Sunday Post 19 | Can Next Sunday Really Be Easter?

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted here @ Caffeinated Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog and showcase books and things we have received. Share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

This week was very quiet. I’m thinking of it as the calm before the storm. What kind of storm? Well, the family kind, as Easter is almost here.

My daughters come home from campus on Friday. I’ve managed to put together some baskets for them, mostly full of treats as, even with one shot of vaccine down, I still don’t venture out very often. I’m pretty sure I will feel much more confident about going out after the second dose in April. I’ve not been sure if it’s worry or my hatred of wearing masks that keeps me home.

And, then, my sister comes back the Monday after Easter, and she’s bringing her three young sons with her. I haven’t even met my youngest nephew yet, so I am looking forward to that and to seeing my other two nephews and sister. But what a full house I am going to have! Especially since my daughters are going to stick around for the week as well. 8 people…😳

How was your week? Do you celebrate Easter? Any plans for the holiday?

Not too many new books this week (unlike last week), but these are the great reads I picked up this week:

The brand new thriller from the Kindle & USA Today bestselling author! 

My family has just been reunited. 

So who is trying to tear it apart?

A mother who disappeared… 

When Beth was 10 years old, her beautiful, wild mother Alice walked out and never came back. Beth’s life since hasn’t always been smooth sailing, but now she is happy and settled, with a successful career, a loving family and a beautiful home. 
 
An unexpected visitor…
Then one day there’s a knock at the door. Alice has returned. Overjoyed to have the chance to rebuild their relationship, Beth invites her mother to move in.
 
A life that comes crashing down…

At first, everything seems wonderful. But then Beth’s friends begin to drift away, strange things start to happen at home, and rumours begin to circle about her past. As the mysterious events around Beth become darker and more dangerous, she is forced to question everything. Is somebody in her life trying to destroy her happiness? And how far will they go?Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, C. L. Taylor and Lisa Jewell

☀️ ☀️ ☀️ and ☀️ ☀️ ☀️

Dare Me meets Black Swan and Luckiest Girl Alive in a captivating, voice-driven debut novel about a trio of ballerinas who meet as students at the Paris Opera Ballet School.

Thirteen years ago, Delphine abandoned her prestigious soloist spot at the Paris Opera Ballet for a new life in St. Petersburg––taking with her a secret that could upend the lives of her best friends, fellow dancers Lindsay and Margaux. Now 36 years old, Delphine has returned to her former home and to the legendary Palais Garnier Opera House, to choreograph the ballet that will kickstart the next phase of her career––and, she hopes, finally make things right with her former friends. But Delphine quickly discovers that things have changed while she’s been away…and some secrets can’t stay buried forever. 

Moving between the trio’s adolescent years and the present day, Rachel Kapelke-Dale’s The Ballerinas explores the complexities of female friendship, the dark drive towards physical perfection in the name of artistic expression, the double-edged sword of ambition and passion, and the sublimated rage that so many women hold inside––all culminating in a twist you won’t see coming, with magnetic characters you won’t soon forget.

☀️ ☀️ ☀️ and ☀️ ☀️ ☀️

John Carver has three rules: Don’t drink in the daytime, don’t gamble when the luck has gone, and don’t talk to the dead people who come to visit.

It has been almost five years since the incident in Kabul. Since the magic stirred within him and the stories began. Fleeing the army, running from the whispers, the guilt, and the fear he was losing his mind, Carver fell into addiction, dragging himself through life one day at a time.

Desperation has pulled him back to Afghanistan, back to the heat, the dust, and the truth he worked so hard to avoid. But there are others, obsessed with power and forbidden magics, who will stop at nothing to learn the truth of his gifts. Abducted and chained, Carver must break more than his own rules if he is to harness this power and survive.

Last weekend, hubby and I watched the first episode of The Falcon and the Winter Soldier and Zack Snyder’s director’s cut of Justice League. When you watch Marvel and DC in the same weekend, it deserves a bit of reflection on the differences between the two superhero worlds.

Snyder’s Justice League is monumentally better than the version that came to theaters a few years ago. That version had so many holes in it, hubby and I left the theater scratching our heads. Snyder’s much longer version is a full-bodied story without those pesky holes.

