WWW Wednesday | June 16, 2021

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m currently enjoying the third and final book in The Once and Future Queen trilogy. I’m loving it so far. The writing is as good as it was in the second book which was a five-star read for me. The first book is not that great but two and so far three are phenomenal. I highly recommend the trilogy – just don’t judge the whole series by the first book.

Legend of the Lakes by Clara O’Connor

  • Genre: (YA) Epic Fantasy
  • Print Length: 508 pgs
  • Publisher: Harper Collins / One More Chapter
  • Publication Date: June 24, 2021
An absolute must-read for fans of Shadow and Bone… The Once and Future Queen: Book 3 Cassandra stands silent upon a ravaged battlefield, watching as the druids prepare the dead for the pyres, embers drifting up into the still winter darkness. She can barely breathe through the agony of her grief, but she cannot waste another second on tears. Because Londinium, the Caesar, the empire… all of it is still out there. The empire whose code she had followed, whose prince she had promised to marry, whose schemes she had been swept up in since birth. They tried to use her magic against her. To silence her. So she will use her magic against them. To silence them. Forever. The third and final chapter of The Once and Future Queen trilogy, this epic scifi fantasy adventure set in a dystopian world where the Romans still rule will enchant fans of Sarah J Maas and Cassandra Clare.

Mirrorland is an interesting psychological thriller. It has strong notes of Neverland, Wonderland, and even Oz with all of their allegorical messages. This is not a kids book, though. It is meant to be read on two different levels, both through the eyes of an adult. I’m reading it for a The Write Reads blog tour later this month.

Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone

  • Genre: Psychological Thriller
  • Print Length: 319 pgs
  • Publisher: Scribner
  • Publication: April 20, 2021
With the startling twists of Gone Girl and the haunting emotional power of Room, Mirrorland is a thrilling work of psychological suspense about twin sisters, the man they both love, and the dark childhood they can’t leave behind. Cat lives in Los Angeles, far away from 36 Westeryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where she and her estranged twin sister, El, grew up. As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. These days Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband Ross. But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to 36 Westeryk Road, which has scarcely changed in twenty years. The grand old house is still full of shadowy corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on long-held secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past. Because someone—El?—has left Cat clues in almost every room: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting… A twisty, dark, and brilliantly crafted thriller about love and betrayal, redemption and revenge, Mirrorland is a propulsive, page-turning debut about the power of imagination and the price of freedom.

I have read one other Elly Griffiths novel – not of this series – and I enjoyed it very much. I think this series looks even more interesting than the one I read, so I am excited for this read.

The Night Hawks by Elly Griffiths

  • Genre: Mystery
  • Print Length: 250 pgs
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflen Harcourt
  • Publication Date: June 29, 2021
There’s nothing Ruth Galloway hates more than amateur archaeologists, but when a group of them stumble upon Bronze Age artifacts alongside a dead body, she finds herself thrust into their midst—and into the crosshairs of a string of murders circling ever closer. Ruth is back as head of archaeology at the University of North Norfolk when a group of local metal detectorists—the so-called Night Hawks—uncovers Bronze Age artifacts on the beach, alongside a recently deceased body, just washed ashore. Not long after, the same detectorists uncover a murder-suicide—a scientist and his wife found at their farmhouse, long thought to be haunted by the Black Shuck, a humongous black dog, a harbinger of death. The further DCI Nelson probes into both cases, the more intertwined they become, and the closer they circle to David Brown, the new lecturer Ruth has recently hired, who seems always to turn up wherever Ruth goes.

What are you reading this week? Anything that you’re particularly excited about?

21 Replies to “WWW Wednesday | June 16, 2021”

  1. Mirrorland sounds pretty crazy. I love the setting for that one too. I’m assuming much of the book is set in Scotland then?

    Enjoy your upcoming read, Tessa. I love the cover. Hope you enjoy the mystery. Happy reading! 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, my gosh. Mirrorland sounds so good!

    I’m just finishing D. Wallace Peach’s The Ferryman and the Sea Witch. Her writing is beautiful. I just started it yesterday, and I’m sure I’ll finish it today. I can’t wait. Her work is hard to put down.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have Diana’s book! I hope to read it soon. Just trying to get ahead with my reading a bit. And Mirrorland is fascinating and so very original for a psyc thriller.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been intrigued by The Once and Future Queen for a while. And if it’s similar to Bardugo, I’m going to have to pick it up eventually. I’m looking forward to your review of the final book. Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It turned in to such an amazing tale! Very rich in descriptions and depth and boy does the author know how to make you feel the depth of despair.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been considering Mirrorland, so I can’t wait to see your review on that one. And The Night Hawks has me intrigued, especially with the mention of Black Shuck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.