Sunday Post 34 | What A Busy Week

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

What a crazy and busy week this has been! First, I mentioned that I was going to Ikea last weekend – well, I found two beds that fit my criteria of aesthetically pleasing, good quality, and reasonably priced. We also picked out two platform mattresses and scheduled everything to be delivered on Saturday. What started out fairly easy became a comedy of errors as the week progressed. At one point, I even had 4 mattresses and no beds scheduled to be delivered. Currently, I have the correct number of mattresses and beds (well, almost – I actually have 3 beds ordered with a pending cancellation of one of those beds) on their way and they should get here soon. One mattress is scheduled for Monday or Tuesday. Whew!

I spent the entire week moving around both girls’ bedrooms, and I had to clean out my younger girls’ room of an unreal amount of clutter – every surface and every drawer was crammed packed full. She is a huge packrat. My grandmother was like that too to the point where even the trunk of her car was completely filled – always. So much stuff and so much dust – it’s no wonder she suffered from post-nasal drip constantly since she (like me) has a dust mite allergy. I’m almost done but took me all week – every day. Like my post title says, what a busy week!

NetGalley ARC Widgets

From Rebecca Ross, acclaimed author of The Queen’s Rising duology, comes a story about magic, vengeance, and the captivating power of dreams. A must-read for fans of The Hazel Wood and The Night Circus. The realm of Azenor has spent years plagued by a curse. Every new moon, magic flows from the nearby mountain and brings nightmares to life. Only magicians—who serve as territory wardens—stand between people and their worst dreams. Clementine Madigan is ready to take over as the warden of her small town, but when two magicians arrive to challenge her, she is unknowingly drawn into a century-old conflict. She seeks revenge, but as she gets closer to Phelan, one of the handsome young magicians, secrets—as well as romance—begins to rise. To fight the realm’s curse, which seems to be haunting her every turn, Clementine must unite with her rival. But will their efforts be enough to save Azenor from the nightmares that lurk around every corner?
“An utterly transportive read, unfolding into a world of crumbling manors and ancient forests. Allison Saft crafts a deliberate, intricate romance that will have you as unmoored as the characters.” – Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights A romantic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Erin A. Craig and Margaret Rogerson, about two people who find themselves competing for glory – and each other’s hearts – in a magical fox hunt. When Margaret Welty spots the legendary hala, the last living mythical creature, she knows the Halfmoon Hunt will soon follow. Whoever is able to kill the hala will earn fame and riches, and unlock an ancient magical secret. If Margaret wins the hunt, it may finally bring her mother home. While Margaret is the best sharpshooter in town, only teams of two can register, and she needs an alchemist. Weston Winters isn’t an alchemist–yet. Fired from every apprenticeship he’s landed, his last chance hinges on Master Welty taking him in. But when Wes arrives at Welty Manor, he finds only Margaret and her bloodhound Trouble. Margaret begrudgingly allows him to stay, but on one condition: he must join the hunt with her. Although they make an unlikely team, Wes is in awe of the girl who has endured alone on the outskirts of a town that doesn’t want her, in this creaking house of ghosts and sorrow. And even though Wes disrupts every aspect of her life, Margaret is drawn to him. He, too, knows what it’s like to be an outsider. As the hunt looms closer and tensions rise, Margaret and Wes uncover dark magic that could be the key to winning the hunt – if they survive that long. In A Far Wilder Magic, Allison Saft has written an achingly tender love story set against a deadly hunt in an atmospheric, rich fantasy world that will sweep you away. “Innovative, romantic, and intoxicating. A Far Wilder Magic is a diamond of the YA fantasy genre, with a fresh and artfully layered world and extraordinary characters to match.” – Amanda Foody, author of Ace of Shades.

My sinfully and shockingly decadent watch this week was the reboot of Gossip Girl. Do I miss Blake Lively, Leighton Meester, and Penn Badgley? Oh, definitely, but who wouldn’t? But this new group doesn’t even try to be like the original cast, though, and I’m glad. Also, Gossip Girl is revived by the teachers of their private school to keep these entitled brats in check, and I love that we know that up front, that the teachers took it on, and that they are using Instagram this time around because blogs are a thing of the early 2000s. Yes, I’m clearing my throat at that last bit but I do agree that Instagram is the perfect platform for Gossip Girl.

I watched The Tomorrow War with Chris Pratt last night and, wow! If you like sci-fy action flicks especially of the alien and time travel variety, you must watch this movie today or tonight on Amazon Prime. You will thank me! There was only one part that bothered me because I felt like if I knew something the main character should too, but he didn’t. When you feel that way yourself, just go with it. It’s too good not to. ❤️

  • Tuesday, July 6th: Book Review of Where It All Lands by Jennie Wexler ☀☀☀☀ and Book Review of Six Crimson Cranes by Elizabeth Lim ☀☀☀☀☀
  • Wednesday, July 7th: WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday, July 8th: Book Review of The Lily Garden by Barbara Josselsohn ☀☀☀☀
  • Friday, July 9th: Book Blogger Hop – Where do you post your reviews? 

