Menu Home

WWW Wednesday | My Bookish Week – April 29th

Welcome to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived on Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?


Currently Reading


Genre: RomCom
Publication Date: April 19, 2020

Is available through Kindle Unlimited

Book Description – Just Another Silly Love Song by Rich Amooi

Two rival radio personalities. Lori Martin is a positive and upbeat DJ, known for playing love songs and dedications. Ben Baxter dishes out no-nonsense, in-your-face relationship advice. Total opposites. Never in a million years would they want to work together.

Fired for losing her cool after her boyfriend breaks up with her on the air, Lori surprisingly receives a job offer for the coveted morning show at the radio station across town where Ben works. She thinks she’s replacing him, but finds out they want to team up Lori with her archenemy to set the air waves on fire and boost ratings. Financially strapped, she can’t turn down the job.

While their on-air fireworks and explosive chemistry make for great listening, what in the world will happen after work hours?

My Thoughts

I’m a sucker for the enemies to lovers trope, which this novel has in glorious fashion. It’s cute, light, and fun but there isn’t the poignant, relatable storyline that Gin Lover’s Guide to Dating had and that I loved so much. Still, it’s a very good read by an author that has written many good rom-com’s.


Just Finished


Genre: Historical Suspense
Publication Date: May 15, 2020

Book Description – The Secret of the Chateau by Kathleen McGurl

1789. Pierre and Catherine Aubert, the Comte and Comtesse de Verais, have fled the palace of Versailles for their château, deep in the French Alps. But as revolution spreads through the country, even hidden away the Auberts will not be safe forever. Soon they must make a terrible decision in order to protect themselves, and their children, from harm.

Present day. When Lu’s mother dies leaving her heartbroken, the chance to move to a château in the south of France with her husband and best friends seems an opportunity for a new beginning. But Lu can’t resist digging into their new home’s history, and when she stumbles across the unexplained disappearance of Catherine Aubert, the château begins to reveal its secrets – and a mystery unsolved for centuries is uncovered…

My Thoughts

I loved the storyline that is set in France during the French Revolution but the current day story was very flat for me. Overall, it was a good, solid read especially if you are fascinated by the French Revolution like I am.


Reading Next


Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Publication Date: August 6, 2020

Book Description – The Weight of Small Things by Julie Lancaster

A beautifully written book with a charming, young narrator, combined with a surprisingly dark and unusual whodunnit. It’s a touching, powerful and twisty read, packed with intrigue. Will appeal to fans of Joanna Cannon’s The Trouble With Goats and Sheep.’ S.J. Harris, author of The Colour of Bee Larkham’s Murder

Nine-year-old Frankie Appleton likes to count gates.

One day she hopes to design the perfect gate – a gate to keep the bad things out.

Little does she know that the bad things have already got in.

Now her mother is dead, and the only other person with a house key has disappeared.

Frankie thinks she knows who it is. But first she has to prove it.

A delicately brutal exploration of what lies behind closed doors, and of the secrets and lies that form the fabric of every family, The Weight of Small Things is as charming as it is chilling.

My Thoughts

I’m so intrigued by this book. Mirror Books sent it to an undisclosed number of book bloggers, etc… 2 weeks before it becomes available to others who read advanced copies and I was one one of those bloggers. It sounds like a book I will either love or hate, and I really hope I love it ❤️

Genre: YA Fantasy
Publication Date: May 28, 2020

Book Description– When Darkness Begins by Tina O’Hailey

If you could change time to save your first love–even if it meant turning your back on the universe–would you?

It is time for the Vechey youth to earn their place as time-guardians. The near-immortal Vechey protect the universe from the devastating Manipulators–devourers of souls, mindless seekers of chaos. First, the youth must survive a mysterious and deadly ritual created by the all-powerful clan leader Eterili. Having regenerated thousands of times with the birth of each universe, Eterili is taking this one as hers and bending all in it to her grand designs.

Catha’s time-slipping skills are underdeveloped. She is time-blind–unable to see through time, unable to protect herself from the ritual. The Vechey shun her for being different. Her parents ignore her as if she were already dead.

Aithagg loves Catha unconditionally and will do anything to save her. He tries desperately to unlock the ritual’s mysteries and find a way to help Catha survive with him. Or will saving Catha enable the Manipulators to destroy the universe?

My Thoughts

Time travel fascinates me, so I am looking forward to reading this author’s take on that.

What are you reading this week?

Categories: WWW Wednesdays

Tagged as:

Tessa

See my “About me” on my site.

10 replies

  1. Oh I have a few books in this week to be read… I suddenly realized it was the end of month. I have had no idea about dates… I am reading my lies, our lies by Susan Lewis along with the house on the rectory lane by Stuart James. Both different and delish.

    I loved your mini reviews, they worked for me.

    Liked by 1 person

%d bloggers like this: