WWW Wednesday | It’s a Good Week for Reading – May 13th

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading


Book Description

Genre: Women’s Fiction
Publication Date: June 2, 2020 (St. Martins Press)

A debut novel set on Cape Cod that centers on a beloved family home and the summer that changed the lives of three siblings forever, perfect for readers of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand.

After a disastrous summer spent at her family’s summer home on Cape Cod, seventeen year old Ann Gordon is left harboring a secret that changes her life forever, and creates a rift between her sister, Poppy, and their adopted brother, Michael.

Now, fifteen years later, her parents have died, and Ann and her sister Poppy are left to decide the fate of the old Wellfleet home that’s been in the Gordon family for generations. While they both love the house, they decide to sell it and move forward. But then Michael re-enters their lives with a legitimate claim to a third of the estate. He wants the house. But more than that, he wants to set the record straight about that long ago summer.

Reunited after years apart, these very different siblings are forced to decide if they can continue to be a family–and in the process, they’ll discover that the house might be the glue that holds them together.

My Thoughts

I don’t remember why I selected this ARC but it does look and sound very good. NetGalley sent me one of their – “Hey, look at this book” emails, and I suppose that intrigued me. It sounds very character-driven and I love a good character driven story, though the genre is rare for me to read and review. I’m just starting it today, so fingers crossed! FYI: There is a giveaway for a free copy of the book on Goodreads that ends on Monday (May 18, 2020)


Just Finished


Book Description

Genre: Psychological Thriller
Publication Date: May 26, 2020 (MIRA Books)

Beauty. Wealth. Success.

She’s got it all.

And it all should’ve been mine.


When Eleanor Hardwicke’s beloved father dies, her world is further shattered by a gut-wrenching secret: the man she’s grieving isn’t really her dad. Eleanor was the product of an affair and her biological father is still out there, living blissfully with the family he chose. With her personal life spiraling, a desperate Eleanor seeks him out, leading her to uncover another branch on her family tree—an infuriatingly enviable half sister.

Perfectly perfect Victoria has everything Eleanor could ever dream of. Loving childhood, luxury home, devoted husband. All of it stolen from Eleanor, who plans to take it back. After all, good sisters are supposed to share. And quiet little Eleanor has been waiting far too long for her turn to play.

My Thoughts

This book has a slow start, reading almost like a contemporary novel. But, oh boy, once it takes off, it really takes off and even when I managed to put it down to do something, it made me cranky to not be able to keep reading. Quite a thrill ride and then some.


Reading Next


Book Description

Genre: YA Fantasy
Publication Date: May 7, 2019 (TOR Teen)

High seas adventure, blackmail, and meddling gods meet in Dark Shores, a thrilling first novel in a fast-paced new YA fantasy series by USA Today bestselling author Danielle L. Jensen.

In a world divided by meddlesome gods and treacherous oceans, only the Maarin possess the knowledge to cross the Endless Seas. But they have one mandate: East must never meet West.

A SAILOR WITH A WILL OF IRON

Teriana is the second mate of the Quincense and heir to the Maarin Triumvirate. Her people are born of the seas and the keepers of its secrets, but when her closest friend is forced into an unwanted betrothal, Teriana breaks her people’s mandate so her friend might escape—a choice with devastating consequences.

A SOLDIER WITH A SECRET

Marcus is the commander of the Thirty-Seventh, the notorious legion that has led the Celendor Empire to conquer the entire East. The legion is his family, but even they don’t know the truth he’s been hiding since childhood. It’s a secret he’ll do anything to protect, no matter how much it costs him – and the world.

A DANGEROUS QUEST

When an Empire senator discovers the existence of the Dark Shores, he captures Teriana’s crew and threatens to reveal Marcus’s secret unless they sail in pursuit of conquest, forcing the two into an unlikely—and unwilling—alliance. They unite for the sake of their families, but both must decide how far they are willing to go, and how much they are willing to sacrifice.

My Thoughts

I put off reading and reviewing Dark Skies (book 2), which came out last week, so that I could read the first book…well, first. My paperback copy came last week, and I am looking so forward to diving in.

What are you reading this week?

15 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday | It’s a Good Week for Reading – May 13th”

  1. As always I don’t know any of your books but I have to admit that Hanna Mary McKinnon sounds familiar. Is that her first book or does she have others as well? But it sounds like you are having a great time reading it. Have fun! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. She has three others: Time After Time, The Neighbors, and Her Secret Son. Her first book was published in 2016, so all are pretty recent. This is the first book I’ve read by her. It’s definitely a book that takes you by surprise. ❤️

      Like

  2. Oh, my! Sister Dear and The Second Home are both calling me. I’m going to have to hop over to Amazon and add them to my wish list.

    I just finished The Apartment by K.L. Slater, a psychological thriller that was excellent.

    Happy reading, Tessa!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.