This week is going to be unusual because all of the books I reviewed have a big historical fiction component to the stories, and I rarely do historical fiction. It just kind of happened that way. Hope you enjoy this unique week because I go back to normal next week.

  • Tuesday, July 13th: Book Review of Shoulder Season by Christina Clancy ☀☀☀☀ and a Blog Tour Book Review of Emma’s Tapestry by Isobel Blackthorn ☀☀☀☀☀
  • Wednesday, July 14th: WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday, July 15th: Blog Tour Book Review of The Secret Notebook by Julia Wild ☀☀☀☀
  • Friday, July 16th: Book Blogger Hop – What is your least favorite type of character? 

How was your week? Any celebrations or fun events?

22 Replies to “Sunday Post 34 | What A Busy Week”

  1. Sounds like you had a lot crammed in for just one week. My week has been strange. The first three days I felt like a ten ton asteroid hit me in the throat. I couldn’t speak and sounded like Minnie Mouse. I went back into work on Thursday only to be told my contract won’t be renewed due to budget cuts. I was feeling sorry for myself when my 24 year old, autistic son, sat beside me and said ‘That’s okay Mum, just look for another job, you can do it.’ His belief in me spurred me on to apply for three jobs in one day. I have been trying to read. I have read 75 pages, but in my standards that is not good. Will read some more today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will send positive thoughts your way on a new opportunity presenting itself 🤗. It does take determination and I’m so glad your son helps fuel that in you.

      Like

  2. Hi Tessa! We are watching The Tomorrow War right now. My husband loves Sci-fi and I love supporting him. Because then
    I can watch with one eye and and blog with the other.

    Gossip Girl reboot? Ha. I need to take a look! Loved Gossip Girl.

    Both your Netgalley ARC’s look good! I hope you enjoy it.

    Have a good week and happy reading!

    Elza Reads

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope your husband enjoyed the movie (and you too) and definitely take a look at Gossip Girl. It’s probably wrong of me to cheer on the teachers but in this setting, I say do what you need to survive 😉

      Like

  3. Wow, it sounds like you were definitely busy! I’m a bit of a pack rat myself, and I know how that goes. 😆

    My husband is loving The Tomorrow War. He’s also been loving Loki, but I’m not much into either show. I’m not sure why, but I think it’s just because I’m into historical stuff right now.

    Have an excellent week, Tessa. Happy reading! 💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I think you just have to be in the mood for that kind of stuff. Historical stuff is great though too! I particularly love Victorian era stuff and earlier. Hope you have a great week! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. My son recently announced he needed a new mattress and bed. His is only a few years old but it just hasn’t survived those older teen years! I like the look of BOTH those Netgalley books – enjoy reading them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think the NetGalley books will be so good. 🤞. And, I believe the teen years are the most expensive years of all the childhood stages! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You were busy last week! Well done getting your daughters moved around and dealing with all the clutter. My daughter was a pack rat too! I’ve never lived near an Ikea, but love the store when I’m visiting one. My husband watched The Tomorrow War with Chris Pratt, while I was reading, and although I didn’t follow along, the snippets I watched were interesting. Have a nice week and Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope he enjoyed it! I thought it was well done, especially for a streaming movie. They tend to be hit or miss.
      Ikea is so fun to visit. Moving my girls out and yet still having them set up here is a big task. But I still want them to want to come home relatively frequently, so it’s a labor of love to set them up comfortably here even though most of their stuff is in their apartment. Such a weird transition time. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow, that was busy, but what an accomplishment. I started watching Season 3 of Virgin River. I have watched the first five episodes. I hope you get to relax a bit this week Tessa.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My oldest son is also a pack rat. I used to joke he could be on Hoarders. The Pratt movie is on my list. We’ve been binging Animal Kingdom and looks like we’ll finish some time this week, so probably a weekend viewing of Pratt.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The bed/mattress coordination sounds crazy, Tessa. Lol. Glad you got it down! And great book haul. I LOVE the cover of Dreams Lie Beneath. Just stunning. And thanks for the suggestion of The Tomorrow War. Hubby is flicking through channels and he can finally stop! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol. I think he will like it. It seems to be a particular favorite of husbands ❤️. And I think the bed and mattress thing is worked out 🤞. I currently have one mattress, another on the way, and two beds on the way. All scheduled to be delivered this week. The only glitch might be extra side rails from the bed I cancelled, but so far that hasn’t gone out and if I’m lucky, it never will. 🤷🏻‍♀️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.