Sunday Post 24| The Countdown Has Begun

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

The countdown to my beach vacation has started. In two weeks, I will be enjoying the sand, sun, and cool ocean breezes. Pool floaties have been purchased – even a huge adult-sized pink flamingo and a unicorn because what’s life without a little whimsy.

I’ll be going to a minor league baseball game on Friday. We will be in a company suite and have been debating on what the mask policy should be, since a max of 10 people will be in the suite and it’s indoor/outdoor kind of thing. But I guess we will cross that bridge as we get closer to.

How was your week?

Just two books this week. I’m totally patting myself on the back. The first, The Guilt Trip is a St.Martin’s Press Mystery/Thriller I was approved for on NetGalley and boy it looks good! And The Darkest Flower is a Psyc Thriller – my Amazon First Reads book selection for May. I love the cover! 😍😍😍

Mystery/Thriller

In the vein of The Other Woman, Sandie Jones’s explosive new novel The Guilt Trip will have readers gripped to the very last page.

Six friends.
Rachel and Noah have been friends since they met at university. While they once thought that they might be something more, now, twenty years later, they are each happily married to other people, Jack and Paige respectively. Jack’s brother Will is getting married, to the dazzling, impulsive Ali, and the group of six travel to Portugal for their destination weekend.

Three couples. As they arrive at a gorgeous villa perched on a cliff-edge, overlooking towering waves that crash on the famous surfing beaches below at Nazaré, they try to settle into a weekend of fun. While Rachel is looking forward to getting to know her future sister-in-law Ali better, Ali can’t help but rub many of the group up the wrong way: Rachel’s best friend Paige thinks Ali is attention-seeking and childish, and while Jack is trying to support his brother Will’s choice of wife, he is also finding plenty to disagree with Noah about.

One fatal misunderstanding . . . But when Rachel discovers something about Ali that she can hardly believe, everything changes. As the wedding weekend unfolds, the secrets each of them hold begin to spill, and friendships and marriages threaten to unravel. Soon, jumping to conclusions becomes the difference between life and death.

☀️☀️☀️

Psychological Thriller

You’ll never believe the terrible things being said about the perfect president of the PTA. 

Attempted murder? Inexplicable accident? Either way, a PTA mom struggled for her life in an elementary school cafeteria, poisoned by a wolfsbane-laced smoothie at the fifth-grade graduation party. Now all eyes are on the accused, the victim, and a woman hired to look deeper.

Ambitious defense attorney and single mother Allison Barton is anxious to escape the shadow of the low-down dog of a marquee partner carrying their renowned Virginia law firm. A win for her high-profile new client will give Allison the career she deserves. And PTA president Kira Grant certainly appears innocent—except for the toxic bloom in her backyard and perhaps a bit of a malicious streak. But no one said the innocent had to be likable—or entirely honest. Besides, with an image as carefully cultivated as her garden, Kira would be insane to risk everything on something as outrageous as the attempted murder of one of her closest friends.

What about those in Kira’s orbit, a sunny suburb of moms behaving badly? What do they really know about Kira? What does Kira know about them? For Allison, the answers are getting darker every day.

I started watching another new show on Disney+. This one is with John Stamos. After getting in trouble as a somewhat famous men’s college basketball coach, the only job Stamos’ character can find is as a coach for a high school girls basketball team. It’s called Big Shot and is surprisingly good. Even my husband likes it, and he doesn’t like many shows.

Did you read, watch, or do anything fun this week?

I’m posting my WWW post here instead of separately on Wednesday TEMPORARILY (just until June). I will reblog this whole post on Wednesday, so anyone who may have missed it has a quick link to find it.

I just finished The Newcomer by Mary Kay Andrews. It’s definitely a mystery thriller as it’s listed on NetGalley, but it’s listed as Women’s Fiction and Romance on book sites. 🤷🏻‍♀️. I’ve been in a focus slump recently where the books I was reading I liked okay but my focus just wasn’t there. This book took me totally out of that. I couldn’t put it down!

Today, I will be reading Cool for the Summer. It’s a YA RomCom that I’m not totally certain about but hopefully it will be a cute, fun read.

Next, I’m reading A Good Mother by Lara Bazelor. It’s one of my Harlequin Trade blog tour mystery/thrillers and I have yet to be disappointed by one of these books. I’m excited to read it ❤️

I’ve linked each book title to the Goodreads’ page if you want to learn more about it – like the book blurb 😊.

In case you missed any of my posts last week, you can find them here:

  • Tuesday (4/27): (Mystery ☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | Buried for Good by Alex Coombs
  • Wednesday (4/28): (YA Rom Com ☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty
  • Thursday (4/29): (YA Fantasy ☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | Gilded Serpent by Danielle Jensen
  • Friday (4/30): Book Blogger HopI decided to skip this weeks prompt
  • Friday (4/30): (YA Sci Fi Thriller ☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | Things to do Before the End of the World by Emily Barr

I hope you come back to see the following:

  • Tuesday (5/4): (Sci-Fi ☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir
  • Wednesday (5/5): (Fantasy ☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | Ariadne by Jennifer Saint
  • Thursday (5/6): (Women’s Fiction ☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | Long Walk Home by Ellyn Oaksmith
  • Friday (4/30): Book Blogger Hop

Thank you for stopping by this week. I look forward to chatting with you in the comments. 😊

15 Replies to “Sunday Post 24| The Countdown Has Begun”

  1. How exciting that you will be on holiday in two weeks and that you have some fun floaties to take with you! 😎 As for my week it was pretty ordinary: I have been mainly working, reading and cooking. I have been reading the classic adventure The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and watching series two of the WWII drama Das Boot. Take care and happy reading in the coming week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fun floaties are a must especially since the water will most likely be cold 🥶 Better to stay above it and get a good tan 😎. Happy reading to you too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Woohoo, please share photos of your vacation. I would love to live vicariously through yours. I just returned from India, but after seeing the situation there, I would gladly take another vacation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh that’s right. It sounds unbelievably awful there. I know many people across the globe are having trouble comprehending the sheer horror of the situation. On a brighter note, I will definitely share pictures 📸 .

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t wait! I missed the beach so much last summer. We had plans set up but they of course were canceled by the owner of the house we were staying at due to the disease that must not be named. Happy reading to you too! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, to have a pool with access to whimsical floaties… Maybe next year if covid dies down!
    Hope you have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I found a house, so no crowds and we are all fully vaccinated so I feel pretty good about it. It’s a much needed vacation ❤️

      Like

    1. It so is. Especially since there will be food and drink, of course. So definitely no mask wearing doing that. I still need to look up if the ball park is offering any guidance. Have a great week!

      Like

  4. Lucky you! A beach vacation sounds perfect for this time of year, especially after a long period in lockdown. And I will definitely be back to read more about your views on Ariadne. I’ve always enjoyed Greek mythology and Ariadne has been on my radar for a while. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love mythology too and I think all Greek mythology lovers will gobble Ariadne up. And I am so looking forward to our beach vacation. It feels so incredibly normal and right now normalcy is grand ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay for the beach vacation! Save me a seat under the umbrella. My hubby is also picky about shows, so it’s good to hear yours enjoys the Stamos show – maybe I can convince him to give it a try. Have a great week, Tessa!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My husband was surprised that he liked it. I just had it on one night, and then the next time I had it on – he came in to the den and was like “hey, I wanted to see that.” Go figure 🤷🏻‍♀️

      Consider your seat saved ❤️🏝

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.