WWW Wednesday | What Am I Reading This Week- 2/3/2021?

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


My Reading Week

I got smart and allowed myself 3 days to read a couple of books rather than the two I’ve been doing to get through my tremendous amount of ARCs. As you will see below, there is a really good reason I have too many ARCs – they all looked so good!

I just finished The Iron Raven by Julie Kagawa, and I was just blown away. Puck, Oberon, and Titania are three of my favorite characters from Shakespeare and to see them plucked from those pages and given a world of their own is just amazing me to me. I’m awed 😊

Today, I start Possession by Katie Lowe. It’s a psychological thriller and you all know how much I LOVE that particular sub-genre. I’m intrigued by the crime podcast aspect, as it reminds me of Megan Goldin’s The Night Swim. By the time you read this, I will have started it and hopefully am enjoying.

Next I’m reading Dan Frey’s The Future is Yours, and what’s not to like about that description. It’s got all the components I love in a story. I am most curious about the way the story is told. I have a feeling that I will absolutely love it or not care for it at all. It feels like one of those technical choices that is either all or nothing.

What are you reding this week? Anything that you’re particularly excited about?

Possession by Katie Lowe

  • Genre: Psychological Thriller
  • Publication Date : February 9, 2021
  • Print Length: 341 pgs
  • Publisher : St. Martins Press

Book Description

Possession is a chilling psychological thriller written with Katie Lowe’s signature “subtle, persistent, and unmistakable creepiness” (Kirkus, on The Furies).

The past haunts her. The present hunts her.

Conviction @ConvictionPod · 1m
The investigating officer: “I’ve seen a lot of homicides in the years since, but…that’s the one that keeps me up at night.”

The husband’s best man: “They had everybody fooled. Or at least, she did. But I always knew something was off.”

Hannah, the wife: “I told you. I don’t remember anything. I don’t know.”

