Menu Home

Book Review | Under a Siena Sun by T.A. Williams

Goodreads Rating:

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Under a Siena Sun is like a gentle breeze. It lightens your mood, caresses your emotions, and puts a smile on your face.

What I Liked

I enjoyed the beautiful setting of Siena, Italy. The village is described in such exquisite detail that if I closed my eyes, I found myself transported across the Atlantic. The rolling hills, fragrant olive trees, and even the lumbering porcupine are delightfully immersive.

My favorite character is David. He experienced significant struggles and transitions in the last few years, but he pulled them through and is ready to make a difference. He enjoyed the glitz and glamor world in the past but realizes that’s not the type of lifestyle that feeds his soul. He teaches Lucy to understand this fact too. She needs to learn that just because a person is wealthy doesn’t mean they don’t help those in need – that lifestyle is a choice – to lead a superficial life of wealth or lead a philanthropic life of wealth.

The characters are well-developed, quaint, and fun, and the dialogue flows with a natural ease of a chat between friends. The inclusion of the struggles in Africa are eye-opening and evoke so many emotions. The decision of medical workers to go to these war-torn areas is amazingly heroic.

What I Wish

I wish that Lucy being judgmental had been a more critical, more progressive learning lesson and that she had not gotten so preachy at times. There is an abruptness to these thoughts that just don’t fit into the story for me.

To Read or Not to Read

If you are looking for a nice light read in a beautiful setting, then this is the story for you.

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for providing me with an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot on this blog tour.

About the Book

Lucy needed a change of scene. She didn’t expect the change of a lifetime. 

Doctors Without Borders has been Lucy Young’s life for the past four years. After being rescued from a conflict zone, she’s making a change from saving lives under gunfire to practising medicine in safe, serene Siena. 

Now treating wealthy patients at a private clinic, she’s never felt less comfortable. She’s used to helping those in dire need – not those in need of a nip and tuck. Her turmoil grows when she encounters injured tennis star David Lorenzo, whose smiles make Lucy forget her aversion to the rich.

She’s soon falling for the sportsman but is she losing herself in this world of excess? All she’s ever wanted was to help the underprivileged, so can her future lie in Siena at the clinic – with David?

This sunny romance is the perfect summer escape for fans of Lucy Coleman and Alex Brown.

Purchase Links:

http://mybook.to/SienaSun
https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/under-a-siena-sun

About the Author

I’m a man. And a pretty old man as well. I did languages at university a long time ago and then lived and worked in France and Switzerland before going to Italy for seven years as a teacher of English. My Italian wife and I then came back to the UK with our little daughter (now long-since grown up) where I ran a big English language school for many years. We now live in a sleepy little village in Devonshire. I’ve been writing almost all my life but it was only seven years ago that I finally managed to find a publisher who liked my work enough to offer me my first contract.

The fact that I am now writing romantic comedy is something I still find hard to explain. My early books were thrillers and historical novels. Maybe it’s because there are so many horrible things happening in the world today that I feel I need to do my best to provide something to cheer my readers up. My books provide escapism to some gorgeous locations, even if travel to them is currently difficult.

Social Media

Website: www.tawilliamsbooks.com
Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/tawilliamsbooks
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TrevorWilliamsBooks

US Amazon Link and Free Preview

Categories: Book Reviews Romantic Comedy

Tessa

See my “About me” on my site.

4 replies

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: