Sunday Post 21 | What a week

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

What a week this past week was. After a quiet Easter, my week just rapidly picked up in intensity and is still there.

My sister and her three boys – 11, 9, and 4 – arrived on Monday and left on Thursday. I quickly discovered that trying to entertain three young boys is particularly hard during Covid. My sister is a go-go-go do-do-do kind of person, and well, simply put, I’m not. Obviously, you can usually find my nose in a book. We played many games – virtual and board, went to a place called The Pit where they have escape rooms, air canons, go-carts, laser tag, arcade, ax throwing, and more, and went for a few walks to the lake.

I was already exhausted from all that fun and excitement when we found out my oldest daughter needed oral surgery immediately. We scheduled it for first thing Friday morning, so I had to change the 1st floor from guest accommodations to a recovery room while my husband waited for our daughter at the dentist’s office. The first floor of our house has all the good gadgets for a recovering person that her bedroom doesn’t have (read – mini-fridge, Playstation, and large-screen TV). She came through it all great, and I don’t think I have ever walked up and down those stairs as much in one day as I did on Friday.

Today, we are driving her back to campus since our youngest had to take the car they came home in back to campus on Friday so that she could make her 2nd vaccination appointment on Saturday.
Whew! Now, aren’t you tired too?

How was your week?

No new ARCs this week, but I did receive my FairyLoot box and picked up a Will Trent mystery book on sale.

The Bright & The Pale by Jessica Rubinkowski

Debut author Jessica Rubinkowski delivers the thrilling first book in an epic Russian folklore–inspired fantasy duology filled with page-turning romance, tragedy, magic, and monsters. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sara Raasch!

Seventeen-year-old Valeria is one of the only survivors of the freeze, a dark magical hold Knnot Mountain unleashed on her village. Everyone, including her family, is trapped in an unbreakable sheet of ice. Ever since, she’s been on the run from the czar, who has set out to imprison anyone who managed to escape. Valeria finds refuge with the Thieves Guild, doing odd jobs with her best friend, Alik, the only piece of home she has left. That is, until he is brutally murdered.

A year later, she discovers Alik is alive and being held captive. To buy his freedom, she must lead a group of cutthroats and thieves on a perilous expedition to the very mountain that claimed her family. Only something sinister slumbers in the heart of Knnot. And it has waited years for release.


Undone by Karin Slaughter

In the trauma center of Atlanta’s busiest hospital, Sara Linton treats the city’s poor, wounded, and unlucky—and finds refuge from the tragedy that rocked her life in rural Grant County. Then, in one instant, Sara is thrust into a frantic police investigation, coming face-to-face with a tall driven detective and his quiet female partner…. In Undone, three unforgettable characters from Karin Slaughter’s New York Times bestselling novels Faithless and Fractured collide for the first time, entering an electrifying race against the clock—and a duel with unspeakable human evil.

In the backwoods of suburban Atlanta, where Sara’s patient was found, local police have set up their investigation. But Georgia Bureau of Investigation detective Will Trent doesn’t wait for the go-ahead from his boss—he plunges through police lines, through the brooding woods, and single-handedly exposes a hidden house of horror buried beneath the earth. Then he finds another victim.… 

Wresting the case away from the local police chief, Will and his partner, Faith Mitchell—a woman keeping explosive secrets of her own—are called into a related investigation. Another woman—a smart, upscale, independent young mother—has been snatched. For the two cops out on the hunt, for the doctor trying to bring her patient back to life, the truth hits like a hammer: the killer’s torture chamber has been found, but the killer is still at work.

In her latest suspense masterpiece, Karin Slaughter weaves together the moving, powerful human stories of characters as real as they are complex and unforgettable. At the same time she has crafted a work of dazzling storytelling and spine-tingling mystery—as three people, each with their own wounds and their own secrets, are all that stands between a madman and his next crime.

With young kids in the house, I watched kid stuff. The most disturbing of these shows was one called Pickles and Peanut. Something about that show did not seem very kid-like. It was like it was skirting the line of appropriateness. Yet, it was on Disney+. 🤔 My 4 year old nephew thought it was the best show ever.

I’m looking forward to a new fantasy series on HBO Max called The Nevers. It starts tonight.

Did you read, watch, or do anything fun this week?

In case you missed any of my posts last week, you can find them here:

  • Tuesday (4/5): (Psychological Thriller ☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | Just My Luck by Adele Parks)
  • Wednesday (4/6): WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (4/7): (Psychological Thriller ☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review |The Weekend Away by Sarah Alderson
  • Friday (4/8): Book Blogger Hop
  • Saturday (4/9): (Rom Com ☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | Uncork My Love by Rich Amooi

I hope you come back to see the following:

  • Tuesday (4/13): (Psychological Survival Thriller ☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | Just Get Home by Bridget Foley)
  • Tuesday (4/13): (Psychological Thriller ☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | When the Stars Go Dark by Paula McLain)
  • Wednesday (4/14): WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (4/15): Mini Book Reviews |Finding Home by Kate Field and The Widow Queen by Elzbieta Cherezinska (both ☀️☀️☀️☀️)
  • Friday (4/16): Book Blogger Hop

Thank you for stopping by this week. I look forward to chatting with you in the comments. 😊

18 Replies to “Sunday Post 21 | What a week”

    1. It was very full for sure. And those stairs – no need to workout that day. I think running up and down the stairs definitely counted.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The Bright & the Pale is going on my list right now. I absolutely love Russian Folklore.

    I’m so sorry you had such a crazy week! Entertaining kids can be hard for sure. Wonderful that you got the visit, but imagine you are totally exhausted. I’m not a go-go person either. Glad the oral surgery went okay as well.

    Take care, Tessa! Hope you have a wonderful week of relaxation and recovery. ❤️

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It’s been a while since the girls were little so definitely not used to it anymore. There was a constant “mommy, mommy, mommy” going on that I think I’m still hearing 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The Nevers looks very well. You had a very busy week! I hope your daughter is feeling well. Have a great week!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. My daughter is feeling pretty much back to normal. I had a feeling she would bounce back pretty quickly. You have a wonderful week too!

      Like

  3. Sounds like you have had such a fun week! We are still not allowed to go out and do things here in the UK and are still living under pretty tight restrictions! We can get our haircuts tomorrow though so thats going to be exciting! Hope next week is a bit more relaxing for you!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ve been waiting til after my second vaccination shot to get my hair cut but I did go before Christmas. It feels so good to get it cut when you’ve had to put it on hold for so long. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can’t wait, my hair is more knot than anything else right now. I think I need a good amount cut off!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Yeah, I’m exhausted just reading about your week! Even though I used to be that go-go person, this pandemic has completely changed my nature😏 I’m all for being chill. Glad your daughter came through just fine, too.

    Oh, how I love that Will Trent series. Even though I listen to the series, it’s outstanding in any format. Enjoy everything💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s a few series that I keep an eye out for books on sale and that is definitely one. My fingers are crossed that more go on sale😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow – you really had a week! Glad your daughter did well and was able to go back to school. It’s been quite a while since I had boys that young, but sounds like you took them to a fun place. I’m also not up on my kid shows, so that’s a new one for me. Wishing you a quiet recovery week, Tessa!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.