That’s all to come, this season, on Conviction. Get ready for our most twisted season yet.

~~~

Ten years ago, Hannah’s husband was brutally murdered in their home, and she (conveniently) doesn’t remember a thing about that night. But the police charged someone else—a stranger—and put him away for life. And Hannah packed up her six-year-old daughter and left London behind.

But now her hard-won countryside peace is threatened. Conviction, a viral true crime podcast known for getting cases reopened and old verdicts overturned, has turned its attention to Hannah’s husband’s murder for its new season. They say police framed the man who was found guilty, and that Hannah has more suspicious secrets than just her memory loss: a history of volatility; citations at the clinic where she worked as a psychiatrist; dependencies on alcohol and pills; and a familicidal grandmother, locked away in a Gothic insane asylum until her death. As Hannah loses the trust of everyone she loves, the only person she feels she can confide in is a former colleague, Darcy, who’s come back into her life—but who may have motives of her own. But Hannah can’t tell even Darcy her deepest secret: that she’s still tormented by the memory of her husband and the crater he carved through her life.

This Iron Raven by Julie Kagawa

  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Print Length: 320 pgs
  • Publisher: Inkyard Press
  • Publication Date: February 9, 2021

Book Description:

Wicked faeries and fantastic danger… Welcome to book one of the new trilogy in New York Times bestselling author Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey fantasy series, as infamous prankster Puck finally has a chance to tell his story and stand with allies new and old to save Faery and the world. For fans of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare!

“YOU MAY HAVE HEARD OF ME…”

Robin Goodfellow. Puck. Prankster, joker, raven, fool… King Oberon’s right-hand jester from A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The legends are many, but the truth will now be known, as Puck finally tells his own story and faces a threat from a time before Faery began. A threat that brings him face-to-face with a new enemy…himself.

With the Iron Queen Meghan Chase and her prince consort, Puck’s longtime rival Ash, and allies old and new by his side, Puck begins a fantastical and dangerous adventure not to be missed or forgotten. Evenfall is coming, and with it a reckoning that even their combined powers and wits may not vanquish, as a shadow falls over the lands of Faery and the world slips into chaos.

The Future is Yours by Dan Frey

  • Genre: Techno Thriller
  • Print Length: 339 pgs
  • Publisher: Del Rey
  • Publication Date: February 9, 2021

Book Description

Two best friends create a computer that can predict the future. But what they can’t predict is how it will tear their friendship—and society—apart.

“An impossibly addictive brainteaser wrapped in a buttery popcorn kernel.”—Aneesh Chaganty, director and co-writer of Searching and Run

IN DEVELOPMENT AS AN HBO MAX ORIGINAL SERIES

If you had the chance to look one year into the future, would you? 

For Ben Boyce and Adhi Chaudry, the answer is unequivocally yes. And they’re betting everything that you’ll say yes, too. Welcome to The Future: a computer that connects to the internet one year from now, so you can see who you’ll be dating, where you’ll be working, even whether or not you’ll be alive in the year to come. By forming a startup to deliver this revolutionary technology to the world, Ben and Adhi have made their wildest, most impossible dream a reality. Once Silicon Valley outsiders, they’re now its hottest commodity.  

The device can predict everything perfectly—from stock market spikes and sports scores to political scandals and corporate takeovers—allowing them to chase down success and fame while staying one step ahead of the competition. But the future their device foretells is not the bright one they imagined.

Ambition. Greed. Jealousy. And, perhaps, an apocalypse. The question is . . . can they stop it?

Told through emails, texts, transcripts, and blog posts, this bleeding-edge tech thriller chronicles the costs of innovation and asks how far you’d go to protect the ones you love—even from themselves.


Don’t forget to tell to me about the book(s) you are reading this week (in the comments). I love hearing about them. ❤️

31 Replies to “WWW Wednesday | What Am I Reading This Week- 2/3/2021?”

  1. I am really excited to read The Iron Raven and Possession looks amazing so now I’ve gone and added that to my tbr as well, doh 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Tessa! Happy reading!
    I have never read any book by Julie Kagawa and I was wondering – do you have to read the Iron Fey books to understand Iron Raven? I guess it’s somehow linked. How did you like the book? I mean overall.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hadn’t read the books as this is the start of a new trilogy (based in the same world as her other Iron Fay books), I thought I’d be okay and I definitely was. This story is narrated by Puck whereas the others were narrated, I think, by Meghan Chase – the Iron Queen. Kagawa does a great job of giving you enough backstory so that you never feel lost but not so much that it weighs down the story. I loved the book overall. Kagawa is a genius at world building. And I really loved that she used Shakespeare’s Puck and fleshed him out so amazingly. Hope this helps 😊

      Liked by 1 person

    1. So far, it definitely has pulled me in. Short chapters that read fast and it starts with a dead body whose blood is tap, tap, tapping on the floor. Such imagery!

      Like

    1. I’m not sure yet. I will be reading it Friday and Saturday. I know you like thrillers, but do you enjoy techno thrillers? I guess you might since you have the Gregg Hurwitz series. I can update here Saturday night but will that be too late?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m reading She’s Mine by Tammy Doherty. Caitlin, our female protagonist, has a stalker!!! 😲 I bought Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. I am most determined to read it, so, I thought if I bought it, instead of getting it from the library, I would certainly read it😁.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I lobed Wuthering Heights but I was big into Victorian Lit at the time. I imagine it would be quite a transition reading it right after a current day novel. But, it is definitely worthy of your reading time ❤️. She’s Mine looks good. I’ve seen it around. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really liked The Future Is Yours (think I’m posting my review tomorrow). Those last several pages blew me away – I had to go back and re-read them. Think you’ll like it, Tessa.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, good. I am definitely excited to read it ❤️. I’m realizing I love techno thriller almost as much as I do psyc thrillers.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oooh! Possession is hitting all the right buttons for me. I can’t wait to see your review of that one. And I’ve heard nothing but good things about The Iron Raven. That one actually has me intrigued, though I don’t read a great deal of fantasy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Iron Raven is a wonderful read and I am enjoying Possession with its totally creepy feel from the get go. ❤️

      Like

    1. The Possession is wonderful so far. Delightfully creepy and I can’t wait to get to The Future is Yours – I’ve heard wonderful things about it.

      Like

  6. I still have yet to read anything by Kagawa but I do have her Shadow of the Fox series on my TBR! I’m quite excited to check this one out though because I’m already hearing so many great things about it! Hope you enjoy your current/future reads 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not sure which I like better, Shadow of the Fox or her Iron Fae world. I have more associations with the Iron Fae but both are wonderful. You can’t go wrong with either ❤️

      Like

  7. I know how much you enjoy psychological thrillers! The Iron Raven (series) is the one that appealed to me. I’ll be checking it out right after I post this comment!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Iron Raven is definitely worth checking out. It’s listed under YA but it’s really not YA. The original series was but this new series has Puck as the narrator and he is far from being YA and there were no other young characters either – at least not that young. ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.