Marvel vs DC – my youngest is a diehard Marvel fan, but I’m just a fan of superheroes. DC, Marvel, Superman, Thor, Wonder Woman, Pepper Potts – I love them all. When it comes to stories on the screen though – big or small – we decided that Marvel does a better job at character development than DC and that makes for a better story – one that is a pleasure to sit down and watch time and time again. Marvel tends to be lighter/funnier and DC tends to be dark and foreboding. They are so different but, like I said before, I love a superhero story 😊

I also watched the first episode of Disney+’s new Mighty Ducks Game Changers show. Lauren Graham’s in it so how could I not. It’s a total feel good show. I smiled and laughed my whole way through it, and I learned a new term, “participation trophy track” – that just cracked me up.

Did you read, watch, or do anything fun this week?

In case you missed any of my posts last week, you can find them here:

I hope you come back to see the following:

  • Tuesday (3/30): (Mystery/ Thriller ☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | Tell No Lies by Allison Brennan
  • Tuesday (3/30): (Thriller ☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review |The House of Killers by Samantha Lee Howe
  • Wednesday (3/31): WWW Wednesday
  • Thursday (4/1): (Psychological Thriller ☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review |The Dinner Guest by B. P. Walters
  • Friday (4/2): Book Blogger Hop: Bookblogger Burnout
  • Friday (4/2): (YA Dark Thriller☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️) Book Review | What Beauty There Is by Corey Anderson
  • Saturday (4/3): (Fantasy/Paranormal Thriller) Author Q & A | Karolina Dalca: Dark Eyes by M. R. Noble

Thank you for stopping by this week. I look forward to chatting with you in the comments. 😊

19 Replies to “Sunday Post 19 | Can Next Sunday Really Be Easter?”

  1. Looks like you had a great week 🙂 I can’t actually believe the kids are back off school and that its Easter next week. It’s come around so fast and I am thankful we were organised enough to buy eggs a few weeks ago!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s crazy, right? The stores didn’t even have Easter grass (I always forget about it to last minute). Have a wonderful Easter break and holiday!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Falcon and Winter Soldier is so good. I love how they are working through there issues with the shield and all that encompasses. Hope you enjoy the director’s cut ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A quiet week before the very full house you’re gonna have sounds nice! 😂 I hope you have a wonderful time with your daughters, sister and nephews! I added Lore of Prometheus to my shelf recently too and I’m looking forward to checking out the 2020 BBNYA winner soon. 😃 Have a great week ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not sure I’ll get to read Lore but I’m going to try. I’m so overbooked that I told Dave I could do a spotlight/author q and a or something like that. But I’m going to try very hard to fit it in. I have a plan 😊

      Like

  3. The Happy Family sounds good! I put together an Easter basket for my kids (they’re teens now), but that’s the extent of our celebration. Though, this year we’re thinking of ordering a delivery brunch from a local place. Have a great week & Happy Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, getting brunch delivered sounds wonderful. We’ll probably just make our normal holiday meal but it’s tasty, so I’m not complaining. I wonder at what age we should stop making baskets? I guess when they stop being here on Easter morning. Lol. ❤️

      Like

  4. Hi Tessa! Glad you can have your family with you for Easter. It will be busy yes, but when everyone leaves, you’ll be glad you had them all over!

    Oh The Ballerinas sounds so good! Please tell me more when you are done with it!

    Enjoy your Easter and your family and I hope you will have some time for reading too.

    Elza Reads

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Ballerinas does look really good, and that cover 😍 – it reminds me of a Degas painting.

      Like

  5. Oh wow, that will be a full house! Good luck and have fun! We certainly do celebrate Easter, although will probably be a very quiet one again for us, as the restrictions in the UK won’t allow much. Hopefully will be able to attend church and at some point in the holiday see some family in my grandad’s garden (can only meet outside at the moment).

    As for the week just gone, I have enjoyed reading A Room With a View by E.M. Forster and continuing to watch Merlin and Your Honor, however nearly finished both so will need to choose something new soon!

    Take care and happy reading in the coming week, Tessa 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s sounds like a perfect setting for a family get together on Easter as long as the weather is ok. I hope you have a wonderful Easter 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I didn’t even know it was Easter season until I went to buy ham this week and the clerk asked if it was for the holiday. We always spent it with my mother-in-law and since her death, we just stay home. You’ve got your hands full with 8 people! Enjoy💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re lucky you found any ham. Lol. Our lives are so much on pause, it seems like holidays should be as well, I think.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I just realized on Friday that Easter is in one week, not two – duh. You’re going to have a houseful – and how awesome you get to meet your nephew! Calm before the storm is right – read while you can.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You know that was one of my first thoughts “oi vey, how am I going to get everything read that I need to” 🤣. Sad but true. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.