective: to train a class of warriors that would elevate the Network from the national to the international – the amateur to the elite. It was the perfect poison… Radicalisation by virtue of not knowing any different. They never expected their most notorious child to claw his way back to the beating heart of MI5. Consumed by hurt and rage, Michael Kensington has his own objective: Neva. But as the body count rises like a tide that will sweep them all into oblivion, Neva will stop at nothing to make him understand that everything is at stake. Because there’s only one way to push back against the tide… Together. Kill a Spy is the third jaw-dropping instalment in The House of Killers series, a captivating spy thriller perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes and Alex Gerlis.

Woah! This book is totally whack-o-doodle and I mean that in a good way. It’s one of those books that takes a few plot elements you’ve seen before and reimagines it in a whole new mind-blowing way that you couldn’t have imagined in your wildest dreams. It’s not Amityville Horror scary which is what I was worried about. It’s much like a Dean Koontz story and the scary level I would say is on par with the tv show, Supernatural – definitely a lot of creepy and chills but nothing that made me sorry I picked it up.

The Book of Accidents by Chuck Wendig

  • Genre: Supernatural Thriller
  • Print Length: 521 pgs
  • Publisher: Random House / Ballantine / Del Rey
  • Publication: July 20, 2021
Long ago, Nathan lived in a house in the country with his abusive father—and has never told his family what happened there. Long ago, Maddie was a little girl making dolls in her bedroom when she saw something she shouldn’t have—and is trying to remember that lost trauma by making haunting sculptures. Long ago, something sinister, something hungry, walked in the tunnels and the mountains and the coal mines of their hometown in rural Pennsylvania. Now, Nate and Maddie Graves are married, and they have moved back to their hometown with their son, Oliver. And now what happened long ago is happening again . . . and it is happening to Oliver. He meets a strange boy who becomes his best friend, a boy with secrets of his own and a taste for dark magic. This dark magic puts them at the heart of a battle of good versus evil and a fight for the soul of the family—and perhaps for all of the world. But the Graves family has a secret weapon in this battle: their love for one another.

This romcom being published by Disney Hyperion looked too cute for me not to pick up. My family are all big Disney fans, so well it’s a me thing.

If the Shoe Fits by Julie Murphy

  • Genre: RomCom
  • Print Length: 304 pgs
  • Publisher: Disney/Hyperion
  • Publication Date: August 3, 2021
If the shoe doesn’t fit, maybe it’s time to design your own. Cindy loves shoes. A well-placed bow or a chic stacked heel is her form of self-expression. As a fashion-obsessed plus-size woman, she can never find designer clothes that work on her body, but a special pair of shoes always fits just right. With a shiny new design degree but no job in sight, Cindy moves back in with her stepmother, Erica Tremaine, the executive producer of the world’s biggest dating reality show. When a contestant on Before Midnight bows out at the last minute, Cindy is thrust into the spotlight. Showcasing her killer shoe collection on network TV seems like a great way to jump-start her career. And, while she’s at it, why not go on a few lavish dates with an eligible suitor? But being the first and only fat contestant on Before Midnight turns her into a viral sensation—and a body-positivity icon—overnight. Even harder to believe? She can actually see herself falling for this Prince Charming. To make it to the end, despite the fans, the haters, and a house full of fellow contestants she’s not sure she can trust, Cindy will have to take a leap of faith and hope her heels— and her heart—don’t break in the process. Best-selling author Julie Murphy’s reimagining of a beloved fairy tale is an enchanting story of self-love and believing in the happy ending each and every one of us deserves.

What are you reading this week? Anything that you’re particularly excited about?

33 Replies to “#WWWWednesday – July 14th | What Are You Reading This Week?”

      1. I’m sure I will! BTW I replied to your messages on my recent posts but I think WP stopped notifying people a while ago, even those who did receive my replies and likes earlier 🙄

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I just finished a Cinderella retelling by the same publisher, so I’m excited to read If the Shoe Fits. It does sound enchanting! I sure hope you enjoy The Book of Accidents too. I’m looking forward to that one. ❤️ Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re delving into RomCom. Yay! I can’t wait to see what you think. I hope we both enjoy it! And, yes, The Book of Accidents is crazy good – such a wild ride, isn’t it?

      Like

    1. You would love the House of Killers trilogy – I’m totally convinced of that. It’s so good and yes, The Book of Accidents is a wonderful crazy ride!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like I’m going to have to add The Book of Accidents to my TBR. I was worried it might be too graphic or scary for me, but it sounds like I wouldn’t have a problem with it. I’ve been waiting to see what you thought of that one!

    Liked by 1 person

        1. It’s going to the top of my read pile when it’s released.

          BTW, I’m reading “Falling” right now, the book Riley Sager and Taylor Adams were talking about (along with everybody else). So far it’s excellent, but I’m not that far into it. Review soon!

          Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think you would have a problem. I kind of had that in mind while I was reading but he adds in SciFy, paranormal, and even folklore to make a story that is so fascinating that you just sit in wonder which dissipates any intensity and it is much less graphic than say Hairpin Bridge 😉

      Like

  3. If the Shoe Fits sounds like something I should read to mix up my usual fantasy/sci-fi or self-development. I’m currently reading Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi and 12 Rules for Life by Jordan Peterson.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Still trying to read Sweet Entanglement. Once I am paid I will buy Emma’s Tapestry. It sounds like something I would enjoy reading. I’m not reading hardly enough at the moment. It is my last day on Friday, so I will read more then.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very nice. I read If The Shoe Fits and loved it so much more than I thought I would. I even rated it 5 stars! Enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Book of Accidents sounds great, Tessa, but the length scares me. I used to love long books, but don’t seem to have the time now, so I get wary. I’m about halfway through A Dream of Family by Jill Weatherholt. It’s a very sweet book (no flashes of Dean Koontz at all). 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.