Menu Home

WWW Wednesday | November 18, 2020

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Life has been fairly normal, but I have been so distracted. Just trying to focus on a book or even my writing has proven to be quite the challenge. Between the pandemic info, my daughter trying to make a choice between two job offers, and the holidays being so very different from previous years and rapidly approaching. I guess it is easy to understand why I would be unfocused, but I really need to focus.

I will begin Aunt Ivy’s Cottage by Kristin Harper today. It is not my normal book choice but I absolutely adore the cover. I was contacted by Melissa Amster at Chick Lit Central to be part of a blog tour for this book. The opportunity intrigued me because I haven’t had any contact with Melissa or anyone else at Chick Lit Central that I’m aware of, so I was like, “why me?” (I ask myself that question a lot really.). But, anyway, I feel like these things happen for a reason, so I jumped on board. And, I have to point out one more time – that cover 😍😍😍 Gorgeous!

I just finished Net Force Attack Protocol. I read another book in this series last year. If you like technothrillers or shows like Jack Ryan (Amazon Prime video), you will enjoy this book. I happen to love both technothrillers and Jack Ryan, so it was a no-brainer when Harlequin Trade asked if I’d be part of the blog tour.

For my next read, I have an ARC of The Ever After by Amanda Hocking which happens to be the third book in a trilogy. The Lost City is the first book of that trilogy and since I cut back to two book reviews per week, I have some time where I can catch up and not start a trilogy with the last book like I have in the past.

Three really good or potentially great reads this week. Now, if I can just get my focus back…

Tell to me about the book(s) you are reading this week (in the comments). I love hearing about them. ❤️


Currently Reading


Aunt Ivy’s Cottage by Kristin Harper

About This Book

  • Genre: Women’s Fiction
  • Publication Date : December 7, 2020
  • Print Length: 294 pages
  • Publisher : Bookouture

Up in the attic, with views across the sparkling bay, Zoey opens the lid of the carved trunk. Carefully moving aside the delicate linen wedding dress once worn by her great-aunt, she unpacks all the smaller boxes inside until she finds the leather-bound diary. She knows this will change everything…

A stunning and emotional read about old secrets, new love and never forgetting the importance of family. Perfect for fans of Mary Ellen Taylor, Robyn Carr and Mary Alice Monroe.


Just Finished


Net Force: Attack Protocol by Jerome Preisler

About This Book

  • Genre: Technothriller
  • Print Length: 295 pages
  • Publisher: Hanover Square Press
  • Publication Date: December 1, 2020

The president’s new cybersecurity team, Net Force, is up and running. But a political deadlock in Washington makes the young agency dangerously vulnerable to the criminals, terror groups and hostile governments who would use the digital space to advance their destructive goals.

In Central Europe, an unknown enemy mounts a crippling high-tech assault against the organization’s military threat-response unit on its home base. The strike casts suspicion on a core member of Net Force, threatening to destroy the cyber defense group from within. But as they race to track down their attackers, the stakes are suddenly ratcheted higher. For a global syndicate of black hat hackers and a newly belligerent Russia are hatching a mysterious, shadowy scheme for world domination from a place known only as the Secret City.

Their attack protocol: leave Net Force in ashes while Moscow and its Dark Web allies set the stage for a devastating strike against the United States.

Unless the men and women of Net Force can regroup in time to stop them.


Reading Next


The Lost City by Amanda Hocking

About This Book

  • Genre: YA Fantasy
  • Print Length: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Wednesday Books
  • Publication Date: July 7, 2020

The storm and the orphan

Twenty years ago, a woman sought safety from the spinning ice and darkness that descended upon a small village. She was given shelter for the night by the local innkeepers but in the morning, she disappeared—leaving behind an infant. Now nineteen, Ulla Tulin is ready to find who abandoned her as a baby or why.

The institution and the quest

Ulla knows the answers to her identity and heritage may be found at the Mimirin where scholars dedicate themselves to chronicling troll history. Granted an internship translating old documents, Ulla starts researching her own family lineage with help from her handsome and charming colleague Pan Soriano.

The runaway and the mystery

But then Ulla meets Eliana, a young girl who no memory of who she is but who possesses otherworldly abilities. When Eliana is pursued and captured by bounty hunters, Ulla and Pan find themselves wrapped up in a dangerous game where folklore and myth become very real and very deadly—but one that could lead Ulla to the answers she’s been looking for.

Categories: WWW Wednesdays

Tessa

See my “About me” on my site.

16 replies

  1. I’m actually reading a dark thriller series right now (The Bright Lights Dark Secrets Collection by Nolon King). I’m reading them out of order, which I kind of hate (because OCD) but that was an accident. I read one and enjoyed it, then I discovered it was part of a series and now I’m circling back to the beginning. They are stand-alones, though, even though they’re in a collection, so it didn’t mess me up. If you like dark and twisted, I recommend the series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.